We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Gatwick Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #10 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location for Gatwick Airport”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one night prior to our 6am flight. The host is very amiable and helpful. Yes, it was a bit noisy in the night with doors and creaking stairs, but that does happen in such old buildings. The breakfast was self-serve, even at 4am - we thought is was sufficient and well prepared. The shuttle is very quick. We enjoyed Horley, and have stayed at another property there previously. The town is quaint and we found a nice pub to eat in with very friendly locals. We would stay here again and recommend it if you are travelling in and out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    82
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
118
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night to catch our morning flight home. We were picked up from the train and dropped off at the airport by our hosts. The room was clean and comfortable with a patio out the sliding door of our room. We should of stayed here when we arrived in England and saved alot of money on the hotel in London before our tour started. if we went again we stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very convenient and budget option if you are travelling from/to Gatwick. You can leave your car in their car park for £4/night and they provide free shuttle to/from the airport 24h. The shuttle was quick and efficient. Continental breakfast is also included in the price, but what was on offer was of very poor quality and variety. Pastries were just rubbery and probably from few days before, cheapest juice box from concentrate, a couple of option of kids cereal and oranges/apples but again on the cheap side as they were not good. We wanted to stay close to Gatwick so we could have a good night sleep before the flight in the morning but our room was on the top of the stairs and throughout the night it was very noise with people going up and down, slamming doors and we were also disturbed by loud voices. Perhaps it is only that room that is noise (don't remember if it is room 1), but we are unlikely to return there. Another point is that there is not much going on in Horley, so you might find difficult to get a good meal in a relaxed/friendly restaurant. We went to the Le Gourmet restaurant that (despite the name) offers a range of tapas and pizzas and some Mediterranean dishes. The food was ok but not particularly good, the same with the ambiance and the service.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeSurrey, Owner at Castle Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are very surprised and disappointing to note your comments regarding the quality of breakfast we provide and also your dissatisfaction with the meal in one of the local restaurants. We of course regret you are dissatisfied however we ourselves endeavour to provide a high level of service which is reflected in the comments we receive. Horley is a small town which has a variety of restaurants and pubs which to our knowledge guests have been more than happy with.
With regard to you being disturbed by noisy guests, as with any public place whether it be a small guest house or a large hotel there is always going to be the occasional element of noise as unfortunately some people are not so considerate of others for which we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed overall 3 nights at this cosy guesthouse in Horley, because of its location near Gatwick.
They offer free shuttle service, and if you call, the owner picks you up in 5 minutes. If you arrive or leave at odd hours, they organize a taxi service for you. That was very important for us and the reason why we choose this guesthouse, but in the end we like further than a usual airport stay.
We stayed in 3 different rooms along our stay, and though different in size and position, all were cosy and we had a good night sleep. They are all ensuite, have tv and tea and coffee making facilities.
There is a parking outside for guest but they also hire cars. This was very convenient for us, as we hired a car to drive around the South coast for a couple of days. Cars are cheap and reliable. And again, very convenient as you dont need to pick up or delive them sowhere else, but right at the door.
Another good reason to stay here is the breakfast ready for you anytime, even very early in the morning as it was the case.
But the best for us, was the friendly service. Though it is a very busy place, the service was very friendly and in our case went beyond what we would expect as we had some luggage trouble and they were very nice having our new luggage delivered and kept for us, and then also, we had a doctors appointment in the hotel as my partner had a small medical emergency in Iceland the night before, and they were very patient with all the calls we got from the insurance throught their phone.
Very attentive and ready to help you anyway they can.
Will use them again for sure when at Gatwick.
The price, which includes breakfast and transfers cant be beaten either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just spent an overnight stay at this guest house and we could not be more pleased. Lovely place,lovely spacious room and lovely owners. We were in a very well equipped room with french windows leading onto the patio and garden.The owners Paul and Judy are really nice and welcoming. We phoned them when we got to Gatwick Airport and Paul picked us up within a few minutes.It is only a short drive to the Guest house which is also only a very convenient two minute walk from Horley Town Centre. Nice continental breakfast with lots of choice and then we were kindly taken back to the airport. So nice that we are thinking of going to stay with them for a few days. Really made a very good start to our holiday so thank you Paul and Judy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is brilliant - especially for an overnight stay prior to flight. Welcome was great; rooms very comfortable with tea making facilities; breakfast was good - at 4 in the morning: even had fresh milk in the fridge for the cornflakes! Our car was taken care of and delivery to and collection from Gatwick was just a phone call away - cannot fault any part of our stay and will definately use this B&B again - and again! Thank you

Helen
Somerset

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Castle Lodge on the night prior to our flight from Gatwick and also on the night we returned, leaving our car there during our absence. We had room 5 on the way out and 7 on the way back. Both were on the ground floor and had french windows opening up onto a nice terrace and garden with small patio tables and chairs should you wish to sit outside. The rooms were very clean and well furnished with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits provided - and not just one of everything that you get in some establishments! Breakfast was of the continental variety, with orange juice and milk in the fridge and a selection of cereals, bread for toast, croissants etc and crumpets (although the family of 5 who got up before us were just scoffing the last of them when we got there - boo).
A local taxi company contracted to the guest house supplied both our transfers to and from the airport. They turned up right on time to collect us early morning for our outward bound flight and on our return we only had to wait a few minutes to get picked up despite it being around 11pm on a Friday night.
All in all, a very positive experience. We normally try to avoid Gatwick like the plague if at all possible, but staying here made it more than bearable - we shall certainly stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 7 have french windows into the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Lawn Guest House
The Lawn Guest House
#17 of 30 in Horley
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southbourne Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Property: Castle Lodge
Address: St. John Ambulance Hall 28 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing