We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best”
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #10 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

having stayed in various guest houses in horley,some very nice, some average,i beleive im in a good position to advise travellers the best place to stay in my opinion,and that is without any hesitance THE CASTLE LODGE,dont look anywhere else.The reason for my decision is as follows,the castle lodge has very spacious rooms in comporison to others we have stayed,the simple but so important things such as cleansiness and thought out organisation is second to none,your hosts,will do whatever it takes if they possibly can to enhance a warm and comfortable stay, everything is effective and simple giving you peace of mind,and a big,decent and respectfull facter to their customers is this..lots of the guesthouses will offer free transfers in the price,but beware,they only work in a time scale,so you end up paying,wheras the castle will ensure you have a 24 hr transfer free with no problems and no added cost.In conclusion THE CASLE LODGE is simply the best,and this is an honest account.Gary and Carol Edwards,stayed 20.5.2012 and 3.6.2012

Room Tip: its all simply excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillybeanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    82
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
118
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have always driven to gatwick about 3 hours and so have to leave at silly o clock! Decided to try this guest house with night before checking at airport.

We checked in at our cases at gatwick taking us all of about five minutes. We arrived at guesthouse about 8pm and found we had a pleasant, clean en suite room with tea and coffee making facilities. We had a large window overlooking a well kept garden. We walked into horley which is a little town with a variety of places to eat and only a five minute stroll. Breakfast was in a very nice dinning room with a self service buffet consisting of cereal, juice, yogarts, toast, fresh fruit, croissants and scones with hot drinks. Our taxi arrived spot on and dropped us outside north terminal, took about 5 or so minutes. On arrival back in uk we walked to bus stop nine and were picked us as arranged. All very smooth and reasonably priced. Have booked again for September.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank articmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lLake Worth,Fl.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is our second year staying at this charming B&B. There are many reasons to recommend Castle Lodge but foremost are the owner's hospitality. We needed a ride to Gatwick at 4:30 AM and although they offer 24/7 service I still asked about a charge that early and Judy said they take care of it. She even drove us to the train station so we could get into London( about 45 mins.) The rooms are "quaint" and each is equipped with tea, coffee, hot chocolate packets, and lovely cookies. Horley is a small village with a few restaurants and pubs but for those looking for a reasonable place to stay during the Olympics you can't this place for its easy access into the city. By the way, did I mention the simple but filling breakfast they serve every morning? As I said, you get a lot more than a great price, I highly recommend the Castle Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lidollakeworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have stayed at 2 other hotels in Massetts Road in the past but this has been the best so far. We booked direct with the owner by phone who then followed this up with a confirmation e-mail the same day. We had the overnight stay plus parking for our car for 16 nights in April/May and were happy with the price agreed. The en-suite room we were allocated was very clean with coffee and tea making facilities - it had a patio door overlooking a wonderful paved patio with tables and chairs for use by the patrons. We were taken to the airport at the time arranged and collected on our return incredibly promptly. We do not normally put on reviews but because our stay was so comfortable we said we would do so to the owner.
Sally & Andrew Westlake, Cornwall

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

When we arrived at the airport we rang the number we were given, then we waited at bus stop 9. After about 15mins our lift arrived, its only 5 mins to the BnB. When you get there on opening the front door the first thing you see is a rather scruffy red carpet but thankfully it ended at our bedroom door!We had room 9 at the back on the ground floor. The room had two clean comfy beds , a small tv and a tray with tea/coffee/hot choc/ etc and biscuits. As it was cold you could regulate the radiator in the room. In the bathroom the bottom of the shower was all chipped and had a patch of filler also on it. It didn't look very appealing, we, like many people, are fussy about showers and neither of us would get in it. This has put us off going back there. Anyway breakfast was DIY, with cereal, toast, crumpets, scones, fruit etc. Help your self to milk, juice and yoghurt from the fridge and make whatever hot drink you want. As we only ever have a light breaky this suited us fine. We walked into Horley (2mins), it's nice for a coffee and a nose in the shops. We were taken to the airport at lunch time (checkout is 10.30am). The owners put a slip of paper in the room for customers comments, we did write about the shower so lets hope that they take notice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived about 10:30pm at Gatwick and were picked up by the taxi arranged by hotel, which had previously sent emails with all proper details to arrange checking in. Everything went as planned and we were happy to find a cute and warm room. Even though it was a bit small, room was really comfortable and we appreciated having a pot to prepare tea and some biscuits. Bathroom worked very well and breakfast was nice enough next morning, with yoghurt, cereal, pastries and jams. My only complain may be that wifi internet was not working too slow but otherwise we appreciated very much Judy and Paul's hospitality and the fact that they organized a car to rent for our trip to Stonehenge and took us back to Gatwick to get the train to London when we arrived back the next day. So I will definitely recommend to stay there if you really want good quality and value for money accommodation close to Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusverGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We found this B&B last year. It was so good, and the proximity to Gatwick so convenient, that we went back in February. The rooms are lovely, and the airport transfer is personal and efficient. Breakfast is laid out for early departures, and collection from the airport is swift.
We have recommended others, and will continue to share our fine discovery. Maybe We should keep it quiet, as we risk not getting in next time!! My battery was flat when we got back, but this was quickly sorted with the help of the friendly owner. Thanks. David and Sue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Lawn Guest House
The Lawn Guest House
#18 of 30 in Horley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southbourne Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Property: Castle Lodge
Address: St. John Ambulance Hall 28 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing