We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here on an overnight and 5 course tasting menu deal. Overall it was ok but I expected more. There is no actual bar area but the staff get you drinks and bring them into the lounge. I find it odd that you need to go and hunt for a member of staff to get a drink.
The meal was dissappointing as well, it is advertised as a a 5 course but it is actually 4 plus coffee and petit fours. The food was nice but every course needed to have more seasoning and little things like glasses not being cleared when I didnt order wine and forgetting my drink order and bread was poor. There was not a fish course either.
The eggs were over cooked for breakfast and there was not any thought on how the food was set out.
The rooms were very nice though and the reception staff were very helpfull.
Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItfcRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    235
    85
    40
    22
See reviews for
133
560
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked Langshott Manor as a treat after flying in from Dubai (although would have been better to have landed at Gatwick, which is very close by). We pulled into the drive on a damp autumnal day and were overwhelmed by the quaintness of the building. Our room, although outside of the main building, was warm and cosy with a bathroom to die for (Epsom) and we instantly ordered a G&T and London Pride (husband was so happy to hear this was available) which arrived very promptly.

We had the tasting menu, with some trepidation as we quite honestly didn't like the sound of all of the courses, but it was wonderful. We declined the wine package but were offered other drinks to complement each course. Service was a little bit quick but as we were 4 hours ahead it didn't bother us too much. The only grumble was the offer of coffee and petit fours in a sitting room (lovely open fires in all rooms) which didn't materialise but we were tired and looking forward to getting a good nights sleep.

Definitely worth another visit, can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the langshott manor with two friends on a two night special . The hotel staff where helpful friendly and could not have done anymore to make our stay any better our friends had a couple of minor issues with their room and where given a choice of two alternatives . We all received a complimentary glass of champagne with our first meal because of the minor problems which was a nice touch . The chef and restaurant staff where also excellent allowing us to change the main course on the first night from salmon. To duck and the second starter and main on the second night from rabbit and duck to lamb and chicken . Nothing seemed to be to much trouble . Breakfast was excellent a good choice and again food cooked to perfection and our strange requests for unusual things did not faze the staff .oh and the afternoon tea was to die for again the kitchen staff catered to the tastes of us all with no butter and fish on I set of sandwiches . So all in all an excellent hotel with first class staff and facilities

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardingly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We got married here in October 2013 on a wedding package and spent two nights at the hotel in the Henry VIII suite. It can only be described as a perfect event. It was not the cheapest but overall excellent value. Everything went like the clockwork. All the meals were of a very high standard and presented with clear attention to detail. All the staff were very helpful in the organising of the wedding and during it. We are looking forward to returning in November for another event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 134Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for the night on a package including 5 course meal, overnight stay and breakfast. The hotel itself is beautiful; very romantic tudor building steeped in history. The staff were very friendly and our room was a good with an excellent bathroom. I suspect other rooms may have had a better view (ours looked was facing an overgrown shrub) but it was winter so dark mostly anyway. Our only quibble with the room was that the TV didn't have any reception so didn't really work.

The hotel itself seem to attract a large amount of elderly clientele taking advantage of afternoon tea and we did feel like the youngest guests by about 50yrs! Also, there wasn't a bar as such, you just had to wait for a member of staff to serve you which was a bit odd. We thought the evening meal was pretty average. We overheard them saying they were hoping for a Michelin star; they may be waiting a while... Breakfast was also pretty average, in fact we had a better breakfast the day before at our local cafe.

We also had problems with the noise in our room; we could hear the guests above us coming and going from first thing in the morning which woke us both up and really ruined the trip as we didn't get any rest, it sounded as if the floor was coming through. We did draw this to the hotel managers attention and they did discount our trip but to be honest we wouldn't have gone had we known how noisy the rooms were as we'd have got a better night's sleep at home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A picturesque and charming Tudor Manor House in a lovely setting which I visited along with 7 other friends. All the staff did their best to ensure a lovely and comfortable stay and set up a table in one of the lounges for us to sit together as a group of 8 for pre-dinner drinks..The rooms were scrupulously clean and well appointed with some lovely touches such as bath robes, crisp white sheets, quality shampoo/conditioner etc. However our room and those of our friends were over heated as were several parts of the hotel and even when we turned off the radiators and opened both windows but it took a long time for our bedroom to return to a bearable temperature. The food was very good but the wine very pricey. We had the 5 course tasting menu which was well presented, tasty and very enjoyable on the whole. I was personally a little disappointed as I emailed ahead with a poultry allergy and the pigeon dish was swapped for a pear and leek salad- hardly an equivalent- it needed a protein content with either fish or an alternative meat. Breakfast was lovely and once again the service was excellent. If I could I would mark this a 4 1/2 but can't award a 5 for the reasons above. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel though and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent my husband's birthday at this hotel on a bed, breakfast and 5 course tasting menu deal. The reception staff were very friendly, professional and helpful, as were those in the restaurant. We had a lovely room and there were some really nice touches like various books and magazines to choose from, ornaments and an open fireplace so it seemed really homely. The bathroom was super with good ameniities and lovely fluffly robes, and although very close to the airport, the noise wasn't too bad at all and we were able to get a reasonable night's sleep. Unfortunately we didn't have good weather so were unable to enjoy the lovely grounds, but the lounges are very welcoming and comfortable. As many other reviewers have previously commented, we found the drinks overpriced. The wine flight with the tasting menu dinner cost £25 for 4x70cl glasses, which equates to £62.50 a bottle, and it really was not good enough to warrant such a price tag. To add insult to injury, when we checked out we noticed they had automatically added 12.5% on top of the cost of the wine, which was a service charge. When we queried it we were told it was an optional charge, although but there had been no previous mention of it and was added automatically. In all in, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,058 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
6.3 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing