We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent stay at Langshott Manor. We stayed in one of there mews, which was excellent. Only problem we had was in parking the car when we returned at 7pm that there no spaces in the car park, so needed to park our car off site, not ideal.
We had afternoon tea which was lovely. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice of fruit, cereal and bread etc, and a full english breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseablue-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    239
    86
    41
    24
See reviews for
135
568
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed two nights at Langshott Manor in the Henry VIII wing. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with good service. Free wifi available which is a bonus. Main part of hotel has lots of history and charm. Good restaurant although service was a touch slow. Henry VIII wing has been renovated a little generically given the age of the building. Best hotel in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

One night gastronomic break with 2 couples. We paid extra to upgrade - couldn't have identical rooms due to occupancy. Master suite is a proper suite with separate rooms and very well appointed. Junior suite is more of a large room than a suite, with outside seating space. Decor in both rooms was very good. What has stopped rooms being classed as excellent is a few small touches - no facecloths in bathroom (surely a basic in a hotel of this standard) and despite glasses being put on bedside table in turndown service, water isn't refreshed.
7 course tasting menu was excellent. They forgot wine flight was included (until prompted) which meant we played catch-up and wines didn't exactly match at start. Service at dinner very good.
Breakfast was not really the same standard - the service is much slower, due to fewer staff members and the floor of the dining room looked like it hadn't been cleaned since dinner. This hotel has the genuine potential to be excellent but lack of attention to detail prevents this.

Room Tip: If you want a suite - choose Master suite. The junior suite is just a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I took my partner here for his birthday in July, booked through Secret Escapes. Like many people, I research hotels thoroughly through TA before booking anything, and am happy to confirm the experience was every bit as good as the reviews and more.

The deal was originally for an overnight stay with 5 course taster menu, however as we are both real foodies I phoned ahead and upgraded to the 7 course menu (which was no trouble). Some people are saying it was hard to find but I didn't get lost, and I'm terrible with directions! We were taken to the Anne Boleyn Suite which was wonderful- 4 poster bed, bathroom with his and hers sinks, and a waterfall bath, and a view over looking the pond. The facilities in the room were better than your average hotel- Nespresso coffee machine and free glass-bottled water.

For us the best part was the food- each dish and the recommended wine were truely some of the best I have ever tasted. I didn't get the wine flight so can't make recommendations about it. Bottles of wine were a little pricey, but as it was for a special occasion I didn't mind. We ordered our drinks outside on the lovely lawns by the pond with ducks wandering about, before going inside to eat. The service was excellent too, very professional.

When we went back to the room it had been turned down and a little poem left on the bed, a unique touch.

The cooked breakfast was also very good- cooked breakfast and a variety of pastries, fresh juice and coffee.

We also had a quick game of Croquet on the lawn before we left- ask for mallets at Reception.

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel or our experience- I only wish it was a little cheaper so we could afford to go back more often!

Tip- Look out for this deal on Secret Escapes!
Food tip- if you like White please try the NZ Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough Region!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal, £169 for one night's bed-and-breakfast with the five course taster menu dinner included. We paid an extra £20 for an upgrade to a junior suite. The room itself was wonderful - tastefully furnished, with a 5 foot bed, a private garden area, a spacious bathroom with a bath, a separate (powerful) shower and two basins. It was in a separate building in the grounds of the hotel, so very quiet and peaceful, although flights into Gatwick were audible if there was no other background noise. One of the best rooms we have stayed in, the only drawback being that the promised Wi-Fi wasn't available and mobile phone reception was non-existent (although the latter is not, of course, the hotel's fault.) The dinner was excellent: each course was beautifully presented, perfectly cooked, served by a friendly and helpful waiter and tasted delicious. But before ordering, we looked at the wine list: the second cheapest wine on offer, (which is what most people order) a 2012 Chilean Sauvignon blanc, was priced at £29.50. An identical bottle (we Googled it) would retail for about £5. An alternative was to have a "wine flight" which consisted of five 75 mL glasses of wine, one for each course, i.e. a total of half a bottle of wine, costing £25 per person. Most bottles on the wine list were priced at £35 and above, with quite a few priced at more than double that. My wife's predinner Bloody Mary cost £10. I know that hotels have to make a profit somewhere, and that you would expect to pay considerably more in a restaurant for a bottle of wine than you would pay in an off-licence, but this is taking the p**s. Having said that, I can recommend the hotel for its old world charm and comfort, its friendly and helpful staff, and a high standard throughout. Breakfast was every bit as good as dinner. The grounds - an oasis of calm only a few miles from Gatwick - are charming.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a Junior Suite would be worthwhile, especially if there's a function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a great Hotel. Stayed for a friends wedding and could not fault the hotel in any way.
Food was great and the breakfast was one of the best i've had
Could do with better direction signs when nearing the hotel otherwise quite hard to find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked in last minute paying a few pounds more than the usual, tired and rather unexciting airport hotels, and hoping for a peaceful change.

I was absolutely delighted I did - and the extra few pounds were worth every penny. On arrival, I was upgraded to the wonderful Bodiam room/suite and enjoyed a terrific tasting menu in the excellent restaurant, and went to bed knowing that I had discovered something quite special.

This is simply a wonderful alternative to staying at those dreary on-airport hotels....and makes going away a real pleasure. All the staff were all wonderful and the gardens and grounds were beautiful and peaceful in the morning sunshine. Just a word of caution.....it's not easy to find - unfortunately my SatNav took me down a pot-holed track to get there! The highly missable road/lane leading to the hotel is skewed off a very busy multi-road oblong roundabout (!!!)....however stick with it.....as it's definitely worth it. :-)

Room Tip: I had the Bodiam room, which is in the very old part of the main house, overlooking the gardens. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSnooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
3.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing