We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family get together” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
SE England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family get together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had 9 rooms and a private dinner for a family celebration just before Christmas. Everyone enjoyed it and all the rooms were good. The dinner and breakfast were excellent, and we felt well looked after, with a separate sitting room for our use before and after the meal.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice, in the main house and in the separate annexe. I am a light sleeper and for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    230
    79
    39
    20
See reviews for
117
540
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed in Leeds suite . Has anyone bathed in a four poster bath!!!!. Yes we had a four poster bed as well. Lovely room with seperate bath, shower, double sink and a corridor adjoining.
Cleanliness superb, food excellent and the staff even better. This is what old England is all about, wonderful manor house with lovely gardens. There are rooms off from the Manor house which our friends stayed in which were great with verandahs on the water, off their room.
Really worth a visit, no noise just the creaking of the beams, just joking.
Only slight disapointment the restaurant obviously a fairly recent addition, not surprising since the 15th century, lacked a bit of atmosphere, but the food made up for it.

Room Tip: Try to stay in Manor House , although annex rooms very good, but have only a little walk to the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, Kent
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Second time we have had afternoon tea here. Quite a pleasant experience. Thought the four little finger sandwiches per person a bit on the skimpy side. Have had similar at other hotels at a similar price and where more sandwiches were offered for those who wanted more. Cakes were fine, and there was a little pot of desert. Not sure what is was, rather like a creme brulee without the burnt bits and with a lime green jelly on top. Tasted fine. A somewhat quaint and old fashioned place with people in different rooms having afternoon tea. Staff were pleasant, brought more tea when we asked. No rushing, and a nice way to spend an hour or two on a Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to add your review following your afternoon tea at Langshott Manor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and our festive take on the the traditional afternoon tea - The Snowball Posset with Lime Jelly and Coconut, Yule Log, Mince Pies to mention just a few.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the second stay by my wife and I at Langshott Manor, and this time taking the deal of dinner and room on the Sunday, which is excellent value for money when booked through their web page.
On our previous visit we had a room that was the next one down from junior suite, but this time we had a classic room which is just above the standard, and it really was a lovely room.
The food in their Mulberry restaurant is excellent. The grounds are beautiful. The service is excellent. I think Langshott is a wonderful find. Just before dinner we had drinks in front of the log fire. It was all perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to add such lovely feedback following your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex,England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

What a sedate and civilised way to spend an hour or so.
Finger sandwiches, selection of small cakes and home made scones, jam and cream, proper loose leaf tea all in a setting of an old English manor house.
Cosy and warm on a cold and wet afternoon, they even lit the log fire.
Service from arrival to departure was courteous and polite
Would recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to add your comments follwoing your recent Afternoon Tea. Maybe you could try one of our Vintage Tea's next time for a chance to really step back into a bygone era.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed here before almost exactly 10 years ago when we stayed before our flight to St Lucia to get married and it was just perfect so this hotel and our memories of then had a lot to live up to. 10 years later and we were not disappointed, it was just as we remembered it, we used the hotel on our return from Mexico and as it was an overnight flight we didn’t want to drive all the way back north so stayed at Langshot. We arrived in the UK earlier than check in allowed but the reception desk were very accommodating and made us tea while they made the room ready and allowed us to check in a little earlier than normal. This was great as we had a chance to catch a couple of hours sleep before freshening up for dinner that evening in the restaurant. The room was stunning with a view over the duck pond, an open log fire and four poster bed, all very comfortable. The food here is AMAZING, we have experienced some very good restaurants in our time but this is just sublime. The service was very good from all the staff and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew134_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to add your review.

I am so pleased to read that Langshott Manor continues to hold such special memories for you both. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were invifed to dine there by my wife's mother and we were embarraseed for her.
We were served very small tasteless starters and 2 of the main courses were bland, tepid and without a sauce that might have given the monk fish dish a bit of a lift.
The attitude of the head waiter was overbearing and the fuss made about the service charge fee added to the billis is an unwelcomed remindrer of the poor service. The tablecloth was full of wine marks by the end of the meal which were all made by the untrained waitress.
Very overpriced for the poor quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marieclare_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to add your review following your recent dining experience in the Mulberry Restaurant. I am very dissapointed to read that your meal did not meet or exceed your expectations. I have raised the service issues with my team and am confident that this has been rectified. However I would like to strongly disagree that our food is bland and tastless and we receive many great reviews and comments that also would disagree. Had you rasied these issues at the time I am confident that we could have offered you an alternative meal.

I do hope that this experience has not deterred you from returning to Langshott Manor on the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
4.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
24.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing