We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveler rating
616
280
109
57
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
280
109
57
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teamulberry restaurantcourse tasting menuluxury roomduck pondwine flighthousing estatebeautiful hotelcream teafinger sandwichesjunior suitepetit foursanne boleynthe main houseservice chargefour poster bedbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is stunning and the quintessential english manor house. The staff are very helpful and especially yvonne who went above and beyond to make our stay great. The gardens are lovely and our room is very well appointed with a gorgeous private patio garden. The restaurant is interesting. Reasonable food for breakfast and lunch, not for the bargain hunters, Did not have dinner as the reserved atmosphere not overly compatible with our unreserved 20 month old. The resturant has an annoying billing practice. The menu states proudly, "gratuity of 12.5% is recommended but completely descretionary". However, they automatically charge you 12.5% that cannot be removed without manager approval, they describe this as a "service charge" and then leave a space for gratuity on the bill. This is not descretionary, this is an automatic charge, and if you are not lookig carefully or you are not form the uk, you may tip again by mistake. Why not call the service charge "gratuity" on the bill and then have "additional gratuity?" ill asume good intent and just call this unfortunate, and i will also through in a tip for the reader. The farmhouse pub a few hundred yards up the road is a good spot to nip out and a have a pint.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 27JamesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed just for one night over the May bank holiday. The weather was miserable but I can't blame the hotel for that. The hotel has managed to retain its old world charm, even though it’s located in the middle of Gatwick’s urban sprawl (sorry, but Horley is not very nice). Our room in the old building was a decent size: comfortable bed, and a lovely view over the rain-soaked-but-lovely garden. Dinner was enjoyable – maybe a bit too “nouveu cuisine” for me (i.e. small portions) – but overall the food was well presented and tasty, and full marks for having some decent veggie options on the menu. Restaurant and check-in service was polite and efficient throughout our stay. I’d definitely stay again if I was in the area or travelling via Gatwick, but this wouldn’t be my first choice for rural getaway. Finally, worth noting that the hotel charged us a lower room rate than the one we booked (unprompted).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous, full of character and interesting architectual sights. We spent one night here in the Leeds suite which had a 4-poster bed and a large bathroom with bath and separate shower. There were views over the garden to the back. The bed was really comfortable and the room was quiet. We had dinner too which was a wonderful experience. The "colourful" maite d was extremely helpful and friendly with explanations and recommendations. The food was delicious but the portion sizes are tiny which is probably why most people take the 7 course tasting menu. We shared the tasting plate of deserts which was devine! Not cheap but worth it for a special occasion or a night before a special holiday as it is only 3 miles from Gatwick airport. I would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Rather disappointed with our stay here, as mentioned by a previous reviewer the bed was far too soft and the room rather dark- and we had only one bedside light so had to put the overhead lights on to read in bed and not all the overhead bulbs worked either. It was a cool night but the duvet we were provided with had hardly any padding in it- there were large areas which were literally just the cotton cover and nothing else, meaning we were sleeping under only four layers of thin cotton, a top and bottom sheet and the two thin layers of the duvet. Plus there was only a very thin pillow each and there were hairs in the bath. All in all Much lower standard than we are accustomed to for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_30_something-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A trip back in time! We stayed in Henry VIII Suite furnishings and linens excellent. Beautiful private terrace overlooking the moat. We had a superb meal in the restaurant. We only stayed overnight prior to leaving from Gatwick on holiday. Would definitely repeat this experience as left totally relaxed, which I never feel when book in at an impersonal branded airport hotel.

Room Tip: Henry VIII Suite was just perfect!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H7FJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews