We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
628
292
118
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
292
118
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea mulberry restaurant course tasting menu luxury room duck pond housing estate wine flight cream tea beautiful hotel finger sandwiches junior suite petit fours anne boleyn the main house four poster bed beautiful room a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,061 - 1,066 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was our 4th visit to the restaurant at Langshott Manor in the last 2 years and we have come to expect really excellent service and outstanding food. Once again we were not disappointed.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and, being a very pleasant evening, we sat out in the garden and had a leisurely glass of champagne whilst we chose from the menu.

The menu is not that extensive but, once again it was difficult to choose because everything sounds so good. Once seated in the small restaurant we were reminded of how this restaurant has just the right balance. The staff are very friendly and not at all stuffy. They are there when you need them and melt into the background when you don't.

The dishes, all innovative British dishes beautifully presented, are just the right size so that you leave the meal absolutely replete rather than full to the brim.

We took coffee in the lounge afterwards and then moved on to some very good single malts. Before we knew it we were the last people there and they just left us to it. They ordered us a taxi and the staff then retired for the night. It made it feel like our own private oak panelled lounge within a 17th Century house. When the taxi arrived we just let ourselves out. Wonderful.

I am sure that you have been to restaurants that are very good but make you feel slightly unsettled by the rarefied atmosphere. Langshott Manor provides outstanding food in a wonderful setting with non of the stuffiness. What a pleasure.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Found the hotel on the internet - wanted something close to Gatwick - and very glad that I did - the hotel building was beautiful with delightful well kept gardens. Room in annex was large, nicely decorated and fully supplied (although no minibar). Bed very comfortable - above all the service was exemplary - just about the best I have received in any UK hotel - when sought to book an impromptu late lunch the dining room was full - never mind - five minutes later they had made alternative arrangements in a private room located near by - and again service remained excellent throughout lunch - food was also of a suitably high standard. Few hotels make me want to stay on longer than I need - this one did - many congratulations to the managment and to the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our family returned to Langshott Manor this June to once again celebrate my husband's birthday in this lovely setting. We were very lucky with the weather and the hotel did not disappoint. Tea and scones on the terrace led on to drinks in a sun drenched bower in the garden, thence to an excellent dinner. We had four rooms in the main house - all delightful, although I could have done with a supportive pillow (all floppy and flat, so that needs seeing to in Scotney). This is a charming hotel that seems to manage to combine being an airport stop-over as well as a classy venue for weddings and family parties. It could do with service being a bit sharper and more polished but, as last year, we enjoyed Sandy's attentions at dinner. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had our wedding here 30/05/2011 and the best way to sum it up would be perfect! Everything we asked for was done to perfection, the staff were friendly and helpful to all the guests and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing (main meal and hog roast for evening) and the rooms were lovely and clean, we stayed in Arundel as it has the most amazing bath i have seen in a hotel. We had guests staying in all the rooms and breakfast the next morning and the staff was still as good as everything on the actual day. All of our guests loved it as well.
After reading the review a bit further down of someone having their camera stolen at a wedding i think that says more about the guests at the wedding and not the hotel, my husband left his I-Pod lying around and they found it and returned it to him.
We have also been for afternoon tea (last summer) and that again i could not fault, lovely food and amazing service.
As for people moaning about prices yes it is pricey but you have to remember it's a manor house in Surrey.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madroxounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at Langshott Manor the night before we flew from Gatwick. What a find, a beautiful manor house minutes from the terminals. Despite being so close we were unaware of any airport noise. Our room was exquisite ( Anne Boleyn Suite) and had a sumptuous bathroom. We were disappointed that we had to be up early and could not luxuriate in the deep oversized bath. Instead we enjoyed the spa products in the walk in rain shower .

Dinner was fantastic, great service from knowledgeable staff and an interesting menu.
We would not normally have three courses but made an exception at Langshott as we had enjoyed our first two courses so much.
Would recommend as a perfect start to your holiday or business trip away, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews