We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Lovely Atmosphere”
Review of Ye Olde Six Bells

Ye Olde Six Bells
Reserve with OpenTable
Ye Olde Six Bells is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Six Bells in Horley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
ESSEX
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lovely Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed nearby in Best Western Moat House Hotel and had found out about this restaurant on the internet, Short walk through Church Yard to The Olde Six Bells about 10 mins from hotel. We had not booked and it was Early Saturday evening, the staff were so helpful they found us a table quickly and took our order when we were ready service was great as were the meals, steak was cooked just as we ordered, perfect start to a 2 week holiday, will be returning. We left around 8.30pm and lots of people were waiting for tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickandkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    518
    222
    109
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice atmosphere, shame about the service and food!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by very unfriendly staff who told us at 9.40 that the kitchen was closing in 10 mins and that the tills closed at 11pm. Had an overdone and over priced tuna steak burger which I presume was cooked from frozen. A £17 steak was well cooked but a poor cut of meat for the price. Overall over priced. Poor service. Disappointed. The hand cut chips were nice though! Beautiful old pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMMEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best english / pub food in town”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We celebrated my partner's birthday at this place with a few friends and it was a nice and pleasant experience. Lovely old building kept at a good standard. The food was excellent, we ordered quite a few different things and everyone enjoyed. I do agree with other reviewers the starters portions could be a bit bigger, but at the end of the day, its only a starter, if you eat too much you probably will not enjoy the main. It is not the cheapest place and it seems to be busy most of the time. We did try to go back last november but people were queueing outside the door and the car park was packed, so we turned around and went somewhere else as we did not have a reservation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steak and peas”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice atnosphere, old style pub with a restaurant area. Disinterested, slow service. Very uninspired and overpriced food. Tuna burger was almost inedibly dry. Ribeye steak at £17, ordered rare, was decently cooked but a flavourless cheap cut. Served with peas, which might have been appropriate at a different price. Chips were nice, although condiment lovers might take exception to their sauce police.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A very busy pub but staff efficient and helpful getting us a table ASAP.
The meal quality was poor, but would visit again and try different meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Psaron12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Six Bells also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing