We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, average food”
Review of The Curry Bengal

The Curry Bengal
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service, average food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I ate here one evening while spending the night locally on business. The service was excellent and I was made to feel very welcome despite being on my own. I had the Bombay Fish Special which was rather disappointing, lacking flavour and a bit of oomph. The dhal was lovely though and the pilau rice very good.

Maybe I made the wrong choice of main course, but I left feeling a bit disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cossie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    48
    22
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't have alot to apart from it one of the best curry places I've been to. Waiters are brilliant at their job and its just a walk from our house, we previously went to jai ho but its very over priced for what u get service wise. We have now been converted to New Curry Bengal xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fly501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little disappointed !”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have walked passed this restaurante many times so deceided to go in one evening ! The place looks beautiful, lots of staff milling around a few customers and a lovely smell. However, we were put on a table by the bar and near the door and everytime the phone rang whoever answered it lent on the wall next to our table and was practially shouting in our ear (I think I could remember all the orders that went out to Horley that night ) ! the food was average not brilliant and they mucked up the bill. What a good valentines night we had !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Horley!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Order from this place 3 times a month. Every time delivered within 30 mins, order always correct and food always fantastic. I have tried other curry take always around Horley and none are as good in my opinion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlawrence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice and friendly. I have eaten there many times with family and friends. I would recommend. Great service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dee651962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Bengal also viewed

 

Been to The Curry Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing