We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Three Acres Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Acres Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Three acres is the perfect place to stay before a gatwick flight if you want to keep costs down. The rooms are OK and clean, the breakfast is self serve and suits an early morning airport hop. There is a pub within walking distance for a meal the night you are staying. A word of warning - the car park is a field of sorts and we managed to get stuck on our return from holiday ( I am aware we have a rear wheel drive and it had been very wet - but it did need my husband to push us out and covered his trousers in mud!). The transfers are by local taxi - make sure you check the timings as we waited 20 mins for one on our return. Good price and 5 mins to the airport which rivals the cost of any other hotel near by.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spooface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissyhorley, Owner at Three Acres Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes the car park was unusually wet due to the inclement weather. The car park is an old horse sandschool, made of hard core and then sand , which is these days covered by grass, I carried out a partial re- surface to the areas required to cope with the abnormal amount of rainfall so there would be no problems for anyone parking at Three Acres in the future if we get another long and very wet weather episode Chrissy :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
43
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the Three Acres before flying from Gatwick the following morning. We wanted some reasonably priced, comfortable and convenient accommodation and this is exactly what we got.The location is about 5-10 minutes from Gatwick airport and only cost us £5 in a taxi.

Christine was very helpful and friendly and made us very welcome. We rather enjoyed breakfast as we could help ourselves to a light bite before setting off on our holiday. There was a nice selection to choose from including fruit, yoghurts, toast, croissants, jam, peanut butter, cheese spread and cereal (possible more that I may have forgotten).

Christine looked after our car for us for a very reasonable fee and we knew that it would be safe and easy to collect upon our return. This definitely beats leaving it in a large airport carpark for a high fee!

There is a very nice pub a short walk away and we enjoyed dinner there. The wifi access at Christine's B&B and also at this pub proved to be very useful when our hotel in Marrakech cancelled on us with the less than 12 hours to go before we were due to fly so we had to find alternative accommodation (!!) Christine was also quick to lend us a note pad and pen so that we could make some frantic notes and offered us use of her PC if needed which was very kind of her.

We were given a access code so that we could return to the B&B when we liked without having to disturb the owner and without the risk of getting locked out which we liked.

The room was basic but cosy and comfortable and had tea making facilities. There was a separate toilet in our room and we had exclusive use of a bathroom right next door. The bathroom was very nice although we would usually opt for an ensuite bathroom. We had booked an ensuite but Christine needed to juggle some rooms around and asked if we would mind swapping, which we didn't. If this had been a problem then Christine wouldn't have expected us to move, she was just trying to locate a family so that they had rooms next to each other I think which we didn't mind at all.

The only thing which I would change would have been the children running up and down the hallway/room upstairs over and over again as it was rather loud at times but this stopped before it got late so it didn't really bother us and this was obviously more the fault of a slightly inconsiderate family rather than a fault of the owner or her B&B.

A great location, friendly host and great value for money B&B, we would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for accomodation on a budget or before a flight!

Thank you Christine, we will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nataile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed twice this year at 3acres ,once before flying and once after flying from gatwick
We found the place as ideal for the airport as it is only 5 minutes in a taxi (a to b taxis we used)
Very handy having help yourself breakfast due to early flight
The black horse pub is also very good just a few minutes walk away
Would highly recommend and would use again for parking whilst on holiday
Many thanks to Christine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This b&b is 5 minutes from Gatwick airport, it cost £5 in a taxi to get to the south terminal. The rooms are small but clean. There are the odd noises due to various arrivals and departures from the place at unusual hours. We arrived back at 1am and had a key code to enter so you don't have to worry about waking them up. There is plenty of room for your car in the back field which is safe while you are away. The breakfast is limited but enough, and the price is a bargain for this area. There's a good pub nearby for an evening meal. Overall a perfect place for a night's stay before/after travelling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed one night either side of our main holiday. . . right from the first email contact with Christine to our final cheerio on the doorstep the service was first class and personal. This is such a lovely place to leave from and come back to after the trials of Gatwcik airport ! The room we had was the family suite which was fabulous - very warm and quiet, with en-suite bathroom, and very very comfortable beds . . . slept like a baby. Everything required was readily available on hand. Christine is an excellent host and goes above and beyond to be helpful, eg collecting us personally from the airport and then calling a taxi for our 4:45am departure to the airport. Also, being able to have breakfast at 4:15am was brilliant and unheard of anywhere else we have stayed. We started and ended our holiday thoroughly relaxed and refreshed. I would thoroughly recommend Three Acres to anyone having to stop over in the Gatwick area and it will always be my B&B choice from now on. Thank you so much Christine !

Room Tip: The family suite is quirky, with an exposed brick wall feature and staircase access - absolutely lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GypsyKezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night, prior to an early morning flight. Christine warmly welcomed us. Room was spotlessly clean. It wasn't big, but perfectly adequate for our needs.Long term parking an added bonus. A nice pub serving good food, wine and beer can be found a ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed on 10/05 and 18/05 exactly the same as before.

Cannot fault anything,still great value for money!

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzyboy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Bed and Breakfast

Property: Three Acres Bed and Breakfast
Address: Three Acres Reigate Road | Hookwood Gatwick, Horley RH6 0AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, semi-rural Bed and Breakfast, not under the flight path, 3 mins drive from Gatwick airport, 5 mins stroll to a lovely Pub for meals and 5 minutes to a 24 hour Tescos Superstore. Holiday parking on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing