We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Pine Crest Motel and Cabins(Barton)(Great Value!)
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center(East Burke)(Great Value!)
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonnade Inn(Lyndonville)
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairbanks Inn(Saint Johnsbury)
$114
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jay Peak Resort(Jay)(Great Value!)
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
165
56
18
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
56
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake willoughbycontinental breakfastcourtyard roomoff seasonrobert frostnortheast kingdomgas fireplaceview of the lakebar and grillloon roomwinter monthsnew chefgorgeous spotkeurig coffee makerbeautiful sceneryget awaynorthern vermont
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 247 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I did not want to drive straight thru from MA to Quebec City so I looked for a place in Vermont. I found WilloughVale on Trip Advisors and am so glad I listened to the other reviews. It seems a lot of people stop here for the area activities, but I find it is also a great stopping point on the way to Canada.

The location at WilloughVale (on Lake Willoughby) is to die for. Beautiful lake with glacial activity forming the surrounding mountains. The Inn is only a 10-15 minute drive off of I-91 regardless of which exit you take.

Whether you stay in the cottages right on the lake, or in the main bldg directly across the street from the lake (the main bldg is elevated) you have a great view from these charming and immaculate large rooms.

The service is EXCELLENT!! You will see Roy, the innkeeper, tending to every nook and cranny of the inn and grounds. He really takes an interest in his guests. His entires staff reflects his attitude.

Dining in the restaurant is a real treat. Again, great meals, great service, great food. The breakfast appears to be a buffet that opens at 8. We have skipped it each time since we always want to get an early start. If you do too, stop off for breakfast at Parson's Corner in the neighboring town of Barton. They open at 5 AM (closed Tuesday) and is a mile from the I-91 on ramp. It is exactly what you would expect for a small VT country breakfast location and is great. Again, one of the folks at WilloughVale told us about this place since they knew we were leaving early.

This is my 3rd trip to WilloughVale on my way to/from Quebec and will continue to stop here. Way to go Roy and team!!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you very much. We have found that others like yourselves stay at the Willoughvale as an intermediate stop to various locations in Canada, but Quebec City seems to be where such guests are headed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place, though remote, is an absolute gem! Stayed at the Peregrine Cottage and soaked up every second of solitude, gorgeous scenery and activities on the lake.
Very clean, modern with rustic accents and a TUB in the master bedroom. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Another Peregrine lover. Great! FYI; If you are a Yankee Magazine reader, there is article about lakes in New England. The Willoughvale was fortunate to be photographed and mentioned in the section about Lake Willoughby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stayed at the WilloughVale Inn many times over the years -- I grew up spending summers on Lake Willoughby, so it's like home. The Inn is wonderful -- comfortable, well-appointed, warm, inviting and the scenery is gorgeous. The Peregrine Cottage is off by itself, away from the road and very quiet and peaceful. It has beautiful views of the notch -- Mt. Pisgah and Mt. Hor -- and the lake between them. We were here in early June and heard white-throated sparrows, hermit thrushes and veeries -- the best singers in the US bird world. Plus the cottage has its own washer and dryer, dishwasher, A/C, deck and grill, hammock, WiFi -- it has it all. We will certainly return as often as we can -- Vermont is a bit of a hike from Virginia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your thoughts about Peregrine Cottage. It is a little more remote than the other Lakeview Cottages. For those who aren't aware the other 3 are identical in construction, layout and decorating and, like Peregrine, have spectacular Willoughby Lake views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Rented a hilltop cabin for a few nights with our two kids. Best thing: lying in the hammock overlooking Lake Willoughby and listening to the wind in the tall trees. Cabin itself was clean, well-equipped and comfortable. Just know, this is a VERY quiet area and there is not much of anything to do, other than, as mentioned, soak up that hammock time. If you're looking to get away, well, there you are.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your feelings about the Inn and Peregrine. The hammock (the 2nd one) was a favorite of the current owner's father who purchased the Inn in the late '90s. Come visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Willough Vale does a nice job from beginning to end. The Inn Keepers are super friendly and loaded with answers for all our questions. We were real happy that we stayed in the Peregrine Cottage...what a fantastic view. They have 3 categories to choose from in regards to their rooms. You can either stay right on the water (the cottages there are older and a bit more rustic, but nice). You could stay in one of their several rooms within the main Inn or you could pick one of their "lake view" cottages set back on the hill. This time we went with one of the lake view cottages which proves to be very nice as these are their newest buildings and they really are tasteful with a full arsenal of conveniences. My recommendation would be the peregrine as it has the best view of the lake (actually breathtaking...trust me). They also have a nice restaurant located in the main building including a well stocked bar. Food was done expertly and their drinks made with skill. Did I mention the waitresses were also fun to chat with....
Thanks for having us - we'll be back

Room Tip: Lake view cottages are the newest and worth the little extra $$ vs. picking one of the rooms located in the Inn. Peregrine Cottage has the best view with the most privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We are pleased to find 2 recent parties pleased with the Peregrine. It is one of our 4 Lakeview Cottages all of which offer the lake and the notch. The depth of the lake near the notch area is reported to be in the area of 325 feet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews