We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, included breakfast needs work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WilloughVale Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Westmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, included breakfast needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This fall was our 2nd stay at this Inn in the main lodge, Gazebo Room. Staff speedily met special room requests for extra luggage racks (we are seniors), extra kleenex, and a fan. The latter was the result of a warm room with only ONE window available with a screen for opening -- not enough ventilation or coolness when the window AC unit was not able to cool the room, which it was not. All of the inn public areas seemed way too warm, especially noticed in the breakfast room in the mornings. Very uncomfortable for me.
We love the location on this lake, and our room, the nicest one in the main inn, with a large lovely gazebo private deck, and all the needed amenities. I believe the rugs in this room, though attractive, are a safety hazard for senior citizens, however.
We did not use the restaurant in the main inn this time, as last time we stayed, the service was VERY slow and unacceptable, and we did not want to risk that again. The food itself, however, WAS acceptable. And we DID like the looks of the new menu, with many more choices, including "lite" items, etc.
We were both quite disappointed in the included breakfast. Same heated items 3 days in a row, and though the pancakes were not bad, the egg item was not good at all. For the price, there should be hard boiled eggs, for instance, some FRESHLY made muffins, a do-it-yourself waffle maker, REAL maple syrup, etc.

Room Tip: Be sure you can adequately cool down the room or cottage you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineCoastLover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    50
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
125
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our reason for staying at WilloughVale was merely a stopping over point before heading into Canada. Now that we have stayed there, it will become a destination for a future trip. The inn is comprised of the main building on one side of the quiet road and a series of cottages on the other. Now "other" is something to behold since the cottages are sitting right on the edge of Lake Willoughby, the size of Lake George!!

We stayed in the Angler Cottage, perfect for a couple. Had a separate bedroom, a small kitchen, a screened in porch and a separate deck. The place was immaculate.

The staff is over the top. As Debbie said, we want to make your stay here memorable. They all did!! Great attached restaurant. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind, supportive comments. Please return when you can and keep an eye on our website for the internet specials we may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our second stay here and it was just as we remembered it. Our room was updated and had views of the lake. There are also many places around the inn to sit outside and enjoy the grounds.
Dinner was delicious and one could have light food or appetizers as well as a full dinner.
Breakfast had many choices and one could have a window seat by the porch and look out at the lake.
There is not much to do here except relax, enjoy the lake (swimming and boating across the street) or drive around and look at the scenery.
The staff was unobtrusive but friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It is possible to view all the rooms on the inn's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased that your 2nd stay was equally enjoyable as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

As I see here in other reviews, we also stayed in the "Loon" room, which really does need to be updated a bit, it was nothing special. We did get to travel with our Golden, Riley as he was allowed in this particular room. The Inn itself is nice and has a great view of the Lake. I would have preferred to stay in one of the Cabins on the Lake, they look much nicer. The people were very friendly and the restaurant on site was pretty good and very convenient, as there is not alot of other restaurants that are close by. They did have a nice shore area and canoes for you to use. The dog had a blast swimming in the Lake. I'd like to come back and stay in one of the cabins with our kids.

Room Tip: Just don't choose the Loon room, very plain, no pictures, thin rug on the floor, not alot of fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Your feelings and those expressed in the September 10th posting regarding to the Loon Room are being taken to heart. We have plans to make changes with Loon this fall. We are likely to replace the queen bed with a king bed, paint the room and add needed pictures. There is little question that the Lakefront and Lakeview Cottages have great appeal at a higher daily rate. Our restaurant schedule will change to Thursday through Saturday evenings on October 18th. We will close the restaurant October 29th through November 14th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Birches cottage. The location right on the lake was absolutely beautiful. The cottage was comfortable and the sleeping arrangements (one bedroom with queen, the other with two twins) worked out perfectly for us with two college aged sons. The bedrooms themselves were a little small, but this was not a big issue since the living area was nice and we spent most time outdoors. The cottage had a private dock on the lake, which would be perfect for those bringing their own kayaks. We used the Inn's kayaks, available at the common waterfront just a short walk away (no extra charge) It was late in the season, and the kayaks were a little tired, one of them had a fairly significant leak. Also, the sunfish sailboat which was advertised on the web was not available due to an earlier mishap, and that was a disappointment. The kitchen was fully equipped, and we prepared several meals there which then could be enjoyed in combination with the great view. We ate at the Inn's restaurant one night, and the food there was outstanding. We would make a special trip to go back to this unique location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 04856Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your thoughts about the Willoughvale Inn. We intend to give attention to the waterfront boats when the season draws to a close after Columbus Day. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This inn faced a beautiful vista on Lake Willoughby. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant on site was a great convenience. That said, the room we were in named the Loon room, while clean and comfortable, could have used an upgrade. No pictures on the walls, the carpet was more suitable for an office, and the furniture could only be described as utilitarian. Our son stayed at a new cabin on site that was much nicer when it came to furnishings. That said, most of the accommodations in the area seemed about the same or even a step or two down. Buffet breakfast was included for inn guests, and although I requested skim milk by email in advance, none was provided.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travelom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We could not have ask for a nicer place or nicer people to work there. We were close to many great hiking trails and the scenery around the place is beautiful. We got there late because of airline delays and Roy was waiting and helped up get our bags in. The in house restaurant had great food and was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Osprey Room and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much. Our chef has been at the Inn for 3 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westmore
24.1 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
24.3 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
21.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
18.3 mi away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.9 mi away
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
#1 of 3 in West Glover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WilloughVale Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WilloughVale Inn and Cottages

Property: WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Address: 793 Vt Route 5a, Westmore, VT 05860-9464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Westmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WilloughVale Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality awaits you at the WilloughVale Inn, situated in an exquisite natural setting on the shores of Lake Willoughby. Lodging at the WilloughVale is gracious and informal, providing a perfectly relaxed atmosphere for vacationing in all four seasons. Accommodations and Vermont cottage rentals at our WilloughVale Inn include eleven unique guest rooms, four cozy lakefront cottages and four lakeview cottages with all the comforts of home with none of the distractions! Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is truly a wilderness jewel, offering outstanding recreational activities year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your WilloughVale Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willoughvale Inn And Cottages Hotel Westmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing