We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded, beautiful and a definite must”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barn at Roundhurst
Ranked #1 of 20 Midhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Secluded, beautiful and a definite must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here as a treat and, what a wonderful treat it was! We booked the Winter Weekend deal at £150 per person for two nights which included cake and tea upon arrival, supper (starter and mains) on the first night AND five course dinner on the second night. Oh, and both breakfasts! This is great value especially as the food was the quality of that you'd find in a top London restaurant (I have been lucky enough to try many in my work!). We brought our own wine which suited us very well, especially as I was treated to some delicious champagne and wine as part of my treat!

The barn is beautiful and the service is personal. Ellie and Adam (the chef) took great care of us, chatted lots and made us feel very welcome, especially when we enjoyed sitting in the barn by the fireplace which is communal.

Our room was spacious and very homely. Room enough for us to relax on the chairs in front of the tv (though we didnt watch much). There was limited phone reception which was perfect as we wanted to get away from our busy lives in London, however there was wifi in the barn when my boyfriend wanted to watch the rugby game!
The bathroom was huge and had both a tub and large shower.
Even though it felt comfortable, it was also luxurious.

The owner lent us a map for our walks, which we braved in the snow. There's also a beautiful library in the barn with DVDs and board games.

The place is beautiful with great service and totally secluded. We were even treated to some eggs from their farm upon leaving as we had mentioned we wanted to buy some.

There's a great winery not far which Ellie and Adam recommended, also very pretty and we had Sunday lunch at the Noah's Arc, which is one of the best in the area - make sure you book!

Great views from the walks and a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAmyYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
143
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I went to the Barn for Valentine's weekend and had an incredible time. We were greeted by the wonderful Ellie and Adam who made us so welcome and filled us with incredible food that we didn't want too leave. The decor and setting is stunning, the service was perfect. There is absolutely nothing I could fault with our stay. We will back many, many times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

First impressions on entering the barn are how both stunning and at the same time homely and relaxing it is. Upon arrival we sat by a roaring fire and Ellie brought us tea and coffee with the offer of cake. This began the theme of our stay, Ellie and Adam were incredibly attentive without being intrusive.
Our room was fabulous. Underfloor heating, luxurious bathroom, MASSIVE bed - really really lovely.
We stayed for dinner which was steak and was truly lovely as was breakfast. Adam really adds the special finishing touches such as the chocolate shavings on my delivious breakfast pan cakes and the cooked english breakfast my boyfriend ate was apparently 'the best ever'.
I recommend the Barn at Round house and plan to go back again, this time bringing my family. It is intimate and luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdMeister49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I'm pleased you feel we've got all those tricky balances about right.
The real challenge now is to get the balance right between Adam's amazing breakfasts and just the right amount of exercise rambling around the farm!
We look forward to your next visit when we hope we can wow you with our outside spaces and some sunshine. See you soon. Best Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A really special place...warm, comfortable, modern and unpretentious. On arrival Moya and Ellie welcomed us with fresh coffee and cake in the stunning barn and our overnight bag was whisked off to our room. The weekend continued in the same effortless way and we found our room to have everything we needed - and some things we didn't know we needed! Adam, Ellie's partner, is a wonderful and humble chef. We were able to make a few small changes to his suggested menu (due to personal preferences) before we arrived and he produced beautifully presented and flavoursome food...for dinner and breakfast!
We have no hesitation in recommending The Barn...we would love to come again! (And with such beautiful countryside and places to visit so close by...why wouldn't you?!)

Room Tip: We chose a room at the lower end of the pricing scale...it was beautiful and very spacious and we ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Despite all the wonderful reviews we're receiving for the quality of Adam's food, you're absolutely right...he remains humble yet passionate. Like all of us Adam's raison d'être is to ensure our guests have a perfect stay. So pleased you enjoyed yours.
Best wishes Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from the most amazing stay at The Barn at Roundhurst. I cannot recommend highly enough - what a true hidden gem! From the moment you walk through into the main barn, you instantly feel relaxed and drawn to the beauty of the building. We were welcomed by Ellie and Adam and warmed up in front of the fire whilst we took in the surroundings. We were blown away by the room (B6) - it was everything we could have wanted (including underfloor heating, fluffy dressing gowns, homemade biscuits and massive bath). We stayed for dinner and this was out of this world - one of the best meals I have ever had. This continued through to breakfast, absolutely brilliant. We can't wait to come back and stay again!!

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful but B5 and B6 are something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. With all this cold weather we're doing our best to make sure you're as warm and snug as can be...of course a roaring log fire helps. We look forward to seeing you again soon when hopefully you'll be able to take advantage of our sunny sheltered courtyard. We must be due some sun soon. Thanks again for your lovely comments. Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having just spent the weekend at The Barn, I cannot recommend it highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for Ellie and Adam, who greeted us on our arrival. We wanted for nothing! The atmosphere was relaxing and inviting, the accommodation was luxurious and tasteful, and the food was second to none. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellie_osmond, Manager at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us at The Barn, and thank you for your lovely comments about Adam's food and the decor. We work hard to create a beautiful and tranquil environment for our guests to enjoy, whether it's to celebrate a special occasion or simply to enjoy a relaxing break away. We like to think that Adam's culinary creations using lots of our own produce from the farm is "the icing on the cake", and we hope to see you both at The Barn again next time you get to 'escape'! Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A wonderfully relaxing weekend in a beautifully renovated property. We were greeted on arrival by Ellie and within minutes were sitting by the fire enjoying tea and homemade cake. The barn is stunning and has been stylishly furnished by Moya the owner, a charming hostess,who was eager to make sure we were enjoying our stay.
The bedrooms are just outside the Barn in the renovated stable block. Again these are beautifully and sympathetically restored and super comfortable with great bathrooms.
As we were having a post Christmas get together with our children and their partners, we opted to pre book an evening meal in the Barn and how lucky were we!! The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. Adam, the chef, is very talented and there is a real edge to his cooking which extended to breakfast the next morning.
A real gem set in beautiful countryside, great accommodation and wonderful hosts. You won't be disappointed. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emcgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We all really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and thank you for such wonderful comments.
The Barn is the perfect place for family get togethers and we're so pleased you enjoyed yours. Hope you all had good journeys home and we look forward to your next family get together. Kind regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
5.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
18.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn at Roundhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at Roundhurst

Property: The Barn at Roundhurst
Address: Lower Roundhurst Farm | Jobson's Lane, Midhurst GU27 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Barn at Roundhurst 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B, 6 stylish bedrooms and stunning 17th Century Barn housing dining and sitting areas with open fire. 250 acres on the Surrey/Sussex border adjoining National Trust land within the Southdowns National Park,an hour from London and the coast. Original art work, crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury toiletries, TV/DVD. Wifi, ipod dock and even a yoga mat in every room. Breakfasts and supper to order using organic ingredients straight from the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Barn at Roundhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn At Roundhurst Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing