We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barn at Roundhurst
Ranked #1 of 16 Midhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A wonderfully relaxing weekend in a beautifully renovated property. We were greeted on arrival by Ellie and within minutes were sitting by the fire enjoying tea and homemade cake. The barn is stunning and has been stylishly furnished by Moya the owner, a charming hostess,who was eager to make sure we were enjoying our stay.
The bedrooms are just outside the Barn in the renovated stable block. Again these are beautifully and sympathetically restored and super comfortable with great bathrooms.
As we were having a post Christmas get together with our children and their partners, we opted to pre book an evening meal in the Barn and how lucky were we!! The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. Adam, the chef, is very talented and there is a real edge to his cooking which extended to breakfast the next morning.
A real gem set in beautiful countryside, great accommodation and wonderful hosts. You won't be disappointed. We loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emcgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We all really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and thank you for such wonderful comments.
The Barn is the perfect place for family get togethers and we're so pleased you enjoyed yours. Hope you all had good journeys home and we look forward to your next family get together. Kind regards, Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Utterly stunning barn renovation in the beautiful English countryside. It was the perfect mix of luxury aided by Adam and Ellie's food and service which rivals michelin star restaurants and the rustic beauty of the farm. Small touches such as Adams's homemade amaretti biscuits in the room and fresh cows milk for tea in the room in the morning add a personal touch to the luxurious rooms. Will definitely be heading back and have recommended it to all my family and friends. The Website doesn't do this place justice..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiandswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Adam is gaining a richly deserved reputation and his homemade breakfast muffins are definitely worth getting up early for! We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I only have two criticisms of the Barn at Roundhurst. First, it describes itself as a B&B (albeit a luxury one), when it is so much more than that. I would liken it more to a luxury ski chalet - the food is fantastic and you can have dinner too, and the service from Adam and Ellie is exemplary.

Secondly, the photos on the website do not do it justice. The rooms and bathrooms are really lovely - as good as any hotel - and very tastefully decorated. Also the common area, where you can sit and eat is in a simply stunning barn, which has been stripped back so that you can see all of the beams.

Otherwise, the place is fantastic and tucked away in a rural idyll. This would be great for a weekend away (without children) or for six couples to take it over for the weekend. A real find!

Room Tip: Rooms only really differ in terms of size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

It's hard to know how to describe ourselves. Is there a category for 'a bit more than a B&B'!? But whatever we are we try really hard to be the best we can be and it's lovely to see just fantastic comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon. Best Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at The Barn for our wedding anniversary having found it on tripadvisor. It has only been open since June 2012 so there weren't many reviews but they were all excellent. Now I know what all the fuss was about. Other reviewers have already said as much as is needed about how fantastic the service is, the quality of the food (go for the 3-course set meal at £40 - it's a steal), the beauty of the conversion of the Grade 2 listed barn and outbuildings, the attention to detail that ensures guests have a trouble-free, enjoyable stay, the quality of the rooms etc. All I can add is that with only 6 rooms, when word gets around, you won't be able to experience The Barn unless you book months in advance - it's that good. Do yourself a favour and book now. We stayed in B6 which is slightly bigger, but I think that all the rooms are of an excellent standard. One tip - it explains on the email when you book that The Barn doesn't have an alcohol licence, but you are welcome to bring your own. It's a fantastic opportunity to eat wonderfully and accompany it with a great wine you've brought with you for a fraction of the typical wine list price. We were celebrating so took a bottle of champagne along as well. Nothing was too much trouble; champagne flutes, ice bucket etc, all provided with a smile. Moya has created a very special place, which she has obviously worked hard to put together and in Ellie and Adam she has the perfect hosts to run it. We'll be back...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We genuinely want all our guests to enjoy every aspect of their stay and and are thrilled to receive such glowing praise. We're pleased our efforts added to the enjoyment of your celebration and hope that you'll think of us for the next family event. Kind regards, Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were influenced by all the positive reviews on trip advisor but slightly dubious that all the superlatives used in the reviews could ALL be true - but they are! This venue is stunning! The accommodation is superior to many top hotels and Adam's skill in the kitchen surpasses the cuisine turned out in top restaurants. Ellie was sincere in wanting to provide everything we needed for our weekend, but there was no need to ask - everything had already been thought of. This is an absolute jewel in what is already beautiful area. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the basic rooms - but basic it is not - flat screen TV, DVD player, high quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellie_osmond, Manager at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of The Barn; and what a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend stay and Adam's food so much. We hope to welcome you to the Barn again for many more visits in the future. Kind regards, Ellie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have spent two days at The Barn and cannot recommend it highly enough - the location is wonderful with fabulously appointed rooms and Adam, the chef, is top notch - the expertise he shows in his dishes, including his wonderful bread, is remarkable and Ellie gave attentive service in every respect during our stay. Moya, who owns and runs The Barn (as well as the organic farm) is to be congratulated for this venture - she is the perfect hostess. Marvellous!

NB: When leaving the A272, drive through Lodsworth and continue through Lickfold. When you pass the Lickfold Inn, continue straight on for 2 miles approx and The Barn is down a lengthy drive on the left. I offer these directions as signposts in this wooded area are difficult to follow - we were lost for some time!

Room Tip: No room would disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellie_osmond, Manager at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review of The Barn, and for taking the time to write. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your couple of days away with us in Sussex, and hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future - now you know where we are! Best Regards, Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hello
I have just got back from an amazing weekend here with my in laws. We drove down from Norfolk to go to a wedding and decided to stay 2 nights to make a weekend of it. When we drove down Friday afternoon we got stuck on the M25 in really bad traffic as there had been some accidents and we arrived at The barn several hours later than planned. We had booked a light supper up and the staff waited for us to arrive and greeted us warmly and helped us with our bags. They then cooked us a lovely meal at 10pm at night which was very tasty indeed and very nice of them. Our room(b3) was beautiful and very trendy and comfy and everything was top quality. The bathroom was huge with a lovely large walk in shower and a sep bath. There was underfloor heating and the bed was large and comfy. My in laws room was as nice too(b1) but just slightly smaller. Our room was £130 a night and in laws was £110 a night. The Courtyard outside where the rooms are set around was lovely too with bamboo and trees and it was all very tasteful and relaxing and done very well indeed. I felt relaxed and slept well and it was calm and peaceful. The main buliding where the lounge area with sofas and breakfast and dinner was taken was stunning. High beamed ceiling and amazing decor. The staff were really nice and friendly and helpful, giving us directions to places and chatting with us. The service was very very good indeed. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was very good with a huge choice. There was fresh bread and pastries, fresh fruit, jams, cereals, toast and cooked foods with daily specials. One day I had banana pancakes with honey which was delicious and another day paoched eggs on toast. My hubby had a full English both days which he really enjoyed. I also had toast and fresh fruit salad both days which were lovely too.

The Barn is set in a lovely location in the woods. You can do walks and get back to nature and the towns nearby looked very nice and worth exploring. As I did not get time to do either I want to return and explore the area more. I really enjoyed my stay at The Barn and thought it was a stunning place. I was made to feel totally welcome and at home and everything was perfect. I could not fault anything. I loved it and so did the rest of my family who stayed there too. This barn restoration has been done with no expense spared and you can see the love and thought and care that has been put into it. I kept expecting Kevin McCloud to walk in as it is truly a Grand Design. I am going to rebook as I cannot stop thinking about it and want to go back to paradise for a few days. Thanks for making our weekend perfect everyone at The Barn at Roundhurst.

Room Tip: Room b1 and room b3 were both beautiful. b3 was slightly bigger hence the extra £20 per night cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RachNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Manager at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you so much for such a glowing review and for taking the time to write. We try so hard to please and it's lovely to see it appreciated. I only wish we had some control over the M25! If you're ever in our part of the country again we be delighted to see you. Kind regards Ellie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
6.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,096 reviews
8.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#3 of 16 in Midhurst
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn at Roundhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at Roundhurst

Address: Lower Roundhurst Farm | Jobson's Lane, Midhurst GU27 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Midhurst
Price Range: $131 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Barn at Roundhurst 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B, 6 stylish bedrooms and stunning 17th Century Barn housing dining and sitting areas with open fire. 250 acres on the Surrey/Sussex border adjoining National Trust land within the Southdowns National Park,an hour from London and the coast. Original art work, crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury toiletries, TV/DVD. Wifi, ipod dock and even a yoga mat in every room. Breakfasts and supper to order using organic ingredients straight from the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Barn at Roundhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn At Roundhurst Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing