We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappointed, hidden gem”

Faustino's Wine & Tapas Bar
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Midhurst
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never disappointed, hidden gem”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

really friendly, great service, relaxed atmosphere and excellent food - we have been here several times now and it is always so good - we take our 9 year old son and he loves it too - well done on doing such a consistently great job

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Well_Travelled_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Catered for our raudy hen party...”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We came here as a friend recently moved to the area so wanted to try it out (as we had heard good things about it).. And we weren't disappointed.

After spilling through the door with the Bride to Be dressed in tacky treats, the waitress did not even batter an eye lid which we were really relieved about. She tended to us promptly, helped us try the traditional Sangria and tequila shots and then indulged us when we over ordered the tapas. She didn't even mind us having a cake fight.. So 10 out of 10 for service.

The food was average, although a decent selection of dishes, they didn't taste hugely authentic but then the atmosphere really made up for it. We were really happy with the bill and certainly did not mind paying for the quality of service in a nice setting.

The wine was delish too.. from what I remember???!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agen, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and casual dining”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Faustino's in MIdhurst is a friendly and casual faux tapas and wine bar. Although influenced by Spain in it's decor and menu, it is not absolutely authentic but nevertheless provides a good range of tapas style dishes at an ok price. Tapas is not cheap wherever you have it. Do not get carried away, two dishes each and one to share between two is plenty. The house wines are very good if a bit on the pricey side and there are beers on tap. If you have room, the chocolate fondue dessert is a nice treat.

The lunches are particularly good value with a mixed cheese and cold meat starter, two tapas dishes and a glass of wine or beer. Opening at lunch time can be a touch inconsistent though.

It can get a bit rowdy later on and during music evenings but generally it is lively but not OTT.

The current owner had continued the successful formula of the previous owner and why not? If it ain't broke etc.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great for young folk who want to have fun”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you are young, tattoo'd, like your beer fizzy and want a good atmosphere and don't mind food that's sort of average (but inexpensive), then this is the right place. On the night we were there, the bar area was buzzing, and the outdoor smoking area was packed. The restaurant section was about half full but there was a steady stream of people arriving, so it's obviously a popular spot.
The food is just about average - it's a butter served in packets sort of place. But if you are looking for somewhere fun, rather than a having a lovely meal, then it's for you. If you want to sample delicious, genuine tapas, it's probably better to head over to Chichester.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midhurst
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I liked Faustino's good atmosphere. Only dissapointment is the food has gone up for the tiny portions even though they are only Tapas. You can get a full meal for the money you pay for a few dishes of food which never changes much not very good value for money

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faustino's Wine & Tapas Bar also viewed

Midhurst, West Sussex
Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to Faustino's Wine & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing