We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here recently when attending a wedding in the area. It is a great hotel, full of character and the service was very good. Although we didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel itself, because of attending the wedding, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff accommodating and helpful when we requested an ironing board be bought to the room and we needed a taxi booking. The breakfast the next day was of a high standard and we also briefly used the spa which was also very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wonderful many thanks. We look forward to seeing in more relaxed times when dinner and the spa can enjoyed at leisure. Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    240
    89
    41
    36
See reviews for
139
493
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A well proportioned hotel, the staff were always as helpful as possible, and the hotel is an ideal place to stay for this area of Sussex. I did consider that the Resturant was a bit over priced, but at the same time the evening meal we enjoyed was very acceptable. The hotel does have spa and leisure centre facilities but these we did not use and am not able to comment on that aspect. The only problem we encounterd was the fact that there was no running water in the toilet system and had to be moved to another room, that is when we discovered that the ground floor rooms were not as nice as those on the first floor, and not as aired in warm weather.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are better that the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Many thanks for the comments, I will look into them immediately. So so glad you had a great stay. Our warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping Forest, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Spread Eagle, helped by lovely weather and the enthusiastic young staff. A few niggles need tightening up to make things perfect. Management clearly read and react to these reviews so hope this is helpful. Nothing I say should deter you from visiting this traditional coaching inn, where the taps are dated 1901, and you secretly hope that these are the most recent improvements! We loved our room, which was spacious and well appointed with a big comfortable bed. Others have mentioned worn or stained fabrics, and yes, there were a couple of stains on a chair and one on the carpet. These are inevitable in a busy hotel, but they were very obvious and it is difficult to understand why they can't be dealt with immediately with a spot cleaner, just as you'd do at home.

Bed making was perfunctory, with little effort made to straighten the bottom sheet.

We enjoyed the spa pool etc which was very welcome after a hot day out. You need to check times of water aerobic classes, as you may find your swim cut short, as we did one day.

Our one experience of dining turned into one of those nights where everyone else seemed to get served first, and we had some long waits in a not very busy room. Nobody seemed to be in charge, but we were not in a hurry.

We were pleased with our choices from an interesting menu, but a bit more precision is needed in their execution. So, gazpacho served at room temperature on a very hot evening, and fish slightly over cooked to become rubbery, rather than flaky.

Service was enthusiastic but lacked the professionalism you'd take for granted in the most basic restaurant in France. I wasn't happy entrusting our £40 bottle of wine to someone who snapped the cork off in the neck of the bottle and had to be shown how to use a waiter's friend.

Breakfast on the terrace each morning was delightful, and a strength of the hotel is that there are a number of sitting out areas to have a drink, or hide away with a book. Hope to give you 5 stars next time!

Room Tip: We were in Room 1, which is close to the spa and everything else, and nice and sunny in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eppingedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many many thanks for the kind pointers and constructiveness, this is just perfect. We have had a discussion about this today and will steer the hotel in a better direction. Warmest wishes looking for to the return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday in June and had a fantastic stay. The hotel has a lot of beautiful character and the staff were very helpful. Our breakfast was absolutely fantastic.

We also had a spa treatment each. The pool area was lovely but the treatment rooms were a little small (I suppose only to be expected in an old building). I also wrote on my form that I didn't want to talk through my treatment yet my therapist insisted on talking to me. I felt like I had to talk back (not to be rude) so I suppose it was also my fault too! It didn't matter though - it was a very nice treatment but as the spa area is small just don't expect it to be a large 'spa' hotel.

This wouldn't stop me from returning and I would def recommend having a treatment and swim while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria86101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It is nice to have positive pointers and clarity thank you. I will tie up these loose ends and we really look forward to seeing you soon. Our warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for just one night to go to the Goodwood Festival of Speed and thought the hotel was pretty good. It a period place so don't expect too much modern chrome etc but the room (#1) was comfortable, the staff polite and the breakfast spread was great. Enjoyed the free bottle of pressed apple juice! On the down side, I thought it was slightly overpriced as the room décor was a little tired and it seemed deserted of staff after midnight. Didn't use the spa but the pool looked nice - strangely dark blue!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are very light overnight due to the hotel lighting - could do with thicker cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the constructive and helpful comments, they are much appreciated. I will get straight onto it. Thank you for coming and we look forward to seeing you soon. Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a great couple of nights here. The staff throughout the hotel were incredibly helpful, friendly and generous, even letting me have a room to myself in the middle of the night when my friend I was sharing with was snoring and I couldn't sleep. Amazing! Homemade cookies were brought up to our room in the afternoon while we were in our rooms watching the Wimbledon final. Really enjoyed the pool and a wonderful massage at the spa too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TamsinMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
You are so welcome and what a result for the Brits. Thank you for coming to see us and we look forward to seeing you soon. Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We Drove from Wiltshire to Midhurst where we arrived at The Spread Eagle Hotel at approx.: 12 noon. We were looked after exceptionally well and had drinks in the Conservatory. We ordered our lunch and at 1pm we went to the dining room which is very nice and the staff were brilliant. A really lovely old Hotel with lots of interesting bits of history. The lunch was delicious. After lunch we went to Woolbeding Gardens (just up the road) where we spent the afternoon, which was lovely Then back to the Hotel where we had a lovely tea on the terrace and were looked after superbly. The day was just lovely and the weather made it perfect. We shall definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much, we are over the moon and enjoyed looking after you all. The gardens are out of this world and deserve more recognition (as do we!). We look forward to seeing you all so soon, our warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,017 reviews
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
275 reviews
11.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing