We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day out with Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We Drove from Wiltshire to Midhurst where we arrived at The Spread Eagle Hotel at approx.: 12 noon. We were looked after exceptionally well and had drinks in the Conservatory. We ordered our lunch and at 1pm we went to the dining room which is very nice and the staff were brilliant. A really lovely old Hotel with lots of interesting bits of history. The lunch was delicious. After lunch we went to Woolbeding Gardens (just up the road) where we spent the afternoon, which was lovely Then back to the Hotel where we had a lovely tea on the terrace and were looked after superbly. The day was just lovely and the weather made it perfect. We shall definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much, we are over the moon and enjoyed looking after you all. The gardens are out of this world and deserve more recognition (as do we!). We look forward to seeing you all so soon, our warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 880 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Spread Eagle for my God-daughter's christening with her family and friends and it was fantastic. We chose the venue because it was outside London but close enough to be able to easily get there from London, elsewhere in the UK and those flying in to Heathrow and Gatwick, and also because it has just bags and bags of character and charm. The hotel was full to the brim with us and some other people going to a wedding but the staff took it all in their stride and nothing was ever too much trouble, such a friendly and personal service. The food and drink throughout the weekend with the various celebrations were outstanding, the breakfast in particular and I loved the local English sparkling wine, made just down the road somewhere in Sussex. The hotel is dog friendly too so we were able to take our terrier with us, he stayed in our room and we took him for some great walks around Cowdrey Park. The weekend was all the better for fabulous weather throughout and topped off with wins for the British & Irish Lions rugby team in Australia and Andy Murray winning Wimbledon!

Room Tip: Every room is unique, all with their own character but you have to go for one with a four-poster bed...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Such fun and a pleasure to look after everyone here, what a great family. Warmest wishes and thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the Spread Eagle to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We booked with the hotel for dinner, bed and breakfast the night before. Everything was perfect from the service, the bedroom, the food and the spa. Highly recommend it, we feel renewed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fi_O'Shea_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

This such positive news thank you so much. We really look forward to seeing you soon, congratulations and all our warmest wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Superb.Superb, Superb old world faded charm you would have to recreate in a theme park.
I could almost hear Miss Marples knitting needles clicking away in a corner.
Unrushed, unhurried and Midhurst such a delight to explore.
The Spa facilities were exemplorary, beautiful pool and every other whim catered for.
Please take a break here - you won't regret it!
Breakfast was SUPERB.

Room Tip: Our room was traditional and I could not fault it.Bed was superb.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Isn't it great when the sun comes out a fantastic weekend so wonderful to have you here. Thank you so much for the kind comments. We look forward to seeing you soon. Warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at the Spread Eagle Hotel Midhurst. This reservation was made via Secret Escapes. The public areas are extremely good, the restaurant & bar are very comfortable and the food is very good. The only downside was the bedroom in which we stayed, it did not meet up with the standard of the rest of the hotel. The worse part was the bathroom which was definitely not up to scratch. Unfortunately this affects my rating.

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor level are very steep.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I am so sorry to have read the comment and I welcome the praise thank you. I seem to recall the comment over the weekend and I have commenced a plan to approach the issue. It will take a little time but the cogs are in motion. Thank you for the pointers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times now, once for a wedding nearby and recently just for a weekend break as there was a special offer on. It's a fantastic, rambling old building with lots of quirky features. I had a massage in the spa this time and the therapist was really lovely and very good. The spa is a nice spot just to relax and read the papers, even if you're not having treatments. I think the breakfast is very good and we like the atmosphere in the bar but were a bit disappointed with dinner. Still, we'd probably go back and I would recommend if you need a hotel in the area and want a bit of character and charm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beakette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Great to have the comments many thanks. Please contact me directly as I would like help with dinner so we can improve our offerings. We have just changed the menu and for sure there will be some errors creeping in but we will correct them. Look forward to seeing and hearing from you soon warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for just the one night to re-charge our batteries and have a little us time.

It was a lovely hotel. The room was lovely, the staff very welcoming and the breakfast the next morning was superb. We also used the spa both days, swimming, hot tub, sauna and steam room. All were spotlessly clean.

The hotel was lovely, I felt like I could be in the middle of an Agatha Christie film set. Low ceilings, little corridors, Twists and turns. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had room 22 on the top floor. Near to the fire exit at the end of a corridor so nice and quite b...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southamptongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

This is so gratefully received, I am so proud of the spa and the hotel staff thank you. We are so pleased we lived up to the expectation and we now have 5 bubbles with Spa Guide. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
278 reviews
11.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range: $148 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing