We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
hants
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last night for our anniversary (complimentary) we were given the stunning Queen's suite. We had a lovely dinner.... following on from a bottle of champagne. It only seems like yesterday that we were married here! Love the atmosphere and the history of the Spread eagle.

Room Tip: the Queen's suite is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It was so good to see you again and have you stay with less pressure on you both. So pleased you enjoyed yourself and we lived up to your expectations. Warmest wishes from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    233
    85
    40
    35
See reviews for
131
480
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent a week at the Spread Eagle in mid May 2013. We had travelled from San Diego for the wedding of our Niece which was at the hotel. The staff at the Spread Eagle are great. Ted the general manager is very responsive and sets the example for the rest if his staff. Horace was amazing organizing all the details of the wedding which was just perfect. Mario was outstanding. He told us he was retired and just helped out occasionally. However we saw him for breakfast and dinner. Food was great, only one Chardonay but fortunately a good one from Australa. The Spa and pool area very nice. A great idea to have local memberships. Our only complaint was the weather which is not the Spread's fault. We are golfers and despite the weather managed to play 3 rounds. Loved the Spread Eagle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
So great to hear from you both again. You are both so welcome and became the character of the Spread. Please come back and see us and we all had such a wonderful time with you all.
As ever our warm wishes and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our relaxing day in the small but attractive spa attached to the Spread Eagle in Midhurst was a delight. The spa - pool, jaccuzi, sauna and steam room were clean and well maintained. The two included treatments were excellent and the lunch in the restaurant delicious. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpatweybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
This is great news many thanks and looking forward to seeing you again. Our sunny wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The outside of the building is beautiful. I love old buildings so was very pleased. The common areas inside the hotel are beautifully maintained. Some lovely antique decoration, loved it. The room we stayed in was the Garden Room inside the main hotel. It was a massive disappointment. What a shame that the decor, bed linen, chairs and bathroom were so shabby. A lick of paint and some new accessories would work wonders. Why aren't the rooms looked after properly, if they were then this would propel the hotel to 4 star. There is no excuse for the poor and disappointing hotel rooms. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous. The staff were very helpful. The room rate of 229.00 was a disgrace, but needs must, we needed to be in the area. We were hoping that because of the high price, for something outstanding - don't expect that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the comments and a good direction to be taken. We will resolve this and make proper amends. This is of value to me and we will correct it. Our warm wishes and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for the night as part of a spa break. The decor was very cosy and our room was really nice. The staff were very pleasant and did all they could to look after us. I really enjoyed the spa, the facilities are nice and I had a good therapist for my massage which is so important. The Temple Spa products used are very good, I am a new fan!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs15London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Excellent, thank you. So pleased about Temple Spa, look forward to seeing you soon especially as the weather has finally perked up. Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed had a two night stays at this hotel, the breakfast was lovely a good choice of food, and the staff on the Spa were superb, very helpful and very professional,
I will recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a lovely weekend away, it was a lovely romantic break.

Room Tip: The four post room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinidadHuesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Many thanks for the kind comments and words - it is much appreciated we all look forward to seeing you soon, our warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The main parts of the hotel are lovely. Dinner and breakfast were both good and the staff are very friendly. I've also been here on a separate visit for afternoon tea which also was great and set in the lovely cosy lounge next to the huge fireplace, a perfect way to spend a winter's afternoon.

This was my first time staying overnight here though and I was so disappointed. We were given a room in the separate building over the road from the main hotel. This has 4 rooms and ours was on the first floor up a steep flight of stairs which were quite tricky to get up and down with heels on, not the end of the world though as I just went bare foot in the end but for anyone with any mobility problems at all (and we werent asked at the time of booking) the first floor rooms are not the ones to go for. The room itself was very dated and in all honesty was the worst room I have ever stayed in. The old fashioned decor perhaps suited the age of the building but it was also worn and looked tired. The bed felt like a small double, too small for two people particularly since it sat on a sloped floor meaning unless you were on your own and could sleep in the middle of the bed one of you is going to spend the night feeling like you are going to roll out of bed. I didn't get any sleep at all. The bed linen was just a single thin sheet with an itchy blanket over the top, if there had been a duvet I would have tried sleeping on the floor instead.

The bathroom could not have been any smaller and had just a small shower cubicle and toilet. The shower was very old and a bit mouldy, and the cubicle door hit the toilet so getting a towel off the towel rail meant stepping out of the shower, shutting the door and then getting a towel while dripping water over the floor. There was a separate sink in a separate cupboard outside of the 'bathroom'.

Photos of these particular rooms are not shown on the hotel's website. It's a lovely hotel and maybe rooms in the main building are nice, but our room certainly wasn't!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the review I am grateful for this. These rooms are our bed and breakfast rooms, this is reflected in the price. I accept your points and I am looking at ways of amending the difficulties you encountered. There are pictures on the tripadvisor website of these rooms all the same I accept your comment. Thank you for taking the time to mention these points I will do my best to correct them for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
992 reviews
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
269 reviews
11.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing