We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly grotty”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“Disappointingly grotty”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Angel is a 400 year-old coaching inn that must be a maintenance nightmare. Yet does it have to be so grubby, grungy and grotty? The building is an architectural shambles - some might prefer to call quirky yet it doesn’t have a lot of character. It just looks musty and tired. You enter by the side from the car park and you face a half-hearted conference area and a desk strewn with stuff. The brown carpets are old and stained. There are dark corners. It’s not welcoming at all. Then you climb up to your room and you just know instinctively that it just won’t do for £145 a night, which is what we paid for Room 9 on a B&B basis.

The lever for the shower came off in our hands, the tea pot was dirty and cracked, the cups pathetically small, the two biscuits could have walked out the door by themselves. There were steps and furniture cunningly designed to make you slip or bump into. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, the sheets crispy clean and the TV worked well. Wifi failed to work for us until the next morning. All the usuals like bathrobes, lotions and potions were present and correct. The management has some of the details right but need to inject some style and money into the business.

Downstairs I was a bit apprehensive when I saw the open kitchen - a total mess of pots, pans, raw chips, breadcrumbs, a half-eaten lunch, cartons of oil on the floor, greasy surfaces. For heaven’s sake Mr Manager and Mr Chef, if your kitchen is open to view it needs to look spotless and organised! This one looked like a transport caff from the 1950s.

Despite this, we risked dinner which was surprisingly good. Nice fishy starters, excellent lamb. At breakfast the next morning we found a measly buffet without any fresh fruit and a menu for cooked items that was so torn and filthy that I felt I should wash my hands before touching any food.

Despite the pleasing manner of the manager, The Angel really wasn’t up to the mark at all and reading through some earlier reviews I realise that we paid far more than many of their guests. To them it might seem fair value. To us it was a bit of a rip-off.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelmanMidhurst, General Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Pausanias

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Angel. I am very disappointed and apologise that it appears that we did not come up to scratch on this occassion. I am very sorry that you felt that the hotel felt grubby and grotty. Our carpets are only 4 years old and are cleaned every 4 months, but as i have said in previous reviews they do suffer from something called reverse pile a manafacturing fault which gives the appearance of staining, we have had a long battle with the manafacturer to come to a conclusion but at this stage we are still waiting to hear.

As far as your room is concerned I have addressed your points with my maintenace and housekeeping team to rectify the shower and tea pot. I am sorry you did not enjoy our homemade biscuits made fresh every day, normally our guests are asking us for more as they are so delicious.

We are aware that we do operate an open kitchen and oftern between lunch and dinner the kitchen is cleaned to the high standard that we expect, we have been awarded a rating of 5/5 by the local eho for the last three years running, so can assure we take the cleanliness of our kitchen very seriously.
I am pleased you did enjoy the food so much , we felt a little on edge knowing that you had just spent the last two weeks cruising around the med on an exclusive cruise ship and we were aware of the high standards of cuisine you had enjoyed so much.

I am sorry you did not give me the opportunity to recieve the feedback in person as it was me that loooked after you whilst staying at the hotel, we also leave guest questionnaires in our rooms and sadly that was not filled in either.

Please accept my apologies for the experience you received, we are always working hard as a team to look after our guests and exceed expectation as you can see from all the positive reviews we have also recieved.

regards
Richard Macadam

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    91
    42
    9
    13
See reviews for
38
150
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
folkestone England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the Angel Hotel. Although a bit tired the staff were lovely. We had our jack Russell dog with us and found that the hotel was very dog friendly, if I have any comment it would have been nice to have been offered at least a water bowl in the room for the dog. On a very positive note the breakfast was fantastic, good choice full English was huge. Lovely country side for dog walking. All in all a pleasant couple of days away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sijui1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Like many previous reviewers, we took advantage of the £129 2-course dinner, B&B offer, booked direct with the hotel. Mindful of previous reviewers' comments about street noise, we upgraded to rear-facing Premier room (no. 9) for an extra £45. The bathroom has a beautiful view looking towards Cowdray House.
The offer allows any of the numerous menu choices, except the Argentinian steak which is extra. The food & service were very good. Restaurant ambience was quiet but pleasant.
Criticisms are few ... the bathroom water pressure is poor, and the only shower is the fixed rain-type. Bedroom doors need to be fitted with a noise-dampening closure mechanism.
Breakfast was good, but lacked fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went away for a midweek whitsun break staying one night at the Angel ina 'premiere' Room (No 16 ) on a reasonable deal for £176 for two, including two course dinner and breakfast. Extras were for drinks, puddings. The bed was two large singles pushed together and was extremely comfortable. Large ensuite bathroom and lots of thoughtful touches -iron and ironing board tucked away in wardrobe and a good quality fan that we needed as room was quite warm and the fan did not make a disruptive noise! Lovely decor (although an armchair and footstool showed signs of tears and wear, and a nasty ring stain spoiled on a rather nice piece of furniture where the coffee things were laid out.) I was more concerned that these were not pointed out as anyone could have been thought responsible. This is a three star hotel with no lift. I have difficulty clinmbing stairs but this was not too bad and was on the first floor of a newly refurbished annexe. Breakfast not as good as we would expect - hash brown and poor quality sausage variety. Overheard someone say the breakfast at the Spreadeagle was better. Service at breakfast was very poor. I am disabled now and had to get up and find the sugar for an even more disabled person who had porridge ponked down in front of her and the waitress just walked off ad did not reappear and the receptonist had to take over. ASlso overheard row betwene waitress and kitchen staff. Dinner was quite good -but not enough of a range iof starters. My husband who has rather classic tastes found there was nothing much for him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaItaliaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

14 members of my family stayed here in May 2013 and took advantage of the wedding package - basically designed for people who are going to a wedding in the vicinity. We arrived on the Friday night and had dinner in the main restaurant. There was a good choice of food, well presented and tasted really good. We had breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday - good choice of cooked and continental. Our room was one of the suites - it overlooked the main street which was nice and but there was no real traffic noise. The staff were really good, especially Richard the manager, nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived late from the wedding on the Saturday night the porter was about to serve more drink!! All our family enjoyed the experience. The lounge is nice and although there is no pool or gym if you're visiting other local attractions like Goodwood or Cowdray this is a good option.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main road aren't noisy so I don't think it makes a huge difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed one night.
The bedroom was full of character and had been sensitively restored.
The meals were very good in an intimate restaurant (chairs could benefit from some uphostelry care though)
Midhurst itself is delightful with lots of independent shops and interesting walks around Cowdray Park and the castle ruins.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Well located and with good parking this is a friendly hotel. Our Premier room had an issue but the friendly staff and the manager quickly and generously resolved this for us. We had an enjoyable dinner and being quiet and comfortable we would stay here again. 3 stars for having a room problem but 5 stars for putting it right positively and amicably when told.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sanders1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
0.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
825 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
12.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: North Street, Midhurst GU29 9DN, England (Formerly The Angel Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Restaurant and Hotel, ideally located in the centre of the old market town of Midhurst, West Sussex. It offers a unique blend of fresh, contemporary design while paying respect to the heritage of over 400 years of history.The recently fully refurbished hotel now offers 15 stunning bedrooms, a fine restaurant, a more informal coffee house and bar and private function room. Ideal for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Petworth, Uppark, Chichester and South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Midhurst
The Angel Inn Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing