We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I too booked a Groupon offer, did upgrade but that money was largely wasted. The room was surface clean but not really clean. Dust on the headboard, lampshades etc. The room had a chair in it which had a split in the fabric. After our second night we noticed the mattress was badly stained but had simply been turned over, not cleaned or replaced. No pillow/mattress protectors. If anything bed was If anything the bed was too big [you could have got a third person in comfortably !]. Breakfast was fine and the evening meal that we had was well cooked but thought that choice for a non fish eating vegetarian was too limited. In fairness have contacted the hotel since our return and they will try to put right what we felt could have been done better and have offered a discount on a future stay. It was a shame because these are simple things to avoid that detracted from what could be an extremely pleasant stay in a well located hotel and we found all the staff to be friendly and pleasant. It is just a lack of attention to detail and some may say we are too influenced by certain television programmes that encourage you to look deeper than perhaps you would.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevewt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelmanMidhurst, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Steve

Thank you again for your feedback regarding your stay at the Angel Hotel. I have actioned all of your comments reagrding the mattress protectors, I am amazed that you were able to lift the mattress as it is 6ft 6 by 6 ft, I am not aware that our guests would normally look on the underside of our mattresses to check for any marks or stains as there are not any stains on the top side of the mattress, I am very pleased that you did not cause yourself an injury in the process.
I was delighted that you did enjoy so many aspects of your stay especially the service received by all the staff. I do look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Second time at the Angel courtesy of a Groupon Voucher. As last year excellent value for money- food very good, esp breakfast - room clean, tidy and functional if but a little tight in the bathroom. Last year upgraded to premier room (1 night) this year went for 2 nights in a standard room - on balance I belive its worth upgrading that's not to say the smaller rooms are a problem just a little tight on space as you might expect.
Will be back again next year if Groupon does it again - highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was an impulse buy via groupon for a weekend away and what good fortune we had. A lovely individual hotel where the staff seemed pleased to see you and make your stay extremely comfortable.
The room was great, the food was of good quality and well presented. Overall we had a relaxing weekend and look forward to returning for regular short breaks in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A get together with friends meant finding a hotel mid way - this was a perefc tchoice and we had a really good night - very comfortable rooms and food excellent in Bentleys - service was a bit slow but it was a Saturday night and well worth waiting for the delicious Argentinian steaks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a little gem. Accommodation,food and staff excellent and would thoroughly recommend a stay here. The hotel had real character and it's location makes it perfect for visiting local attractions, whether you want culture or a trip to the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazziemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed over on an excellent Groupon deal and didn't really have any complaints given the good value we were getting.

The room was comfortable, the food was ok, and the service friendly but it's not the 5 star experience that some reviews on here would seem to suggest it is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plymouth_pirate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very special, and pretty hotel in the middle of Midhurst. Beautiful old inn which has been tastefully refurbished. Great room, lovely touches, and good comfy bed and pillows.
Food was superb as vegetarians we were catered for and breakfast was lovely.
Great base for some lovely Sussex walking. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Think they're all done out tastefully and high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
0.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: North Street, Midhurst GU29 9DN, England (Formerly The Angel Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range: $122 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Restaurant and Hotel, ideally located in the centre of the old market town of Midhurst, West Sussex. It offers a unique blend of fresh, contemporary design while paying respect to the heritage of over 400 years of history.The recently fully refurbished hotel now offers 15 stunning bedrooms, a fine restaurant, a more informal coffee house and bar and private function room. Ideal for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Petworth, Uppark, Chichester and South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Midhurst
The Angel Inn Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing