We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guillards Oak Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 20 Midhurst B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend when attending a wedding at the walled garden and believe that Guillard’s Oak is everything you could ask for in a B&B:
Spotless
Comfy large room & en-suite
Friendly, accommodating hosts (drove us to the walled garden the next morning to collect our car)
Great breakfast (unbelievable sausages)
Parking
Also has two tortoises!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank markyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lovely warm and friendly 4 night stay in Midhurst visiting family. A pleasant surprise hidden in a quiet area, but close to all amenities. all within walking distance. Well recommended. I had a spacious double room with with ensuite bathroom. Lovely garden and conservatory where breakfast was served. Jenny and Colin very welcoming, friendly hosts. Will definately use again and recommend to my friends. Overall a pleasant stay. Guillards Oak well situated for touring all sites including coast and inland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 399Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A really welcoming place close to the centre of Midhurst. We stayed there overnight having attended a wedding at the walled garden, which is well within walking distance. The room we had was large with all the facilities you would expect, including Wi-Fi, and the ensuite was similarly spacious. Breakfast was delightful, fresh and cooked to individual's liking.

Well worth a visit especially if you need a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Guillards Oak after a day of walking the Lipchis Way. The B&B is ideally located for Midhurst town centre and the spacious room, comfy bed and bathtub were all sights for sore eyes (and legs) after 13 miles of trekking through the countryside! Jenny and Colin were wonderful, friendly hosts and clearly really enjoy maintaining the B&B and chatting with their guests.

In the room was tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits and Colin brought us fresh milk when we arrived so we could have a long-awaited cup of tea. Jenny recommended that we visit the Wheatsheaf pub in town for dinner and we were so gad we took her advice: it was a fantastic meal and the only confusing part is the fact that it doesn't have a listing on Trip Advisor!

Breakfast the next morning was terrific: a big bowl of fresh fruit, a selection of nice cereals and a very well cooked full English to set us up for the 16 miles ahead of us. Jenny and Colin were also both very helpful in making sure we set off in the right direction.

Although we only stayed one night, we enjoyed our time at Guillards Oak and would certainly recommend it, especially bearing in mind the reasonable price (just make sure you have cash with you as they don't take card). Friendly hosts, big comfortable room and a great breakfast: as I said at the start of this review, it's exactly what you want from a B&B!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miranda774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find this B&B in a quiet cul de sac but also so close to the centre of the town. The welcome from Jenny was warm and friendly and the room (the double ensuite) was extremely large with sofa, writing desk, tv and drink making facilities. The ensuite was also very large with bath and shower. The breakfast had everything you could want and really set us up well for the day. We only stayed one night, but will definitely come back again for a longer stay to visit the local attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Three of us went to Midhurst for the Cowdray Castle Ghost Walk at the end of September 2012 and stayed at Guillard's Oak overnight. What a fab place to stay - just 5 minutes walk from the high street and everywhere else that counts. LOVE Midhurst !! Jenny and Colin made us feel very much at home and the whole house has a lovely calm, welcoming atmosphere. The bedrooms are personable and beautifully kept and the cooked breakfast - served in the conservatory overlooking the garden - was to die for! Jenny - we thoroughly enjoyed your food ! In fact we can't wait to go back again and already planning for May 2013.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, Jenny showed us around. As there were 3 of us, we had a twin and a double on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
456 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Jenny and Colin, two very seasoned travellers, made us feel right at home in their lovely B&B. We had a lovely room on the ground floor - very spacious - with a super comfortable bed, a 'desk' to help with writing diaries, and a very large bathroom. Milk was provided for cups of tea together with a flask of fresh water for drinking. Breakfast was custom-made (including a lovely brandy, pork and apple sausage for me) and included a wonderful bowl of fresh fruit (berries, melon, grapes, pineapple etc). Wonderful. This was served in the conservatory with views into the garden where we saw an array of feeding birds and one of the tortoises. And the B&B is only a short walk (5-10 mins) into Midhurst town centre and a number of eating places. Recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midhurst hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#3 of 20 in Midhurst
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Midhurst Town House
The Midhurst Town House
#8 of 20 in Midhurst
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Cottage B & B
Bridge Cottage B & B
#9 of 20 in Midhurst
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guillards Oak Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guillards Oak Bed & Breakfast

Property: Guillards Oak Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Guillards Oak, Midhurst, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Midhurst
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Guillards Oak Bed & Breakfast Midhurst, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing