We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, strange atmosphere.”
Review of King William IV

King William IV
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in West Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, Pub
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, strange atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in a hurry, as we had to pick someone up from Heathrow. We saw the Neon Indian lights outside, so quickly went inside.

The actual decor of the place was weird and to this day, I wont know if it was a bar, hotel or restaurant. I think its a bit of all 3 and to be honest the setting wasn't great. However the place was busy with lots of workmen and also some local Asian familes. So it must be doing something good.

Anyway, we explained we had to be quick and ordered the food. The service was quick and friendly and the food that followed was surprisingly good. Meat tender, curry had plenty of flavour and the Naan breads light. You could see it all being cooked fresh, down the side of the restaurant.

Overall, I wouldn't probably visit this restaurant again, as I live over the other side of London. If you are going out for a special occasion, I think the decor really kills the celebration atmosphere. However if you simply just want a really nice curry, then it's a great place to try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotdog1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pub of excellence”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I found this pub to be very friendly the food was outstanding and it was very reasonably priced if I am in this area again I will come back here without a doubt

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Thai locally and friendly pub”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I live locally in West Drayton and just happened to be passing and decided to pop into this pub for quick bite a couple of years ago, and was pleasantly surprised to find an excellent menu of Thai food along with the regular pub grub (if Thai isn't your thing!!) and I haven't stopped going back since. I've not had a better Pad Thai since!! If you want excellent authentic Thai food at reasonable prices then this is the place. The staff are very friendly and helpful and regular customers are welcoming. It was an exceptional find and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the pub and the food. They have a big screen TV for showing sporting events etc but they have a separate restaurant area in you want to dine away from the hustle and bustle of the pub. What are you waiting for? Give yourself a treat!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fran_ad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! Great value and service with a smile”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for lunch here with the mrs and ordered the ribs which were excellent, the mrs had an excellent portion of fish and chips which was cook very well and not over cooked like some places we've been before. The beer was cold and perfect. Will definitely be stopping in again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moto1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thai Green Curry was excellent, can recommend, ideal if your staying at the park inn!

Helpful?
1 Thank 944Sljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King William IV also viewed

 
West Drayton, Greater London
West Drayton, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to King William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing