We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value real Italian food!”
Review of Il Basilico

Il Basilico
Ranked #40 of 62 Restaurants in West Drayton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Devizes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value real Italian food!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We chanced upon this place a few years ago when staying at the Park Inn opposite. We found it to be good value, real Italian food. Now, when we fly from Heathrow we always eat here if staying the night before. We drive down the road from the Premier Inn (whose restaurant always seems busy and hectic.) The kids have pizza but there is also a good choice of pasta. Staff are lovely with the children. It is nicely busy, we've never had trouble getting a seat but there are enough people there for a nice atmosphere, despite the fact it is basically in a strip mall - don't let that put you off! Parking can be a bit tricky outside but again, we've always found a place. All in all, we have probably eaten here now about five times and never had a dud meal. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2beesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    43
    22
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Finally ! A reasonably priced, family friendly restaurant near Heathrow”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staying overnight before a flight ? Got kids and dont fancy a pub or McDs ?
Try Il Basilico. Pizza, Pasta in large quantities and good quality. Decor is plain, simple and welcoming. Very child friendly. Very reasonable beer / wine and sodas etc, unusual in a close-to-Heathrow location.

There is a small supermarket next door and a couple of off-road parking spaces; but if you have managed to squeeze your car into a hotel parking space and dont want to chance the move it is easily accessible off the Bath road; walkable from many hotels and you can use the "free-bus" routes along the Bath Road if you dont want to drive. We staying in the Arora and walked - footpaths and crossings the whole way. We needed the walk back to help the digestion. The pasta was very filling.

It is labelled on Google maps.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Liquorice2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had an enjoyable experience at this restaurant, food was very tasty the only down side they kicked us out at 10:30 while we were still drinking our wine so no chance of a coffee or dessert

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swalesBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definately better than Marriott”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just a five minute walk from overly priced bought in crap. This cafe/restaurant has great food at great prices, non pretentious and served with a smile. Only critism the music and the bright lighting....forget the chain hotels come here for good grub!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielsonArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden little pizza place”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

While staying at the nearby Renaissance Heathrow hotel, I found this little pizza place behind a gas station and across from the Park Inn. Great pizza at a great price, and the people working there were pleasant to deal with.I didn't try their pasta, but I saw other diners ordering it. It's not a 'fine dining' kind of place, more like a beer and pizza place. I would say it is 'New York Style" pizza. That is exactly what I had been seeking. I eat here often during my once a year trips to the UK, and I plan to keep returning in the future. It sure beats hotel food and prices!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Basilico also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hayes, Greater London
Hayes, Greater London
 
Hayes, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to Il Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing