We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smell of tobacco is just all over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed July 10, 2007

This is one of the worst hotels that we have stayed recently. Most annoying is the smell of tobacco everywhere, you start to feel it as you go through the hotel's longish corridors. We were given the non-smoking room but it made no difference.

Windows DO NOT open, there is no ventilation in the room at all, the double room was small, little sun comes in as there is water condensation on the inside of the window.

Air conditioning is outdated, an old window type unit with terrible noise, we had to switch it off to be able to sleep. Poor sound insulation, everything heard from the corridor, as those who arrived recently, complain and swear about the hotel's conditions.

Staff is helpful but really very slow check in.

Furniture has to be replaced really, worn out.

The only bright spot was the bathroom room which was clean, and the shower had enough water.

Breakfast is alright, full English, and the restaurant door open so you can get some fresh air in the morning. I did not try any facilities as stayed just one night, but the swimming pool and the gym are located across the road, about 3-4 min walk from the hotel.

Will never stay again in this place at any money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank air10kuzya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,578)
There are newer reviews for Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,412 - 2,418 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2007

I was very shocked at this hotel and how tired and worn out it looked, the rooms were very small and just needed a complete make over. It could be a very nice hotel if the money was ploughed into it, there are better hotels to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This place was a good place to rest up after traveling throughout Europe and before heading back to the US. The staff is very friendly and polite, however, I extremely annoyed with our first night. We had requested a non-smoking room and ended up with a room engulfed in smoke! When we notified the staff about it, they simply said, "It was a request not a guarantee". I was not at all happy about this. There weren't any more rooms availabe that night and we weren't about to search for another hotel in late at night. Therefore we had to stick it out. The windows don't even open!! I felt like I was going to keel over.

They did switch our rooms the next day but still charged us for the horrible first night!

Overall, if you are not a smoker and cannot stand it like me, be sure to confirm with them through telephone before you check in!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank novicetraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

After we booked this hotel via Priceline we immediately went to trip advisor to see what we were getting into. We were leary given the nature of the negative reviews we read, but we figured that we could tough anything out given the fact that we were only going to stay there one night on our way back to the U.S. The hotel is very close to the airport and the hotel "Hoppa Bus" was very reasonable at 4 pounds per adult (my 10 and 5 year old children rode for free.) The staff was very efficient and helpful upon check in. Priceline did not indicate that we would need a room for four, so we were booked into a room with one queen sized bed. The staff made sure we hade two roll-away beds, which fit fine into our room, problem solved. The room was very clean and comfortable. The shower control took some figuring out, but worked wonderfully once we solved the mystery. The thermostat regulated the temperature well and we slept like logs. Check out was a breeze and they even offered to call a cab for us. Do not let the exterior turn you off. One thing we found out about the two hotels we have stayed at near Heathrow, is that outside looks are deceiving. The Thistle screams 1970's Ramada/Holiday Inn from the outside, but once you step in to the lobby, the picture changes to one of a well maintained, up to date hotel. The only negatives we were aware of were the lack of an ice maker (for us soft Americans) and the lack of an elevator, a bit of an issue with our overabundance of luggage. Otherwise we were very happy with the Thistle and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klawilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We booked a 1 night package for the night of our arrival from Australia because the hotel is very close to Heathrow Airport and we were to pick up a rental car the next morning. It is a very average hotel with a congested reception area. The room was clean but in need of updating. Whose idea is it to put rubber duckies in the bath, they are so kitch!!!! The breakfast was adequate however the dining room is hidden away upstairs.
There are better hotels to stay in around Heathrow.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank Kiwiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

A really grotty hotel - looks like a concrete bunker from the outside, and not much better inside!
Our room (a double) was absolutely tiny - could barely manouevre around the bed. Not clean, furniture worn and tired, and the bathroom looked like it had been kitted out in the 70's.
Restaurant very overpriced, with the most disgusting creme brulee I have ever tasted. A packet of crisps would have been more satisfying than my dinner.
Parking (included in the price) was not easy - they clearly overbook, and expect you to park on verges and any other space available (although a huge staff car park was almost empty). We booked a taxi to the airport as the check-in man had told us this would cost £9, as opposed to paying 2 x £4 for the airport bus. The taxi was 15 minutes late, and we were charged £15!!!!!!!!!!!! (I would have handed the driver a tenner and run, but only had a £20 note).
Have stayed in the Heathrow holiday inn for a similar price (also with free parking) and it was way, way better in every respect. Do not stay here unless you absolutely must!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Booked through hotelsclick.com. Good price including breakfast for overnight stay.

Check-in - no probs.

Hotel only has 2 floors, so your room might be a very long walk from reception - ours was!

Room - quite small, decor dated, VERY clean, firm beds,TV, tea & coffee, hairdryer - all you would need for an overnight stay. Shower great - powerful and hot.

In-house restaurant - very disappointing. Recently decorated so decor
is good, very slow service (and they were not busy), poor selection on menu, astronomical prices. I did not ckeck first, but the room-service menu was much better, and very reasonably priced. There are pubs / restaurants just a pleasant walk away from the hotel, if its not too late in the day.

Breakfast upstairs on first floor although the breakfast room was difficult to find, it was the BEST breakfast I have ever had. Full selection - English, American, Continental - and the hot food WAS hot, bread fresh etc etc. Waitresses lovely - friendly and helpful.

TIP: although the hotel is on the Hotel Hoppa route (£4 per person each way), the Hoppa points at Heathrow are difficult to find if you are tired. We took a hackney cab, which was very expensive - agree the price first! There is a small notice in the cab saying that you must tell the driver if you want to go down a specific route, so we might conclude that the driver will take you the most expensive route
if not told otherwise. We seemed to go round and round the circular road at Heathrow! Hoppa back to the airport the next day was no problem, but we did have to ask the driver which terminal he was at as he just stopped and waited for people to get off without making an announcement.

Good luck - enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Jo-Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing