We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,473)
Filter reviews
3,473 results
Traveler rating
540
1,161
962
451
359
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
1,161
962
451
359
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pod service heathrow pod planes landing runway view car parking an overnight stay sat nav leave your car one night stay days parking bar and restaurant flying from heathrow good nights sleep pods terminal driverless transfer
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 3,473 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2018

very nice hotel comfy beds and good food brilliant has nice view of terminal 5, also has POD unmanned train for only 5 pounds to the terminal car park charge are 10 pounds per night very happy will stay again

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank narciso59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindafarley, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the friendly service from the team and found the location and parking facilities of the hotel convenient for easy transport to the airport via the Pod. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and the view from the Runway View Restaurant.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Next time please visit our website for our parking packages and sign up for special member offers.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

4 of us stayed here in two rooms and were very impressed. The reception staff were friendly, the bedrooms were clean and tidy. The restaurant and bar overlook Terminal 5, when in the restaurant you cannot hear the aircraft taking off which is great. The bar prices were pretty good and the the food was decent too. I would stay here again and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Either car park view or airport view.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jsyht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindafarley, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the friendly service from the team and found the location of the hotel convenient for easy transport to the airport. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and the view from the Runway View Restaurant.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Next time please visit our website for our parking packages and sign up for special member offers.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Good no nonsense hotel near Heathrow airport terminal 5 which was ideal for catching an early flight.Parking was a bit difficult but that was due to a large wedding taking place in a function suite. Eventually found a car park with plenty of spaces after driving around the hotel.Not sure what else to say actually.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BillB57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindafarley, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the friendly service from the team and found the location and parking facilities of the hotel convenient for easy transport to the airport.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Next time please visit our website for our parking packages and sign up for special member offers.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

We had booked this hotel as it was cheaper than some of the long-term parking. But when we went to park in car park A and was thinking that we had made a mistake as there is no separate long-term parking but was told try car park B which was empty and has its own separate entrance to the hotel lobby.we had a second floor room so we had just an overnight bag and left our main suitcases in the boot of the car until the morning. the hotel has only 2 floors and no lift so take note if stairs are not your thing. when is checked in our car park ticket was marked as paid and told when we return after our trip to exchange this to be able to drive out again. We were also given the code for the rear gate which lets you go into the long-term parking and get on the pod to go to terminal 5.
so the room which was very clean and very well soundproof with very very good airconditioning it was a hot night outside 26c we did not want to eat a full meal and in the bar/lobby area there is a food a go so just had a sandwich and soup all very reasonably priced. next morning had the very good buffet breakfast all part of the deal. took the bag out to the car took the suitcase out locked the car and walked around to the gate for the pod which was waiting into the pod and to the terminal took door to door less than 10 mins. our return unfortunate was to terminal 3 which meant we had to use the Heathrow express train back to terminal 5 and then the pod which was no fault of the hotel.but this took ages with up and down in lifts waiting for trains etc.
We would use again

Room tip: ask for a first-floor room if you cannot do stairs but breakfast is on the 2nd
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royce2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindafarley, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the friendly service from the team and found the location and parking facilities of the hotel convenient for easy transport to the airport via the Pod. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and the view from the Runway View Restaurant.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Next time please visit our website for our parking packages and sign up for special member offers.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

This is a very conveniently located hotel for T5, and for that reason alone can be recommended.
The rooms are dated but clean; ours had a fridge, which is always very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the windows are very well glazed to ensure you don't hear the aircraft outside!
General hotel decor is dated and for families with large suitcases it should be noted there are no lifts.
The bar area / restaurant is pleasant and has excellent views of the runway.

The main criticism I have is the pricing policy with regards to the pod - the staff are obsessed with charging you for it, literally to the point where, when we were buzzed in via the gate from the carpark, the very first thing we heard from reception was not "welcome to Thistle T5" but "please come to reception where we will charge you for the pod". I also think it is very unfair to charge children the same price as adults - what this means, in effect, is that a family of 4 will end up paying £40 if they arrive and leave via the pod. As such I recommend the reception staff rein in their enthusiasm for extorting money from people when they've just arrived...

I already know the hotel will respond by saying they don't keep the money and that this is passed on to Heathrow Airport, BUT if that is the case:
1. Why does it matter how many people use the pod? Surely you should be charged per pod (or per room booking) and not per person?
2. Please provide some form of proof that the money is indeed being given to Heathrow Airport and that the hotel is indeed required to charge per person.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Adskimatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindafarley, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location of the hotel convenient for easy transport to the airport. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and the view from the Runway View Restaurant. We are working hard to improve the standards of our rooms and facilities.

The hotel has access to the POD as agreed by the Airport this access is chargeable and we have negotiated the lowest charge possible. The fee is per person not per Pod. The hotel pays £5.00 per person per journey to the operator, the facility is a huge advantage for the hotel as we are able to offer a quick direct connection. However we do not profit directly from the journey sales these are all collected on behalf of the operator.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Next time please visit our website for our parking packages and sign up for special member offers.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews