We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews make this out to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Wyboston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the reviews make this out to be”
Reviewed April 14, 2006

Check In

Very quick girl behind desk was friendly and booked a table at the restaurant for us, sorted out our car parking

Room

Room was fine nice big double bed, clean and tidy

Bathroom had all we needed and was clean.

Restaurant

Food was nice service ok reasonably priced for a hotel.

This hotel is very close and convenient to Heathrow Airport of course there will be airplane noise if you dont want this then go somewhere further from airport.

We were pleasanty surprised having read all the negative reviews. I paid £77 incl 21 days free parking I would use again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gillmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    795
    760
    381
    326
See reviews for
299
955
361
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

We stayed 1 nite for price of £62incl per rm bkd on internet - you get what you pay for I guess.
Check in staff - were young and not that great.
The rm - after reading reviews I was dreading staying here, but the rm was sufficent, bathroom is v.small indeed - and in all the hotels around the world I have ever stayed in never have we seen a sign on wall saying pls shower with door closed and steam can set the fire detectors off! How odd. The ducks dont need to be in there, very silly indeed.
Rm service - very prompt.
Car parking - do not park here, they wanted to charge guests £7 just to park the car. Better and cheaper to park on street outside the sports centre opposite.
Breakfast - gd value for money if included in rate but note worth £12.95Check out - very fast indeed.
Restaurant - we didnt use, we went across road to Sheraton Hotel, wld defo reccomened this for lunch/dinner/coffee etc very gd value for money.
Mcdonalds is also across the road from hotel.
Overall -this is hotel needs a whole moderisation, particular the bar on 1st flr as it has fab views of the runway but shabby and old tired interiors which let the hotel down. It is not a 4 star hotel at all, and I would class it as 3 star only with many areas needed to improve upon.

Helpful?
11 Thank Woochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2006

I stayed at the Thistle before going to the states on holiday and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of accomodation on offered.

The hotel is right at the end of the runway and has views of the new terminal 5 and landing planes, though to be fair you can hardly hear the planes at all.

If plane spotting's your bag, the hotel breakfast bar has superb views of the runway. I didn't eat there but they leave the doors open all day so you can get some good kodak moments without paying the slightly extortionate £12 for breakfast.

The pear and avocado restaurant was nice and the waiters courteous and friendly. If you want a cheap meal or snacks there is a McDonalds and a Texaco garage about 2 mins away.

The most confusing bit about the hotel was the air conditioning system, which I seemed to make go either too hot or far far too cold. I'm sure there's a nack to it - if you have a degree in quantum physics.

Also the corridors go on for ages and ages and ages and you can get very easily lost!

But these are very minor points. If you are looking for a straightforward place to stay before or after your travels that is clean, provides tea and coffee making facilities and friendly helpful staff, you could do a lot worse than stay here.

PS did anyone else get a family of rubber duckies in their bathroom? cute.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Islands Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

Hotel allowed me early check-in 0730-which was great-room was large clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable-I will be back

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LetsGoWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

Do not stay at this hotel

This hotel is not worthy of it's stars. You would not expect this of hotel chain like the thislte. Hotel run down, food terrible. Reserved a Double which turned out to be an interconecting room. The noise from the Jets was ok but the noise from the cleaning staff and the adjoining rooms was bad. Not was you need before you have a 17 hour flight. Poor hotel

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2006

Having read reviews I arrived at the hotel feeling uneasy but then I should have not worried. Access to the car park was by ticket and i was able to set down my partner and luggage before finding a parking space. I was able to find such in the main reception area but there are plenty of overflow sites which are accessed by exiting the reception area at no charge. The first hours parking is free and this allows for exiting to find alternative parking at the rear of the hotel.

The reception area was inviting and we were soon booked in and with porterage found our room on the lower level. It was spacious and had an air conditioning unit. The temperature outside was -1 and i soon set the controls of the system. It must be remembered that any alterations to the settings of the system take approx 20 minutes. during the night it became too warm so the system was switched off and i switched it back when receiving our wake up call.

We did not try the restaraunt but this is one of the few hotels in the area where you can eat off site. turn right out of the grounds and in approx 500metres there is a McDonalds or turn left and within a few minutes you can sample the delights of the local hostelery.

Being alongside the runway aircraft noise was expected but to be honest i did not notice any and had a very undisturbed night.

Transport to the hotel was by hoppa Bus operated by national Express and our journey to terminal 3 was completed in approx 10 minutes and on time.

security for parking was excellent and on our return from our holiday saw us booking in for an overnight stay.

Could not fault the accommodation or transport and would mention that the hoppa service is provided by BAA and out of contol of the hotel.

Would definitely use the hotel again and highly recommend. We were booked in for i night and 23 days parking at a cost of £135 and the additional night on return added £54 to the bill. Excellent value but one problem Why do the bathrooms have a family of yellow plastic ducks???

The bus sets down and picks up at the reception area in the Hotel Grounds and is designed for conveyance of luggage. If you or your family are keen aircraft spotters the hotel has a viewing platform and the services of a health club opposite the hotel are included in the charges.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank davidsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2006

We chose this hotel as we were in London for just a few nights and had an early flight home. It's a short taxi/ bus ride from the airport but allow an hour or more to get in to central London. It is an older hotel but is cheap for London. The rooms are large and comfortable. Staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. A hot buffet breakfast was included.

Helpful?
3 Thank worldcitizen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing