We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't complain !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't complain !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

Stayed here for one night prior to an early morning flight at Heathrow.
Reception was busy but staff were polite, the room was fine, bathroom a bit small.
Helpful staff arranged a breakfast box for us as we had to leave prior to breakfast commening ast the hotel which i thought was a nice touch.

Overall, can't complain !!

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — car park charges
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freebysuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    732
    713
    366
    315
See reviews for
281
880
343
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

I stayed here with my daughter for one night having returned on a late night flight. Check in was quick and we were asked if we wanted help getting our cases to our room. We declined not realising the length of the journey we would have to make! We were warned there was no lift but thought we could manage one flight of stairs. What we weren't told, however, was that the corridor was very long, dark and narrow with more steps along the way. When we did eventually reach our room, we struggled to get both ourselves and our cases inside as the room was TINY! There was just enough space for one person to stand between the end of the bed and the work surface and it was difficult to find room for two suitcases. The decor was dingy and tired to say the least. The shower worked well but it was best not to look too closely at the state of the tiles and floor. We went to the bar, which was pleasant to sit in but the prices were very high - to be expected I suppose in an airport hotel. The beds were comfortable enough and we weren't troubled by aircraft noise but given the availability of other hotels in the area we didn't think this hotel was good value for money and is barely 3* standard so we won't be staying here again.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — Everything really but especially: tiny room, dark & dingy everywhere, tired decor, long trek to get to room
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DynamicDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed at The Thistle Heathrow prior to a six night trip to Boston.
Having not flown out of Heathrow for a few years, i was surprised by the prices i was being quoted for an airort hotel/parking. In the end i had to plump for The Thistle mainly based on that!
I arrived fairly late in the evening to find it hard to find a parking place at all! After a few minutes driving round the front and back i found a spot suitable. Your car will not be moved, as they dont even take the key!! They give you your car park ticket to keep so you can have it validated upon your return, so you can exit the barrier.
After a fair trek to check in, i was greeted by a fair queue, but as there were five or six people on the front desk the queue diminished fairly quickly and i was on my way to my room.
Now i've stayed in a fair few hotels and this is definately the smallest room i've ever stayed in!! There are two single beds in there, and i have no idea how they get them in, but as its only for one night i guess it doesn't matter that much. In all fairness it was pretty clean, hence why i give it a three.
As far as transport to the airport, a taxi will be cheaper and quicker if you are in a small group as you can obviously split the cost, being a single traveller i took the Hoppa bus option which is four quid each way. You will also have some other hotels to call at for pick ups as well so the journey may take a while. Make sure you remember what number Hoppa you get on so you can get the right one when you land back at Heathrow. I sat on the bus today for a couple of minutes and was amazed how people had no idea what number they needed!!!
All in all, yet another competent airport hotel, nothing special, but does basically what you require of it pretty well.

  • Liked — Speedy check in.
  • Disliked — Size of the room...It was tiny!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WILLYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff , South Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

This is a good 3 star hotel. Don't expect 4 star and you won't be disappointed. It is on two floors with no lift but staff will take your luggage to your room. There is a nice restaurant and refurbished bar/lounge with Sky Sports and brown leather sofas etc.
Rooms are adequate with room service if you want it.
Plenty of onsite parking and very close to airport and on hoppa bus route.
Would recommend this hotel if you don't want to pay a lot more for four star. It's a good 3 star and ideal for a less expensive one night stay.

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — It wasn't a four start but I didn't pay 4 star rates.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

Stayed here several times when leaving for an early flight. Always a good choice if you want to park a car for the duration of your time away.

Terminal 5 is 10 minutes away by Shuttle, or save yourself £4 and get on the number 423 bus just outside the entrance of the hotel. It runs every half hour and like most other buses going into the Airport from the Bath Road, it's free.

If all you want is one night before a flight, it's a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Needed a last minute hotel to stay in close to Kew and chose Thistle, Heathrow as it was one of the best priced. Breakfast was included and was available 5.30-10.30 and half-hour longer at weekends. Nowhere else we've stayed has served breakfasts for over 5 hours! Quality, variety, quantity and service all first class. The listed price was just under £20 each - we did so well as our stay for 2 people was only marginally more than that! We were surprised about the £8 overnight parking fee, but I guess that's normal for hotels in tht area. Room average size, usual facilities, heating noisy but effective. Rather worn look about the place, but then it does cope with large numbers of people. I'd def stay there again if a similar offer came up.

  • Liked — The quality, variety and service at breakfast and long hours it was available
  • Disliked — Obviously the aircraft noise, though this wasn't bad after 11pm
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed here for one night before a USA holiday.

Check in: the check in was fast and the receptionist was reasonably friendly and spoke adequate English.

Room: the corridors are dark and look very dated. The room was tiny (I guess normal for an English hotel) and we had trouble finding a place for our suitcases. There was a flat screen TV, a tiny and not very clean bathroom (there were a few pubic hairs on the walls) and the beds were okay.

Over all: it is an adequate place to stay for one night if you do not pay more than £65 for the room as the hotel feels dated. However, the receptionist waived the £8/night parking fee for us which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing