We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tiny Room”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed here for one night before a USA holiday.

Check in: the check in was fast and the receptionist was reasonably friendly and spoke adequate English.

Room: the corridors are dark and look very dated. The room was tiny (I guess normal for an English hotel) and we had trouble finding a place for our suitcases. There was a flat screen TV, a tiny and not very clean bathroom (there were a few pubic hairs on the walls) and the beds were okay.

Over all: it is an adequate place to stay for one night if you do not pay more than £65 for the room as the hotel feels dated. However, the receptionist waived the £8/night parking fee for us which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    801
    767
    384
    326
See reviews for
310
957
362
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I stayed at the Thistle for one night and was allocated this hotel as I required overnight parking. The car park was very busy and it took an age to find a space I was suprised to be charge £8.00 for overnight parking even though I was staying overnight at the hotel.

The Thistle looks a little like a prison block on arrival and is situated at the end of the runway so can be noisy.

The room (316), on the ground floor, was small but perfectly adequate for one night. The bed was comfortable and the pillows clean.

The bathroom was small and looking 'tired' around the edges. You had to sit at an angle on the loo due to the positioning of the toilet roll holder.

The corridor was being refurbished and there was a strong smell of paint throughout the ground floor.

Breakfast was overpriced and not of particularly high standard.

  • Liked — Walkers Biscuits
  • Disliked — Trying to park
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We decided to book a night at the Thistle since we had an early flight from Heathrow the following morning.

We got into the hotel at about 2pm after a reasonably easy drive to find the place. There was loads of parking and we managed to find a space not far from reception. Our booking also included a weeks parking at the hotel. Booking in was easy and after a climb up some stairs (no lift but not the most difficult climb to do even with a suitcase) found our room.

It was small but well formed, clean sheets, a comfortable bed and the soundproofing, though not obvious, must have worked because I fell asleep easily and didn't get woken by a plane all night, even though they were coming down right over the hotel.

We ate at the restaurant in the evening - reasonably good food but typically expensive prices. Also we hadn't booked breakfast which was a bit of a mistake because it set us back almost £20 a head!

The journey to Terminal 4 was easy. We could have got the bus to any of the other terminals for £4 each and then taken the free airport shuttle to the terminal but as we were waiting for the bus a cab driver offered us a ride directly to the terminal for slightly cheaper than it would have cost by bus.

All in all it was a pleasant stay, our car was exactly where we left it when we got back and I would book again without any reservations about doing so.

  • Liked — The peaceful night's sleep
  • Disliked — The price of breakfast!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmalteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We arrived quite late for check in on a Sunday night. There were two employees on reception and they took quite a while booking in the people in front. The hotel lobby and bar looked nice and modern, although shut by time we arrived.

The corridors looked a bit shabby and I didnt know what to expect but our room was very modern and clean. However, after a short time I noticed so many design faults of the rooms. The rooms are small and so no room for your suitcases (at an airport hotel?!). Things are hidden in drawers and wardrobes so you have to go hunting for towels. The shower is small and triangle shaped so not easy to wash without continuously knocking your elbow on the hand rail. A shaving mirror directly above the sink so you bang your head when you wash. Maybe Im being picky!

Overall, it was a good overnight stay and is very close to the airport - only cost £12 taxi from terminal 3, on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Soft_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Booked and pre-paid for a night.
Arrived to find they had no rooms left (I was one of many who had problems that night).
They sorted another hotel for me - but it took 2 and half hours and I got to bed at 1:00am.
The hotel they transfered me to (The Park Inn) say the Heathrow Thistle regularly overbook - the next time I stay at Heathrow I will cut out the wasted time and book the Park Inn.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elderslie, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

The hotel was an easy but expensive hoppa bus journey to and from T5 (£12 each way. £4 each , each way for my husband, 16yo son and myself-my daughter was free as she's under 14). Would recommend a private cab, we found out later this would have cost around £6. The receptionist we spoke to was not overly friendly but this was probably due to her lack of understanding of the English language. The hotel was quite shabby, the public areas especially corridors leading to bedrooms could do with full re-decoration. There is no lift which would be quite inconvenient to travellers with a few bags. The bedrooms were small but clean and well decorated. The Full English breakfast was excellent and was served in a lovely large dining room. The hotel has use of the amenities of the Health Club across the road which was definitely a bonus. There are a couple of pubs just a short walk along the street offering decent pub food rather if you don't fancy eating in the hotel.

  • Liked — Close to T5
  • Disliked — Condition of decoration
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sapphiregirlkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel for conventions held in the function rooms many, many times before. Each stay has been tolerable, but something always happened the ruin my stay, be it fire alarms going off until 3am, rude and unhelpful staff, crabby bathrooms and a general bad attitude towards the convention attendees (as though we were substandard hotel guests!).

I dreaded going back this year and ended up being very, VERY pleasantly surprised. It started with the check in desk. I wish more than anything I got the name of the guy who checked us in because he was friendly, polite, funny, sweet and very helpful. He made us welcome and had a friendly joke with us. It was like invasion of the body snatchers compared to the po-faced staff I have dealt with in the past. But it was lovely to be treated like a paying customer.

Next surprise was when we weren't sure where our room was and another friendly hotel guy appeared, grabbed out bags and led the way. He was asking us what we were there for and chatted to us the whole time - he was lovely.

We got to our room which was fantastic - lovely furnishings, a huge flat screen TV, great toiletries, tea & coffee etc and totally fabulous comfortable beds. The shower was great, the bathroom spacious and clean. And the best part? It was hot and there was amazingly cool air conditioning. You couldn't hear the planes taking off, so it was a restful sleep for us every night!

The breakfasts are The Thistle were always great and continue to be. Full cooked English, toast, pastries, fruit, tea, coffee, fruit juices, cereal....everything you need for the day with great views of the airport from the breakfast room. The bars, function rooms and reception were all as clean and well staffed as ever.

Checking out was as painless and hassle free as checking in and we even opted to pay the extra £25 for the late check out (I believe it was 4 or 5pm?) Bargain and so worth it!!

All in all this hotel seems to have had a complete face-lift. The staff were amazing, the room was fabulous and the overall feel much better. The convention goers were finally treated like paying guests and it showed. I would go back again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone needing an airport overnighter - it's perfect.

  • Liked — The room was comfortable with elegant, classic quality furniture and the beds were ultra comfortable
  • Disliked — Honestly - nothing!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NottinghamLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.3 mi away
Ibis London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing