We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Its OK and Clean”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed at the Thistle Hotel Heathrow on Saturday night 14th December.
I travelled with a friend on an organised Coach trip (Newmarket) from Devon to see a Show (War Horse) and overnight stop then London shopping on the Sunday.
On being sent our itinerary, I looked up the Thistle Hotel on Trip Advisor and was very worried by the many poor reports. So much so that I telephoned the Travel firm and told them my worries. The firm said they had not heard anything negative, which further worried me as some of the people who had written about the Hotel also said they were on coach trips with the same firm as us.

When we arrived our Rep got off and collected our keys, which were then handed to us, all very efficient. We then collected our luggage and there were a couple of members of staff at the door to welcome us and explain where our rooms were located. Mine was on the first floor and number 366. I suspect that the coach trips that obviously use this hotel get the smaller not so good rooms. However mine was adequate and more important very clean, although there was a damp smell, perhaps from the air conditioner. The bathroom was small, a bit old and tired but ok. One thing I particularly dislike is showers over baths with a nylon shower curtain, as this one had. As soon as one begins to shower a breeze seems to wrap the curtain all over you and you just cannot help wondering how many other people have experienced this same curtain around their bodies!
Reception area was light and airy. We agreed to meet with a couple of others at the Bar. This just has to be said, I asked for a glass of red wine, the small glass of red rather flavourless light wine I was served cost £6.50! A real rip-off.
We had great trouble locating the restaurant/dining room. Some of our party went upstairs and turned the wrong way so ended up in the doorway of a wedding party. They were told to go back downstairs. Eventually we did find it but it was not at all well signed. The restaurant is beside a runway and had spectacular views as planes were taking off the next morning. It was amazing that we couldn’t hear a thing.
As our coach group arrived we were told to go down to the other end of the dining room to sit. My friend and I did so and then sat at a table for two by the window. A waiter (tall chap) came and told us to go and sit at another table with four other people from our coach already seated there. I said that we wanted to sit where we were and that we did not know those people. To which the chap replied, “Well now you can get to know them” and stood there waiting until we moved. To our annoyance a few minutes later two other people sat at our table and were left there. We did not get a menu as other paying guests but were told to help ourselves to a buffet. The starter was a salad or soup – the soup was very nice. Main meals were three to choose from; a pasta dish, chicken pieces or a large fish cake. The vegetables were all obviously frozen processed ones and the potatoes were not cooked through and tasted terrible. There was a plate holder, which should have served, warmed plates, but it was not turned on so the plates were cold! There was a frozen cheesecake and frozen gateaux for desert.
We then went to our rooms and one thing worth mentioning is that the double-glazing is not very good as these rooms look out over a car park so you can hear cars moving and aeroplanes too. All though the night people were arriving and going, and the room doors are heavy fire ones so bang loudly to shut. Some people are also quite thoughtless and call out to each other for all to hear, and at 2am a toddler was running up and down the corridor with it’s noisy parents.
One good thing is there is free WiFi in all areas of the hotel.
The following morning we found the restaurant but had to join a very long queue to get in. We had been told to arrive at around 8.30am but some people were told to come back in twenty minutes time. Again we were told to sit the furthest end of the room. Breakfast was very good with a fruit and continental breakfast, selection of cereals and dried fruits and cold milk, fruit juice, pots of tea or coffee and the usual cooked foods. Also a toaster for toasting brown or white sliced bread. Before arriving I had booked that I needed gluten free bread etc. I had asked for that type of bread the evening before and it was produced without any problem. So when I asked for some for my breakfast I was surprised to be told they didn’t do any. I pointed out that I had already been supplied with some the night before and eventually the waitress produced two very small slices for me. Again we had to queue for ten minutes or so to get the hot food and then some of the dishes were empty and although I stood there for a further ten minutes no one came to replenish them. The dishes for the food on the buffet were rather small for the volume of people who were coming through the dining room and the chefs appeared to struggle to consistently produce enough bacon, fried eggs etc. However it was delicious.

So like most places there are plusses and negatives. The main good thing is it was all very clean, and the staff was mostly nice and willing to help. So I would go there again but check whether there were “better” bedrooms.

Room Tip: I was in 366 overlookikng a car park. Perhaps the rooms opposite mine would be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    795
    760
    381
    326
See reviews for
299
955
361
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Arrived here just after 11pm and despite the restaurant being closed, the staff contacted the kitchen and had a very nice tikka masal brought up to the bar just for me! Superb service from the staff!
Rooms are a little tired and could do with being rejuvenated but for a bed for the night it was ok. Room was clean, bathroom also clean with fresh towels, everything there that would be expected and in good working order.
Staff also recommended travel to Terminal 5 the following morning by "Pod" which cost only £5 instead of around £20 for a taxi!
Would recommend for a short stay and am certain you'll find the staff giving a warm and friendly welcome as I did. I would stay again without hesitation and look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocheeLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here night before we flew out of Heathrow. Staff were friendly and helpful. Ate in the bar, which as you would expect bar food to be, didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Caught the pod connection to the airport which only took 5 minutes although wasn't working when we returned back, not the hotels fault though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel is in a quiet location very convenient for Heathrow. Hotel Bus from all terminals go to the hotel receiption forecourt. Good friendly receiption staff. Open plan receiption/bar/lounge area with 2 computers for general use. Receiption staff were kind enough to print some documents for me. Common parts really need a re-vamp as tired and old fashioned. Our room was small. Double bed in room was small double not King size or American standard but very comfortable. Extra pillows in wardrobe. Coffee & Tea making facilities and WIFI in room. Bath and shower - [we were on the ground floor (only 2 floors) ]shower power was strong for but took a while to fill the bath. Bathroom could do with updating but loved the bath to relax after a long flight. Room/Bathroom/Common Parts clean. Various size meeting rooms most with natural day light. Breakfast on 1st floor without lift so if climbing steps is a challenge then this might be cause for concern. We took breakfast at 9am and had to queue for 20minutes to get into the restaurant then once seated had to queue again for 10mins to get to the breakfast buffet for breakfast (full English - great breakfast, good sausages, bacon ecetera but no tomatoes on offer when we queued, maybe they replaced them after we left...baked beans, hashbrowns etc... plus choice of "make it yourself" toast, cereals, fruit, yoghurt). All in all - good value for money but the breakfast was extra and although delicious probably not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, bathtub and free tea. Tv and working aria. Great breakfast buffet, English and continental. Friendly staff Free fast WiFi and free bus only two stops away if you go from bus-stop 6 at the airport. Perfect hotel for a short stay close to Heathrow airport!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Widowdotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a package on a weekend trip to London. The hotel has a well presented reception area and restaurant but the outside and the bedrooms are a little tired. However it was clean. The food in the restaurant is delicious and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a bit chaotic with a lot if residents. We had to queue to get in and then again fir food. It wasn't very organised. Great location for watching the planes from the airport.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ktewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a coach trip to london , On arrival my first impression was staff helpfull, however there is no lift so if you have large suitcases bear this in mind, However staff will help if available, The only concern was the noise of the aircraft going over hotel, But i did not hear any from midnight till later on in the morning, so may be the aircraft is diverted after this time? My room was comfortable, & clean, & a good view of the run way to heathrow, The restaurant is rather expensive, So i walked across the road to Mc Donalds,The breakfast was good, except they had covers over food & small pans so had to restock quite often & the food was not very warm, I did notice that there is a pod from the airport direct to the hotel which cost £5 per person which must be handy if needed,
On the whole i had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 175 down bottom of corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing