We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times. The reception etc area isnt too bad but the rooms are very run down. Bathrooms could use a good clean and maybe some repainting. The rooms and bathrooms are small. Breakfast is ok. Overall not the worst, but if you can find somewhere else for the same money, do it. A lot of airplane noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfriniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    769
    739
    375
    323
See reviews for
294
929
352
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Booked this hotel for night as I had to pick up my step-daughter from an early flight. Compared to other hotels this one is definitely in the category of you get what you pay for. The reception/bar area is quite modern and fresh but the corridors could do with some updating, the floors are very creaky! The rooms are small but perhaps adequate for a one night stay. I wouldn't want to stay in my room during the depths of winter as the heater did not work and continually blew out cold air when switched on and it was a wee bit chilly. The kettle, tea/ coffee etc are hidden away in a drawer and I think they could make it more prominent to save on searching all the cupboards. The room itself was clean although the towels could do with renewing. The car park is secure but you do have to pay for this privilege £10 for parking overnight,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I did not like much about this hotel other than its proximity to Terminal 5 at Heathrow. Check-in on two separate one day occasions about 10 days apart was slow and cumbersome. It seems that the owners have not upgraded their computer software this century. The halls are dark, the rooms are small, the bathrooms need renovation, and the linens need replacing. The restaurant was okay in the evening, but the lounge lunch during the daytime was only adequate. The second stay involved taking a day room during a stopover in London between flights. We ordered a 'wake up' call which never arrived. Thank goodness we had a backup alarm clock with us.
In the final analysis, this hotel has location, and not much else to recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

For the reason I gave the hotel two star instead of one is that it is located nearby to the airport and the room rates were pretty reasonably priced. Now, putting that aside, the cliche comes in that you get what you pay for. Quite ironically we had just stayed in the Thistle Hotel in Middlesbrough which was very clean and nice. We booked the Thistle Heathrow for an overnight stay before we caught a connecting flight the next morning.

The hotel is definitely not walking distance from the airport, but it is very close and a Shuttle transfer can be purchased for 4GBP. The shuttles run very regularly and the front desk and help you figure out which shuttle to take to get you to your terminal of choice.

As for the hotel itself, you could tell that the hotel has been around for some time by the style of the room, especially the bathroom. The smell of the room was a bit stuffy. The biggest complaint was the hot water in the shower. The water would either be extremely hot or extremely cold. When you finally got it to adjust to a right temperature not to freeze or scorch your skin, it would randomly revert back to being all cold or all hot again.

Seeing that we got in the hotel at 11pm in the night,and needed to be up by 3am the next morning to get ready for our flight, we did not have time to call the front desk so they could fiddle with shower because we needed to get some rest. I bared the extreme hot and cold water to shower that night and in the morning. Thistle, I hope not all of your rooms are like this!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salhouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Finding the hotel can be a problem using Tom Tom but google maps got me straight there
Car park looks safe and secure my car was fine no damage 11 days left on site.
The outside of the building is a little tired but inside is very pleasent the room I stayed in was clean comfortable not new but ok.
The food and bar is good a little expensive but you are only 10 minutes from terminal 5
All the staff are freindly and helpful, buses every 30 minutes and when you return to collect your car its the first stop on the route which is nice for a quick getaway

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly for the best price on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Decent overnight stay. Friendly staff and good food at the restaurant. However , awkward arrangement of the rooms. Simple things like phone should be closer to bed and not enough space between chair and legroom under table make the hotel somewhat frustrating to spend more than a few hours in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Thistle Hotel Heathrow is to be avoided at all costs. It is exceedingly noisy due to the proximity of the runways. The staff, while friendly for the most part, were generally not well trained, and perhaps the computer system was not well designed.
The room was very small and smelly.
They charge 10 pounds per day to park.
It costs 4 pounds each way to take the bus to the Terminal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asodeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing