We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free night + parking made this OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Thistle hotel LHR-Travel to LHR T1
Stayed here as part of a Holiday extras park and fly package. I got this free due to their price guarantee, otherwise I probably would not have stayed here as we were due to leave from T1.

Hotel is nearer T5 than LHR T1-3 and is off a small part of Bath road. Room was tiny but adequate for a one night stay arriving late and leaving early.

The LCD TV and free Wifi helped to lift the tired decor and miniscule bed and bathroom. Long dated corridors and no lift.
Parking was way behind the hotel and could meant a long walk through the back door and then back to the room.

Staff were helpful and polite. Didn't eat here as arrived late and left early.

The hotel is served by the expensive Hoppa bus to all terminals, however there is a bus stop yards from the hotel from which you can catch the free 423 to T5 bus terminal. From there you can get the free tube (need Oystercard) or free Heathrow Express to the other terminals if needed.
We did this very early 05:45 IIRC and the bus was almost full at the Thistle stop. It did not pick up at the next stop, so beware this may happen if you get the shift workers going to T5.
Took about 20 minutes to get to T1 using this method.

It is possible to get direct to T1-3 by catching the 75 or 76 along Bath road but the bus stop is further than I care to walk with a suitcase (and wife!) and involves crossing the busy Bath road
One can also catch 423 towards LHR from the bus stop outside the Thistle but then you need to get off at either the LHR Police station stop and then wait for the U3 or get off at the next stop (Sipson road) bus stop, cross the road and catch another free bus (140, 111, 285,555) back to to T1-3. Too much hassle IMHO.

On returning from T1 we caught the 75 from the LHR bus depot (full to the brim with shift workers at 18:00) and got off at the bus stop opposite the Sheraton. This was free and it was a short walk to the Thistle down a side alley.

Overall not perfect for T1 but as it was free worth the slight hassle and we saved £18.00 compared to the expensive Hoppa.

At the right price this hotel is OK for a one night pre early flight from T5 with parking.

Stayed March 28th 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,904 - 1,910 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked the Thistle Hotel as a 15 day park and stay package prior to holiday to USA. Was slightly worried about reviews on trip advisor but as only staying one night was not overly concerned. On arrival at hotel it looks a little like office buildings and could honestly do with a little sprucing up Check in was easy and we were given instructions on where to park the car which is actually on site at the hotel car park and you retain your car keys so it is not taken any where else. Room was a little tired but was adequate for what we needed. We did eat from the bar menu which was ok but pricey. The bar and restaurant overlooks the runway at terminal 5 and the views of the planes landing were fantastic. Used the hopper bus to and from terminal 5 with no problems with pick up and drop off at hotel. Had a great deal and we would not hesitate to use the Thistle again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling through Heathrow.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel badly in need of refurb, decor very dated and tired, room small, bed small (although comfy), shoddy finishes (tap in sink broken, water didn't drain away well. The rooms are very randomly numbered and it was easy to get lost in the rabbit warren of corridors. We ate a buffet style dinner in the Longford Suite at the adjacent conference centre, food not great at all. The dj at our after-dinner disco was very average and had an unfortunate habit of managing to put a record on to kill the atmosphere. Breakfast very disappointing too. The only redeeming feature of the stay (apart from the company!) was the service from many of the staff. They were friendly and tried hard to please. Location good for Heathrow and breakfast room looks out over T5.
No lift so difficult for people who are not so mobile or have lots of luggage.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

We are in the process of updating all of our public areas and bedrooms. Although this has been a long process, we are working through this as quickly as possible. I do hope that you will continue to use the Thistle brand and possibly give us the opportunity to welcome you back to experience some of the changes that you are helping to influence.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of all this hotel is adjacent to the runway. Its catering for a certain client who needs a stopover before flying from Heathrow. Its cheap and you get what you pay for.

The rooms are tiny! It felt like a Travelodge and the rooms were basic with nothing special. You certainly would not want to stay here more than a night.
TV, small bathroom, not much else!
What you do get is Parking, we stayed for an overnight before our flight to Malta and the main reason was for a morning flight and 8 days parking which was on-site. No moving of your car, its parked where you leave it.

The Hotel Hoppa is run by National Express - its a £7.50 return to drop you off a the Terminal. The payment is done from machine which does except cards. The bus runs every 30 minutes.

I would say this hotel is more convenient if you are going out of Terminal 1 or Terminal 5.
We went from Terminal 4 and its the furthest away (although hotels located on Bath Road are even further).

The best part of this hotel for me was the bar and restaurant. Massive and plenty of tables.
London prices though for food and drink.

Its alright, its cheap, its an airport hotel. The main use was to get 8 days parking and not rush around negotiating M25 in the morning. To that end it did a job!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Thistle London Heathrow. As you mentioned, we are constantly improving our product and hope that you are able to return in the future to experience the changes that we are implementing.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Late decision to stay here so I could pick up family coming in from the USA on an early flight. I know deals can be got if bookings are made in good time but this was far too expensive for the average standard offered by this hotel. My room was clean enough and it was quiet but customer service throughout the hotel is clearly not their strongest point. Waited 2 hours for Housekeeping to supply towels and reception failed to take any action to make it happen. No duty manager was there to complain to (or so I was told) Quite frankly I have stayed in better Premier Inns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beemermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay. Your positive comments are most welcome. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting all your expectations during your recent stay. Our customer service is normally an area of real strength and it is disappointing to hear your experience was so different. I will be addressing this with the guest relations team.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked as had early morning flight and needed parking too, price for this was good value.
Room was clean, though bed more like an occasional double, and very uncomfortable. Bathroom was clean though very small and showering for a 6 foot man was tricky!
Used restaurant but wished we had gone to local pub as was very expensive and poor quality, pork was like leather and suet pudding did not resemble any suet pudding I have ever seen!
If you eat before you arrive and are only 4 foot tall then hotel is fine for one night if you are a heavy sleeper!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeks_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for a good hotel close to all the Heathrow Terminals with good transport connections then the Thistle is a good find.
We stayed there for two reasons other than using the Airport. We were going to be in the area and I like to watch aircraft !
Rooms are adequate if a little dated and small, but ours had all the facilities we needed [ free wi-fi], including an excellent view of the landing runway!
We opted for the 'special offer' three course dinner in the restaurant which was exceptional for the price, good variety and served hot. The view from our table was an ever changing view of the airport.
Be prepared to pay £10 to park overnight or if staying w/e or bank holiday parking is free on the road.
A most enjoyable Easter Sunday.

Room Tip: Didn't see a lift so if you have a lot of luggage, go for a ground floor near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing