We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It dont get any better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It dont get any better”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed at the Thistle the 15th and 26th March nothing was too much trouble,the staff were supurb,very friendly and most helpful.The hotel was clean,rooms excellent,no complaints at all.
Being a disabled person one of the staff "Pritesh" was so kind and conciderate,helping with bags etc that he deserves a special mention.The hotel is close to Heathrow,very accessable and the Hoppa bus is frequent and quick,no doubt about it next time I fly from Heathrow the Thistle is the hotel for me,ps you can leave your car there whilst on holiday all in all excellent

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 552selwyn552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding Thistle London Heathrow. It is always nice to hear positive reviews regarding the property and our staff. We pride ourselves on our customer service and as General Manager, I am please to learn that you received this level of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    748
    725
    370
    317
See reviews for
285
899
348
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

On approach the hotel looked very dated and very 80's- it's clear it's not had much investment and needs it. The key card was a piece of ripped paper stapled together to hold the door key. It's ok if you want to be near the airport and are flying out early in the morning but if you want a lie-in forget it as the hotel is literally right at the end of the runway. There was an event at the conference centre the night before and the floor was absolutely covered in cigarette butts which had not been cleared up by 9am the next morning. Service is basic and almost all seem very miserable. Rooms are OK and were clean but are just very tired and dated like the rest of the hotel. The only saving grace is the location of the restaurant overlooking the airport which looks lovely in the sun. The quality and service is just not quite what you expect from a Heathrow Airport hotel. If you can afford better than I would recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
We are doing our upmost to update all areas throughout the hotel including our guest bedrooms and public areas, which we know will modernise Thistle London Heathrow.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view overlooking the runway from our restaurant.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were really disappointed by the size of the bedroom and the bathroom. They were both very tiny and the bedroom felt very damp. We stayed for one night and, at the risk of sounding very harsh, I couldn't wait to leave the room. It is in a desperate need of redecoration.

The staff at the reception and in the dinning area were polite and friendly. The breakfast buffet was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJR03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay due to the quality of you room.
I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and polite and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.
We hope to see you again in the future for you to experience our improvements.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Thistle Heathrow is tucked away off the A4 and all the better for it.
The hotel is therefore quiet and peaceful and a haven away from the bussle of the airport although is close enough with regular shuttles that all terminals can be reached pretty quickly.
The staff I came into contact with were great. Helpful, friendly and efficient but willing to take the time for a few welcoming words.
The standard room I had was not overlarge but was perfectly adequate and the same could be said for the bathroom. The independent room heating and air con unit meant that each room could be controlled to suit the occupant. Finding your room could be a bit of a challenge so my tip is to look out for the plan on each floor. I wish some other hotels would follow this example.
There is plenty of parking even though this comes at an extra cost of £10/night although there are deals for longer term requirements.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. As General Manager, I am always happy to hear that our staff have made a difference to our guest’s experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle London Heathrow in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel needs a complete refurbishment. Our room was small and depressing with the hem of the curtains hanging down. The bathroom is so small that the door hits the front of the toilet when you open it. The corridors were dull and uninviting.
Breakfast was pretty good.
The young man on reception was extremely helpful when I wanted to check in for my next day's flight and print boarding cards, and let me use the computer in reception rather than pay the very high price to use a computer available elsewhere for checking E-mails and other more time consuming purposes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback regarding Thistle London Heathrow.
The hotel is currently going through a refurbishment to improve the bedrooms and public areas.
I am glad you found our reception staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back in the future to experience the improvements throughout the hotel.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I wish i could find something positive to say.... It was cheap but deservedly so. Reserved a double bedded room and got a really dreery twin room where the beds were worse than old. Did get moved but had to help with that.... Holding open the fire doors and lugging my luggage. Trying to turn off the shower was akin to trying to cap an oil well.... I just wasn't strong enough and left water dripping. Internet card would not work and i was refused a credit. So paid £10 for something that was useless. Very disappointing. Only bright spot was the young man who helped me change rooms. He was nice, friendly and nothing was too much trouble....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It is with observations such as your own that we are able to improve the product and service.
I am happy to hear that you found our Porter to be helpful and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow to experience any upgrades which you will have influenced.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very tired rooms but I understand they are to be refurbished. Ours was awful had a big hole in the wall. I must say they were very clean though. Reception staff very polite and welcoming. Bar was buzzing with fellow travellers nice to have a drink. Car parking service very good. Hoppa bus very efficient, on time, easy ride. Good job we only had one night there! Think next time I would pay extra for a better standard of hotel. Didn't let it dampen our holiday spirits though!! You get what you pay for!!!

Room Tip: Don't think there is one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as you mentioned, we are in the process of updating our public areas and our bedrooms and hope that you will be able to experience these changes when you next stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle London Heathrow.

Kind regards

Paul Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing