We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 4 West Drayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A never to be repeated experience. We booked this place for our last night before flying out of Heathrow. We were shocked and I had to go on to the internet to check we were in the right place. The photos were not a true representation of the surroundings nor the bedroom we were in. Perhaps they were taken a very long time ago. Yes, I know it's cheap, but the overall state was dreadful. Positives were nearness to Heathrow - about a 10 minute drive or you could go by bus. The breakfast was very adequate with a lot of choice and ours was well cooked and presented. The towels were clean and the single beds comfortable. But, old, shabby, dirty, mould in bathroom, wallpaper peeling off the wall, dirty carpets, used tissues in the bedside table, dirt under the bed, sticky tables in the dining room. The bedside table and draw was filled with a variety of reading material and I wondered if we had put someone out of their room. Reading material is nice to offer but really belongs down in the lounge/dining room.

Next door to a very noisy pub and on a very busy and therefore noisy road, but they can't help that. No lift, and we didn't expect that but difficult to carry heavy suitcases upstairs. Car parking was directly outside the place on the pavement. We wondered if our car would be there in the morning. There were a number of takeaways and restaurants in the immediate vicinity but we didn't really feel safe walking the street. To add to our concerns we had been quoted a price in GBP. This was taken from a debit visa card that had British pounds on it. However the amount was then converted into our own currency and then back into British pounds resulting in an increase in the cost. A discussion with someone in the office about this was to absolutely no avail and obviously the maxim of 'the customer is always right' was not known. This B and B may be suitable for young people doing a backpacking holiday and looking for cheap accommodation but as mature travellers we feel very misled by the photos we looked at and also the range of reviews which suggested that this B and B was way more than we found it. Caveat Emptor - let the buyer beware. I took photos of the shocking state of the room and ensuite but I don't think they should be shared.

Room Tip: Consider your definition of a good room. If you don't care about the state of the room we were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
suemissen,
We’re sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We have to represent very different room type photos, showing better quality Superior Rooms alongside cheaper Budget Rooms described with ‘older décor… old wallpaper’ which offer great value, including Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Parking. Location is perfectly safe and nice within the environs of Heathrow and London, with the convenience of having these nearby. Given we are in London here, it really isn’t representative to depict the street as unsafe to walk or leave your car on, that’s excessively disproportionate: West Drayton is becoming a young professional commuter town, but as always it depends on what you are used to.

Apologies for the cleaning errors, we have addressed this with our cleaning ladies – however we genuinely do regularly get reviews completing our cleanliness. Our Budget rooms do have older décor, but we are upfront about this - they ‘do the job’ for value conscious customers - and they are priced very low against the market accordingly. The vast majority of people are very happy staying in these Budget rooms, (with frequent and regular long-stay, repeat customers) given the value they provide and the overall package we offer, including the location and amenities of English Breakfast, fast Wi-Fi and Parking included in the price.

Currency conversion is set by the banks and is beyond our control, but our GB Pound room cost is not increased to the customer: this is a misunderstanding. Our office reception would simply be unable to assist on this particular currency conversion issue, but that would go for any hotel too. We have asked the pub to address the noise and they have responded. We do not feel the road is very noisy for the area, and people have actually reviewed us as ‘quiet’. Again, we are in London. You say yourselves you are ‘mature travellers’ and as such we apologise again for the discomforts you felt were experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    52
    14
    17
    14
See reviews for
29
47
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having booked this accommodation several weeks ago for a one night stay on Monday 01/07/13 plus parking for 4 days, a voicemail message was left on Friday 28/06/13 to advise that the room was no longer available - without explanation, just suggesting Travelodge as an option.
I was unable to get through until nearly 6 p.m. and was told that "rooms collided".
Whilst trying to explain the difficulty this had left me in - particularly as it left only 3 days to find alternative accommodation, the phone was put down!
Prospective guests should be aware of the extremely unprofessional way this was dealt with.
I am at a loss to understand how anyone in this section of the service industry could deal so rudely with a justifiably unhappy customer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalriada6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dalriada6,
Apologies for your experience. Your original enquiry came from another person’s mobile, with no credit card to confirm, nor any other contacts supplied. We contacted the number several times for a card to confirm the booking, but got no response, so were limited to voicemail: unfortunately an online agency booked our last room, confirming before we could reach you, due to the speed of internet bookings.
With 3 days before you required a room we finally got a voicemail response from a mobile phone we were later told was your husband’s. All we could do was phone this number and with no answer we had to leave a message that your booking had not been confirmed and we could not provide a room with all your requirements of parking etc.
Your final call to us was through another mobile number and our assumption was that you had ended the call or that there was a mobile system disconnections.
We apologise again for the misunderstandings that occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The reviews were certainly misleading on this one! We saw no evidence of the "people that care" so many reviewers talked about - the two people we saw barely spoke to us. What we did see was a worn out guesthouse with old, stained bedding, beds that were broken so they wobbled all night long, and walls that were dirty and desperately needed painting. The whole place needed a deep cleaning.The wifi didn't work.To be fair, it is close to Heathrow, the breakfast was decent, and the shower worked. We were booked in the standard not the superior rooms (they were the only ones left) - maybe the other ones are better, but given the overall disrepair of the place, I doubt it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacati0nplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
vacati0nplanner, sorry for your experience. Our good reviews are true, not misleading. Apologies, without 24 hour reception, we can’t always greet everyone personally. We’ve 2 different room types, Budget rooms are no frills, priced accordingly: walls are not dirty, wallpaper merely older, described thus ‘older décor… old wallpaper’. Our bedding isn't stained, we’re addressing bedframe mentioned. Building improvements are planned. Our Superior Rooms are quite different and offer better quality. The Wi-Fi has been given a lot of attention: new top-end equipment (Draytek) now runs at the fastest fibre-optic broadband speeds (BT Infinity 2) but you were there on the one day so far that this new set up hasn't worked. Our internet uptime since equipment upgrades has been pretty close to constant. We do put a disclaimer on websites that we can’t be held fully accountable for internet reliability when dependent on British Telecom: personally we've yet to experience anyone who can always guarantee 100% constant internet reliability. We will address renovations and interior décor as soon as time and finance allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we rarely book anywhere without checking reviews on trip advisor and not been dissapointed until now , after seeing reviews we booked a one night stay at oakwood and heres my "total loss" this place is terrible the outside yard /car park shouted warning it is a tip/junk yard, the whole place is in desperate need of a major revamp, wallpaper falling of off walls carpets dirty and stained , last reviewer complained "dirty" while they were right, if the cleaning ladies are doing a good job !!! why did we find dust and dirty tissues left on floor and in drawers??, a window was broken and could not be closed and the wardrobe doors were completely missing !!! my wife refused to use bathroom !! i deceided to be brave and shower guess what no hot water!!!, the breakfast was acceptable but cooked by a guy that had on a dirty paint splatter tracksuit that he greeted us in the day before, yes for london area it was cheap but be warned it really is bad. we will never return,

Room Tip: choose somewhere else to stay !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Kenneth B, we’re sorry you were disappointed. Our car park presently houses building materials for onsite works. With 2 different room types, our cheaper Budget rooms are described thus ‘Budget level room with older décor’ and ‘modest rooms have old light green wall paper’: they offer value, including Wi-Fi, English Breakfast, and Parking in price. Superior Rooms are quite different. We acknowledge Budget rooms need interior re-decorating work: we intend to as time and finance allows, and we do price these rooms low relative to the overall local market accordingly. The walls and carpet are not dirty, merely old, we always describe them as such, and we always try to show photos for the Budget rooms along with Superior Room photos.
We have addressed the issue of tissues with our cleaning ladies, but in general people find our rooms clean and while we acknowledge we have slipped here, we do actually often get reviews mentioning cleanliness.
The window is quite clearly not broken, you simply lift the lock handle a little to shut it, it may have moved over time but does not require any great effort at all to close.
This room mostly serves one-night overnighters, and the cupboard doors were removed a long while back for quick access to clothes shelves and this is the first time it has received comment: we have other rooms with closing cupboard doors where long-termers stay.
We have addressed the issue of staff clothing with them. Regarding hot water, it has never, ever failed us, this is merely a misunderstanding: it is simply due to needing to run the tap slightly longer in the rooms furthest away from the boiler.
Many enjoy staying with us and appreciate we offer great value for the overall package relative to the London and Heathrow market, including easy access to the Airport (around 5 minutes’ drive) and London, plus fast fibre optic broadband Wi-Fi, full English Breakast and parking included in the price: we averaged the price you would pay for these 3 amenties across local properties including big branded chains and small independents, and you would typically expect to pay around £30 on average as an extra cost for these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First, realize this is not a chain motel, so do not expect it to be the same. It is a small guesthouse run by people who care about their business and clientele. Yes, it does look like the picture on the website, but that does not do it justice. A reservation was easily made via email. Email responses were quickly returned. A credit card was taken only to hold the room, but you can also pay by credit card. The guesthouse run by Patricia is very near Heathrow airport and a good value. The airport is easily accessible by car or taxi. It took less than 15 minutes to get to the car rental return at Heathrow. Upon arrival we were met by Tom, who quickly checked us in and asked if we needed anything including directions. Tom, addressed our needs and printed directions for more than one location for us going to and from the guesthouse, he also made some very helpful suggestions. He explained the free, secure car parking for us as well. If you are arriving late, information as to how to access the building and your room will be emailed to you in advance, you just need to let them know your approximate arrival time, as the desk is not manned 24 hours. The room is small, but comfortable and the ensuite bath was adequate for our needs. The shower was very nice. Our room was clean and the only thing I found lacking, was a hair dryer, so you might want to inquire if one is available before hand or bring your own. We didn't use it, but I think Wi-Fi is available. The next morning a full breakfast was served which was included in the room rate. We found Oakwood a relaxing, clean and enjoyable place to stay near the airport. It was nice to have easy access to the airport, but be away from the hustle bustle of airport hotels. It provides the basics and what more can you ask for when you just need to sleep, clean up, eat breakfast and head to the airport. We are planning a trip back to London and will stay at Oakwood because it has easy access to the train system and will eliminate a need for a car around London. Keep in mind, again this is an older guest house, but the quality of service cannot be beat. It is great to support those small business people in their efforts to compete. They work very hard and I find generally always go steps beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks guys, we enjoyed having you stay with us. We always have hair dryers on hand for customers to use. Just to clarify, our En-Suites don't have a bath, but they do have a shower. Hope to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this b and b the night before his flight. The staff were helpful however the room was very dirty and dated and not worth the money we paid. The only positive about this b&b was that the bed was comfortable. There was no underfloor heating as advertised with the superior room. The location was very convenient to heathrow airport.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjones9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks cjones9, we can’t know which room you were in, however it’s extremely surprising that you say it was dirty: our cleaning ladies are a reliable bunch; ‘very dirty’ certainly doesn’t match what we see in rooms at check-in. Our prices are low for Heathrow and include English Breakfast, Wi-Fi, Parking: most don’t. Underfloor heating isn’t necessarily on mid June. Standard rooms have older décor as described and we’re upfront about this. Our mattresses are spring-pocket ‘orthopedic’ models made by Hypnos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We got a very good rate for this B&B, so it worked out good value for money. The bedroom was fine, and was clean. The bathroom was a good size, with a great shower. Although it was next to a main road, there were two sets of windows, which kept the noise out.

The car park was very handy, and was free (unlike some of the big Heathrow hotel chains). The wifi worked very well in the room, and was quick. Breakfast was fine. My only minor criticism perhaps is the table layout. Fortunately I just beat another guest to a small table, and was able to sit by myself. I'm very antisocial in the morning, so this was a relief! There are two other tables, one of which is quite long. Some other single guests had to share the long table, and I could sense some awkwardness. It seems to me that there is just enough space to squeeze in another table, and perhaps replace the long table with two smaller ones? Or maybe other people don't mind sharing a table, and I'm just fussy!

The B&B is located in central West Drayton. It's not a posh area, but it's fine, and there are plenty of places to go for cheap food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.3 mi away
Harmondsworth Hall
Harmondsworth Hall
#8 of 12 in West Drayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
0.9 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#5 of 12 in West Drayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (M4/J4) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow

Property: Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow
Address: 119 Station Road, West Drayton UB7 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run, friendly B&B, only 5 minutes drive to Heathrow Airport, with English Breakfast and high-speed WiFi Internet access included in all our room prices.Located very close to M4 and M25, also near M3 and M40, the train takes you to London in just 25 minutes and the station is under 5 minutes walk away. Low-cost restaurants are very close by.Our Superior En-S rooms are underfloor heated with wooden beams, Ortho-style spring pocket mattress, beside dimmer lights, and modern showers.Standard En-S rooms with older decor cater for budget-conscious travellers and contractors, reflected in our prices; our 2 Basic rooms share a shower/lavatory nearby. All rooms have flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee and hi-speed WiFi access.Our butcher makes prize-winning sausages and dry cures his own bacon for our breakfasts.4 mins drive from Stockley Park; 8 mins from Uxbridge; Windsor Castle and Legoland are under 20 mins drive; Harry Potter Studios and Thorpe Park are under 25 mins by car; and Gatwick is under 45 mins drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Bed And Breakfast Heathrow West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing