We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at total loss!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 4 West Drayton B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“at total loss!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we rarely book anywhere without checking reviews on trip advisor and not been dissapointed until now , after seeing reviews we booked a one night stay at oakwood and heres my "total loss" this place is terrible the outside yard /car park shouted warning it is a tip/junk yard, the whole place is in desperate need of a major revamp, wallpaper falling of off walls carpets dirty and stained , last reviewer complained "dirty" while they were right, if the cleaning ladies are doing a good job !!! why did we find dust and dirty tissues left on floor and in drawers??, a window was broken and could not be closed and the wardrobe doors were completely missing !!! my wife refused to use bathroom !! i deceided to be brave and shower guess what no hot water!!!, the breakfast was acceptable but cooked by a guy that had on a dirty paint splatter tracksuit that he greeted us in the day before, yes for london area it was cheap but be warned it really is bad. we will never return,

Room Tip: choose somewhere else to stay !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Kenneth B, we’re sorry you were disappointed. Our car park presently houses building materials for onsite works. With 2 different room types, our cheaper Budget rooms are described thus ‘Budget level room with older décor’ and ‘modest rooms have old light green wall paper’: they offer value, including Wi-Fi, English Breakfast, and Parking in price. Superior Rooms are quite different. We acknowledge Budget rooms need interior re-decorating work: we intend to as time and finance allows, and we do price these rooms low relative to the overall local market accordingly. The walls and carpet are not dirty, merely old, we always describe them as such, and we always try to show photos for the Budget rooms along with Superior Room photos.
We have addressed the issue of tissues with our cleaning ladies, but in general people find our rooms clean and while we acknowledge we have slipped here, we do actually often get reviews mentioning cleanliness.
The window is quite clearly not broken, you simply lift the lock handle a little to shut it, it may have moved over time but does not require any great effort at all to close.
This room mostly serves one-night overnighters, and the cupboard doors were removed a long while back for quick access to clothes shelves and this is the first time it has received comment: we have other rooms with closing cupboard doors where long-termers stay.
We have addressed the issue of staff clothing with them. Regarding hot water, it has never, ever failed us, this is merely a misunderstanding: it is simply due to needing to run the tap slightly longer in the rooms furthest away from the boiler.
Many enjoy staying with us and appreciate we offer great value for the overall package relative to the London and Heathrow market, including easy access to the Airport (around 5 minutes’ drive) and London, plus fast fibre optic broadband Wi-Fi, full English Breakast and parking included in the price: we averaged the price you would pay for these 3 amenties across local properties including big branded chains and small independents, and you would typically expect to pay around £30 on average as an extra cost for these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    14
    17
    15
See reviews for
29
47
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First, realize this is not a chain motel, so do not expect it to be the same. It is a small guesthouse run by people who care about their business and clientele. Yes, it does look like the picture on the website, but that does not do it justice. A reservation was easily made via email. Email responses were quickly returned. A credit card was taken only to hold the room, but you can also pay by credit card. The guesthouse run by Patricia is very near Heathrow airport and a good value. The airport is easily accessible by car or taxi. It took less than 15 minutes to get to the car rental return at Heathrow. Upon arrival we were met by Tom, who quickly checked us in and asked if we needed anything including directions. Tom, addressed our needs and printed directions for more than one location for us going to and from the guesthouse, he also made some very helpful suggestions. He explained the free, secure car parking for us as well. If you are arriving late, information as to how to access the building and your room will be emailed to you in advance, you just need to let them know your approximate arrival time, as the desk is not manned 24 hours. The room is small, but comfortable and the ensuite bath was adequate for our needs. The shower was very nice. Our room was clean and the only thing I found lacking, was a hair dryer, so you might want to inquire if one is available before hand or bring your own. We didn't use it, but I think Wi-Fi is available. The next morning a full breakfast was served which was included in the room rate. We found Oakwood a relaxing, clean and enjoyable place to stay near the airport. It was nice to have easy access to the airport, but be away from the hustle bustle of airport hotels. It provides the basics and what more can you ask for when you just need to sleep, clean up, eat breakfast and head to the airport. We are planning a trip back to London and will stay at Oakwood because it has easy access to the train system and will eliminate a need for a car around London. Keep in mind, again this is an older guest house, but the quality of service cannot be beat. It is great to support those small business people in their efforts to compete. They work very hard and I find generally always go steps beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks guys, we enjoyed having you stay with us. We always have hair dryers on hand for customers to use. Just to clarify, our En-Suites don't have a bath, but they do have a shower. Hope to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this b and b the night before his flight. The staff were helpful however the room was very dirty and dated and not worth the money we paid. The only positive about this b&b was that the bed was comfortable. There was no underfloor heating as advertised with the superior room. The location was very convenient to heathrow airport.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjones9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks cjones9, we can’t know which room you were in, however it’s extremely surprising that you say it was dirty: our cleaning ladies are a reliable bunch; ‘very dirty’ certainly doesn’t match what we see in rooms at check-in. Our prices are low for Heathrow and include English Breakfast, Wi-Fi, Parking: most don’t. Underfloor heating isn’t necessarily on mid June. Standard rooms have older décor as described and we’re upfront about this. Our mattresses are spring-pocket ‘orthopedic’ models made by Hypnos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We got a very good rate for this B&B, so it worked out good value for money. The bedroom was fine, and was clean. The bathroom was a good size, with a great shower. Although it was next to a main road, there were two sets of windows, which kept the noise out.

The car park was very handy, and was free (unlike some of the big Heathrow hotel chains). The wifi worked very well in the room, and was quick. Breakfast was fine. My only minor criticism perhaps is the table layout. Fortunately I just beat another guest to a small table, and was able to sit by myself. I'm very antisocial in the morning, so this was a relief! There are two other tables, one of which is quite long. Some other single guests had to share the long table, and I could sense some awkwardness. It seems to me that there is just enough space to squeeze in another table, and perhaps replace the long table with two smaller ones? Or maybe other people don't mind sharing a table, and I'm just fussy!

The B&B is located in central West Drayton. It's not a posh area, but it's fine, and there are plenty of places to go for cheap food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in the guesthouse for almost 1 month. Though my room was small and needed some "wallpaper" rework, I could not have got a better (and also cheaper) place to stay. Location is excellent, really difficult to get such rates at a location so close to London. Management was good and so are the other members of the staff. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a very nice place to stay. Highly recommended.

Pushpal Lahiri

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushpal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your review Pushpal L. You were staying in a budget ‘Standard’ room. We're sorry about the older decor in these rooms and we are doing our best to improve them as time and finance allows, as we do plan to re-decorate them. All room prices include in-room Wi-Fi access over high-speed fibre optic broadband, English Breakfast and Parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in England after flying in to Heathrow around 9:30pm. It was about a 20 pound taxi ride from the airport, this was perhaps more than average as our driver had no idea where to go.
When we got to Oakwood there was no staff there so no one answered the door. Our phones weren't working so we trekked next door to the pub to borrow theirs, the staff were not too impressed by this and we got the impression it was a regular occurrence for them. We got onto the owner of Oakwood who explained she had left a message for us on our phones - which weren't working. She gave us instructions to get in and all was good.
Breakfast was lovely - a great selection of cereals and made to order English Breakfast, yum yum! The staff were friendly and helped us with directions to the train station, which is a very easy walk, maybe 5 minutes. We were very impressed the room had a fridge, as we soon learned this is not common in the UK.
Overall Oakwood was a clean and convenient location for us to stay and the staff were incredibly friendly and I would recommend this B&B to anyone after a comfortable place to stay that is convenient to Heathrow and easy to get to central London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWiz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks TravelWiz_85. Prices with our ‘Taxi-Shuttle’ firm LHR Cars next door are half the price of taxis at the airport. We do need an Estimated Time of Arrival and contact mobile number to help us arrange your arrival, as we can’t operate a 24 hour reception. The contact telephone number on the front door is answered if we’re not onsite. If we haven’t been given an arrival time or customer telephone contact number we are unable to arrange a welcome at unusual arrival times – landing in Heathrow at 9.30 PM could mean arrival with us after 10.15 PM after you’ve disembarked, retrieved baggage, got the taxi etc. We are really glad you liked the breakfast, the staff and the location and we do hope we can greet you in person next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovedean
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed two weeks in Cyprus flying from Heathrow. What made it even more special was spending the night before and the night after our flights at the Oakwood. We would thoroughly recommend the splendid hospitality and quality of this very special Bed & Breakfast Accommodation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_oates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.9 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#5 of 12 in West Drayton
2,359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (M4/J4) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
1.3 mi away
Harmondsworth Hall
Harmondsworth Hall
#8 of 12 in West Drayton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow

Property: Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow
Address: 119 Station Road, West Drayton UB7 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run, friendly B&B, only 5 minutes drive to Heathrow Airport, with English Breakfast and high-speed WiFi Internet access included in all our room prices.Located very close to M4 and M25, also near M3 and M40, the train takes you to London in just 25 minutes and the station is under 5 minutes walk away. Low-cost restaurants are very close by.Our Superior En-S rooms are underfloor heated with wooden beams, Ortho-style spring pocket mattress, beside dimmer lights, and modern showers.Standard En-S rooms with older decor cater for budget-conscious travellers and contractors, reflected in our prices; our 2 Basic rooms share a shower/lavatory nearby. All rooms have flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee and hi-speed WiFi access.Our butcher makes prize-winning sausages and dry cures his own bacon for our breakfasts.4 mins drive from Stockley Park; 8 mins from Uxbridge; Windsor Castle and Legoland are under 20 mins drive; Harry Potter Studios and Thorpe Park are under 25 mins by car; and Gatwick is under 45 mins drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Bed And Breakfast Heathrow West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing