We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 4 West Drayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in England after flying in to Heathrow around 9:30pm. It was about a 20 pound taxi ride from the airport, this was perhaps more than average as our driver had no idea where to go.
When we got to Oakwood there was no staff there so no one answered the door. Our phones weren't working so we trekked next door to the pub to borrow theirs, the staff were not too impressed by this and we got the impression it was a regular occurrence for them. We got onto the owner of Oakwood who explained she had left a message for us on our phones - which weren't working. She gave us instructions to get in and all was good.
Breakfast was lovely - a great selection of cereals and made to order English Breakfast, yum yum! The staff were friendly and helped us with directions to the train station, which is a very easy walk, maybe 5 minutes. We were very impressed the room had a fridge, as we soon learned this is not common in the UK.
Overall Oakwood was a clean and convenient location for us to stay and the staff were incredibly friendly and I would recommend this B&B to anyone after a comfortable place to stay that is convenient to Heathrow and easy to get to central London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWiz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks TravelWiz_85. Prices with our ‘Taxi-Shuttle’ firm LHR Cars next door are half the price of taxis at the airport. We do need an Estimated Time of Arrival and contact mobile number to help us arrange your arrival, as we can’t operate a 24 hour reception. The contact telephone number on the front door is answered if we’re not onsite. If we haven’t been given an arrival time or customer telephone contact number we are unable to arrange a welcome at unusual arrival times – landing in Heathrow at 9.30 PM could mean arrival with us after 10.15 PM after you’ve disembarked, retrieved baggage, got the taxi etc. We are really glad you liked the breakfast, the staff and the location and we do hope we can greet you in person next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    14
    17
    14
See reviews for
29
47
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lovedean
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed two weeks in Cyprus flying from Heathrow. What made it even more special was spending the night before and the night after our flights at the Oakwood. We would thoroughly recommend the splendid hospitality and quality of this very special Bed & Breakfast Accommodation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_oates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floh, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Oakwood is EASY to find and EASY to get to from Heathrow by bus!
We stayed here for 2 (separate) nights. The first night was in an ab fab in a room on the 1st floor - perfect, clean, with a little fridge and a great and clean bathroom.
The second night we stayed there was in a room on the ground floor (for disabled people). I highly recommend to ask for a room on the upper floor! There was a weird smell in the room and the air was just very bad. It was ok for a night, but seriosuly no comparison to the room on the upper floor!
The breakfast is nice...you can order warm breakfast from the stuff and there is a selection of cereals & fruit & jam to choose from.
One of the nicest places I have stayed at in the London area (quite easy to achieve though as most affordable places in London suck) - however, this place is highly recommendable if you're just catching a flight from Heathrow or a train to somewhere in the UK - as Drayton railway station is only a 10 minutes walk from the B&B!

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room on the upper floor!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our second stay at this B&B. We stayed in March 2012, as we were given a really good price for overnight stop, breakfast and car parking for nearly 3 weeks. This year for March 2013, the price had risen but it still represented very good value. Patricia is very helpful and seems busy, she offers a good service for anyone needing a place to sleep prior a Heathrow departure, along with an excellent breakfast (thank you to those hardworking ladies) and she also arranges a taxi for you with plenty of check in time. Our terminal was about 10-15 minutes taxi ride away. Patricia also organises a "job number" for you with the same taxi company, you just phone when you have retrieved your baggage. Another plus for us, as my husband is registered disabled, we had a ground floor room plus wetroom/bathroom. All very efficient and comforting. If our family is still in the USA next year, see you then, team!

Room Tip: We haven't seen all the rooms, but there seems to be some upstairs. There are also other apart f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnc185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi lynnc185,
Thanks for reviewing us. We compared prices in Heathrow for Park and Fly charged by other properties, and we priced ourselves low to offer comparatively good value. The cab to Terminals 1-3 takes less time as they are closer, around 5-8 minutes. Your cab of 10-15 minutes was to Terminal 4 which is further away. We’re glad you like our breakfasts, the bacon is dry cured and our butcher won the London sausage competition for his sausages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed with my wife in this bed and breakfast hotel for one night before catching the flight from heathrow next day to USA for holiday; we are very pleased with the overall arrangement; the owner Patricia was very nice and helpful, though the check in time was at 10am( another advantage if you arrive early) she agreed to keep my room ready even earlier than that;the location was also good , not far from heathrow; and she gave me a phone number of taxi service and it took about 10-15 minutes and £8.00; she also mentioned about the taxi fare; the room was nice, clean and comfortable;my only complain was about internet which was not working properly in the room but the line was good in the reception area and I checked in online there; breakfast was superb with full english breakfast; we kept our luggage in the reception in the morning and went to spend time in Stockly park by bus as we have our flight in the afternoon; bus station and bus stop both are in short walkable distance; west drayton train station is also close; you can go by walking; there is public bus service to heathrow terminal; you can get it from the near about bus stop;ask patricia about the bus number; there are lot of restaurant around the place and also a Morrison; this is a very good hotel to stay if you are catching flight from heathrow ; better to ring the hotel 1 or 2 days before going to mention about your time of arrival as there may not be anyone in the reception all the time as it is a family run buiseness;i will stay again if needed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayasish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Jayasish,

Thanks for your review, great to hear you enjoyed our Breakfast and the Heathrow bus connections. As with review below, apologies for the Wi-Fi interruptions: we’ve responded by today buying new hardware from the manufacturer with the best reputation for reliability, choosing equipment optimised for our fast fibre-optic broadband speeds. Early check-ins do require prior arrangement by telephone, as you are right, as a Bed & Breakfast we cannot offer a 24 hour reception.

We’d love to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel staff was really helpful and helped me out a lot and the since I need a hotel close to Heathrow, this hotel was the perfect choice, it was a short bus ride from Heathrow to the bus stop that was right in front of the hotel. But the wifi did not really work, when it did, it was very slow. It was a little bit far from the dayton station though, like 10 minutes walk, but if the 10 minute walk is okay with you, i think you are fine.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a better wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear DaisyZ, thanks for staying with us.
Really sorry to hear about your Wi-Fi experiences. We did upgrade our broadband to British Telecom’s fastest fibre-optic service, but we’ve still had issues, and we’re always dependent on BT’s service. After hearing your experiences we’re now upgrading all our Wi-Fi equipment. We’ve just today bought higher specification equipment from a reliable manufacturer with the best reputation, and we’ve chosen hardware designed to make the best of our fibre-optic broadband speeds.

To get from us to West Drayton train station is honestly less than a 10 minute walk: on Google maps the directions from Oakwood to the station returns 6 minutes on the walk option, I do it in less than 5 minutes, but this will vary somewhat depending on how fast people walk. You probably went the long way round under the railway bridge then double-backed to the station, which Google maps shows as an 8 minute walk, so we are now printing a map of the quicker route to laminate and put on the wall to avoid this confusion in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Because of family business I had delayed booking until the last minute and in the midst of this family crisis it was great to meet Patricia who calmly booked the room for the start and end of our Christmas trip to Toronto and arranged for the car to be parked for the two weeks and quoted me a great price.
This is a great English B and B, warm and friendly, great English breakfast and fantastic value for money. The ensuite was top rate and the shower really did work! LHR cars who offer the transfer service to Heathrow and are just along the road were spot on with timing and took only 15 minutes to come and collect us on our return from Canada. We have family in Toronto and will definitely be trying the Oakwood first for our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 734Roy_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathrowOakwood, Owner at Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us, it was great to meet you.

Glad your trip to Toronto went well for you and good to hear we were able to provide a helpful Park and Fly for you - our nearby taxi firm really are very good value and quick to arrive, a reliable team.
Hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
1.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.9 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#4 of 12 in West Drayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (M4/J4) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow

Property: Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow
Address: 119 Station Road, West Drayton UB7 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run, friendly B&B, only 5 minutes drive to Heathrow Airport, with English Breakfast and high-speed WiFi Internet access included in all our room prices.Located very close to M4 and M25, also near M3 and M40, the train takes you to London in just 25 minutes and the station is under 5 minutes walk away. Low-cost restaurants are very close by.Our Superior En-S rooms are underfloor heated with wooden beams, Ortho-style spring pocket mattress, beside dimmer lights, and modern showers.Standard En-S rooms with older decor cater for budget-conscious travellers and contractors, reflected in our prices; our 2 Basic rooms share a shower/lavatory nearby. All rooms have flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee and hi-speed WiFi access.Our butcher makes prize-winning sausages and dry cures his own bacon for our breakfasts.4 mins drive from Stockley Park; 8 mins from Uxbridge; Windsor Castle and Legoland are under 20 mins drive; Harry Potter Studios and Thorpe Park are under 25 mins by car; and Gatwick is under 45 mins drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Oakwood Bed and Breakfast Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Bed And Breakfast Heathrow West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing