We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expect the minimum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hayes
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expect the minimum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

This hotel is average, and you have to pay extra for just about everything. Significantly, it is NOT convenient for travel out of terminal 4. On the hotel 'hopper' bus (which drops you off at terminal 3 from which you have to take a train), it took us 1 hour to get to terminal 4. This was very early in the morning, when there was no traffic. If you are arriving to the hotel, take the free buses from the central bus station at Heathrow. Call the hotel and ask which numbers go there. The hotel hopper is a rip-off, and it goes the same route (we had already bought tickets for the hopper, not knowing how to get to the free buses).
The room was fine, but the appliances are worn and old, and the bathroom was not clean.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ieva33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    632
    357
    137
    71
See reviews for
168
408
274
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Needed a room for one night and the hotel was close to my destination, that's why I booked it in the first place.
Hotel has nice decor downstairs, but upstairs is a little tired.
The room was tiny, but it was spotless and it was only for one night.
The room temperature was ok during the day, but in the middle of the night it was 75degrees! way too hot to sleep and I had turned the heating off. No way to get some air either, so beware!
The bar was selfservice but ok.
Dinner was nice but breakfast was burned toast (automatic toaster too high), fresh fruit with a fishy taste and tepid tea.
Will not be back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room temperature at night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froglady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Shopping around for an airport hotel for one night before flying can be difficult with the amount of choice available. TripAdvisor reviews narrow the choice down further and being a Holiday Inn Priority Club member narrows the choice even further.

The Ariel was selected as it is close to both the airport (obviously) and the Parking Express Long-Stay Car Park.

Check-in was smooth, friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and met all our requirements. The bar meal we had that evening was good quality and equally good value for money. We slept well, but because of our early flight to Singapore, we declined breakfast and our check out was as smooth as our check-in.

Overall, it is another airport hotel and it serves that purpose.

  • Liked — Ideal for the night before flying
  • Disliked — Nothing - just another airport hotel.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Rooms of good size and clean. Food at both breakfast and evening dinner was full of variety and excellent. Staff were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Liked — Quality of food
  • Disliked — Price of drinks
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLeyther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

Have stayed at this hotel at least 3 years now, each time we take a flight from Heathrow, the rooms are lovely, the staff are great, and the food in the hotel is always good.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a hotel near Heathrow.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

My partner and I were attending an event at the Marriott a couple of doors down, and in these credit-crunchy times decided to stay here rather than at the Marriott itself to save some money.

My goodwill towards Holiday Inn did not get off onto a good footing when I discovered by looking at my credit card statement that the advance booking, prepaid, non-refundable rate I had booked through their web site had not included VAT in the rate I booked, but they had obviously charged my card the rate including VAT. This is the first time I have ever booked a hotel in the UK that does not include VAT in their online rates, and I now note that some of their UK hotel rates DO include tax, and some DO NOT. So beware when booking.

We arrived in a downpour and the car park (warning - another £10 to park, something else hidden away on the HI web site) was a lake. Check-in staff were efficient, and our room was clean and tidy but oh so tiny. We had a room facing outwards so I cannot imagine how small the inward facing rooms are. The bed was only just big enough for two people - I didn't measure it but I suspect it was a 4 ft wide double (smaller than a standard double) - I could touch both sides without having to put my arms out very far, and the bed was up against the wall so extracting yourself in the night if you are on the wall side is a feat of gymnastics.

The hotel is definitely showing signs of its age, as an example of this Holiday Inn have installed secondary double glazing (which works well to keep the aircraft noise out) but if you open that you can see that the original external windows almost have the glass falling out of the frames with holes in the frames letting in icy blasts of air. I didn't dare open the external window for fear the whole thing might disintegrate.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the staff were pleasant and courteous at all times.

Considering how much of a rip-off hotels around Heathrow are, the £62 we paid for a night including breakfast was reasonable, however it's definitely not worth the £130+ rack rate advertised on their web site, for a tiny room with a tiny bed. Consider it a Travelodge alternative at best...

  • Liked — Value... kinda.
  • Disliked — Room and bed size
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LandyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed at the Ariel for the first time for a 2 day meeting. The hotel is one of the oldest around Heathrow which is visible once you get upstairs but the rooms are impeccably clean and well maintained. The lobby area seems to be newly refurbished with a modern and friendly atmosphere.

The staff were fantastic, especially at reception. Always polite, firendly and very helpfull.

My room was one of the outward facing ones so probably slightly more spacious than the ones facing inwards. They are double glazed so no noise disturbance from the nearby runway. The windows can however be opened slightly which was great for a smoker like me.

Ate in the hotel restaurant which had a lovely selection of english food. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.

There are a few ways of getting to and from the airport. If you do not want to spend 15 pounds on a taxi from T5 then wait for the Hotel Hoppa H6 which only costs approx. 4 pounds one way.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Nothing - liked it all
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timhaiapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayes
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis London Heathrow Airport
0.5 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles London Heathrow Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Skyline Hotel London Heathrow
1.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel
Address: 118 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hayes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel is located conveniently just minutes away from London Heathrow Airport. We are a short ride on the Heathrow Express from Central London. Being the first Airport Hotel at Heathrow we know what it takes to make it feel 'home from home'. We offer our guest's designed blackout rooms with double glazed windows to help with a good nights sleep and a fresh start before your meeting or a long flight. The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel offers Airport Parking at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Fly package All the bedrooms and the public area have Air Conditioning and standard Speed Internet Access. The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel offers a fully equipped, purpose built conference centre for your meeting and training needs. The Airport Shuttle operated by BAA & National Express, Hotel Hoppa H6 runs to & from the hotel and Heathrow Airport terminals 2 & 3 and Hotel Hoppa H56 runs to & from the hotel and Heathrow Airport terminals 4 & 5 every 15 minutes everyday. Adult price is 4.50 per person one way. From Terminal 4, take the Heathrow Express (Free) to T2 & 3 and then take the Airport Shuttle as above. Secondly there is also FREE London Bus' available from just opposite the hotel to take you to terminals. (285,111,105,140) these four bus' will take you to Terminals 2 & 3. The (423) Bus will take you to terminal 5 and the (555 or 556) will take you to Terminal 4 for FREE. You can also get the (285) to Hatton Cross for FREE this is also a London Underground Station. All these FREE bus' also are FREE for coming back from Terminals. Thirdly we have Taxi's on call to take you to all Terminals, 2 & 3 is £10 and 4 & 5 £16 for a standard Taxi. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel Hotel Hayes
Holiday Inn Hayes
Hayes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel Hayes, UK - Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing