We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hayes
CHESTER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

we stayed at the Holiday Inn Heathrow Ariel in november on a residential conference. I would like to congratulate this hotel on the outstanding service/facilities they provide!!

The staff were a well merged team and probably the most assertive that you would find in an airport hotel!! In particular i would like to thank Jose who seems to work breakfast and dinner and always greeets everyone with a smile, also Lucy who is the Front office manager as her staff are great.

Well done guys. We thoroughly enjoyed it!!

  • Liked — The service and attentiveness of staff
  • Disliked — The price of a pint & internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lfc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    621
    350
    133
    70
See reviews for
167
401
269
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
poole
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

I stayed at Heathrow Ariel HI on a 4 days conference.

Having experienced a wide variety of Airport Hotels in the past I was expecting a somewhat clinical dehumanized kind of environment and was instead immediately greeted with a smile.

Throughout my stay the Staff were always well presented, courteous, smiling and very efficient.

The first impression while entering the bedroom is that of a smaller space than the more recent Holiday Inns but everything is immaculately clean including a well appointed bathroom and one can tell that there is a great attention to details and excellent Houskeeping standards.

The same standards could be found throughout the Hotel from table service, to corridor carpets and conference facilities.

Over 4 days I experienced the same consistency in service and standards.

In one word, I felt very much at home and the fact that nothing is too much trouble for the Staff certainly did help that feeling.

Breakfast offers a variety of very healthy dishes - the red berries compote is to die for -, conference lunch was well balanced and tasty and a la carte dinner was excellent.

I would like to thank Lucy, the Reception Manager for making sure that our stay was hasslefree all the way through and we all commented on the fact that we felt very much welcomed.

This hotel has definitely changed my view on Airport Hotels and I will definitely come back .

  • Liked — Immaculately clean bedroom and bathroom
  • Disliked — A partition wall to hide the servery area would craete a more intimate atmosphere at dinner time
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familyman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

We were leaving London out of Heathrow early in the morning, so decided to stay at a nearby hotel the night before. We caught the underground out to terminal 3, but then we couldn't figure out how to get to the hotel. We ended up getting on a bus, which dropped us 300 metres from the hotel on the wrong side of very busy road ... that was a bit nerve wracking. It turns out, the best way to get to the hotel from Heathrow is via taxi, at £12 each way. Next time I think I would stay somewhere further away from Heathrow but near to the underground.

You'd think with all the hotels around Heathrow, they would think of operating a free shuttle bus like the do in most other countries - but I guess the taxi drivers wouldn't like that.

Other than that, the hotel was good.

  • Liked — Confortable room, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Not easy to get to and from the airport
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houndsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

It‘s at least 15 years since I stayed at the Ariel and it has changed ownership in that time. I decided to trade down from my usual Heathrow stop-over hotels when I saw the prices being asked for midweek stays. When I check into a hotel after 7.00pm and out again around 9.00am, then prices in excess of GBP 150 don‘t seem to me to make much sense.

Express check-in with my Priority Club car was politely and efficiently completed within two minutes. I had booked an Executive Room which was on the third floor, a short walk from the elevators, and looking outward towards the airport. The circular structure of the Ariel means that almost half of the rooms look inwards.

As with all the older Heathrow hotels, the room is relatively small but the outwardly angled walls – the result of the circular design of the building – means that the room is wider nearer the window. Furnishings are of a reasonable quality and are sensibly sized, ensuring that the room is not overly cluttered. The room is well equipped with a decent size work desk with light, ample power sockets, and good desk chair, an easy chair and table, minibar, iron and table, trouser press. The television had a number of channels and films, but the cabled Internet did not work – I did not complain as I was staying only a short time, and instead connected through my mobile phone. The bed was firm and comfortable, with a choice of pillows. The bathroom is well equipped and clean, with a selection of toiletries.

The bar is open-plan to the restaurant; service was quick but they were out of stock of my requested cider. I had dinner in the restaurant – sevice was reasonable although I felt that the waitresses might benefit from additional training, particularly in how to open and pour wine. My first choice main course was not available. Food was of acceptable quality and reasonable value for money.

I took room service breakfast which arrived promptly and as ordered.

Check-out was courteous and efficient.

Would I stay again? Most certainly – and just under GBP 120 inclusive of taxes for an executive room this is better value than the more up-market hotels at Heathrow.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrozenBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

Of all the Holiday Inns around Heathrow, this is the one that looks like a grey drum. Its external appearance is bleakly dull. The interior is marginally better. On two occasions I stayed one night in a single room. It was about twice the size of a cupboard but not much more than that. There was not even a decent space to put out a suitcase and open it. But it was all very clean and decent. The staff were quite pleasant at reception – and in the restaurant, where the service was pretty slow, and the food and prices pretty standard for an airport hotel. This is certainly an ok place to stay when flying in to or out of Heathrow. Whether you choose it or not depends pretty much on what price you can get, compared with all the other airport hotels - which must all be pretty similar: efficient and boring.

  • Liked — convenient to aiport
  • Disliked — cramped room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

The rooms are fairly small, but comfortable and clean, the reception staff are friendly and helpful. Though the best news is that the Ariel has several advantages for a night at Heathrow over it’s bigger neighbours. Firstly, it is probably the closest hotel to the Terminal 1,2,3 long term parking facility - within walking distance if you drop your bags off at the hotel first, (the first half hour parking is free, overnight is £10).

Next, it’s not too big. With some of the other hotels you can be schlepping your cases for miles before reaching you room. Lastly it has a central position so if you have time to kill the night before you can walk out to a selection of local pubs, the ‘Airport Bowl’ bowling alley, or the bars of the larger hotels.

It’s worth knowing that from the bus stop on the opposite side of Harlington Corner from the Ariel, you can take a bus for free into Heathrow Central. Bus number 105,111,140 & 285 for Terminals 1,2 & 3, bus number 423 to Terminal 5 and bus numbers 555, 556 & 557 for Terminal 4, though this bus stop is around the corner on the Perimeter Road, next to Avis. It’s a much better service than the ‘Hotel Hoppa’ service which is less frequent and costs £4 per person per trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CrestaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

Arrived Saturday night around 22.00hrs check-in was haphazard. Person ahead of us recognised as priority member and was given a wish list to fill in for the stay, we were not regognised as members even though I presented the card. I was not given a wish list either. Not a good start.

I asked if there was an upgrade available for platinum, we were given a room on the 3rd floor. In other countries except the UK, upgrades are given automatically as a recognition of loyal service. In the UK guests whether loyal or not are deemed as pests it seems

The room and bathroom were small, facilities included tea/coffee, bathrobe and a pair of slippers, chocolate bar and free mineral water, TV with 30 cable channels, and a broken trouser press in two halves! Absolute joke!

As it was late we decided to have room service burger, this was about 22.50hrs. The room service answer was that they stopped doing burgers after 23.00hrs. I said that it was not even 23.00hrs yet, the answer was still no. At that we were set to wander down Bath Road for an alternative. 5 minutes later room service rang us to say that the other girl was in the wrong and yes we can have the burger! It came at about 20mins later. The lady was apologetic but nethertheless she still made the call

At nearly midnight there was a call from Room Service to say that I had not done the necessary swiping of my credit card at reception and I would have to pay by credit card or cash straight away. I said Iw uodl pay in the morning like I normally do, which I did upon checking out.

Breakfast was very good. The lady who had made the call the previous night apologised for making the call so late.

I must say what a huge disappointment this hotel was. We have stayed at the Ariel on numerous occasions but this was a disgrace. What must arriving guests from other countries think?

We use heathrow alot and stay in the area either before or after flights, We are willing to break alegiance with IChotels group at Heathrow in order to get a satisfactory service

  • Liked — Breakfast was probably the hotel's best feature
  • Disliked — The staff's brusque approach to guests
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayes
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis London Heathrow Airport
0.5 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Skyline Hotel London Heathrow
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel
Address: 118 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hayes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel is located conveniently just minutes away from London Heathrow Airport. We are a short ride on the Heathrow Express from Central London. Being the first Airport Hotel at Heathrow we know what it takes to make it feel 'home from home'. We offer our guest's designed blackout rooms with double glazed windows to help with a good nights sleep and a fresh start before your meeting or a long flight. The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel offers Airport Parking at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Fly package All the bedrooms and the public area have Air Conditioning and standard Speed Internet Access. The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel offers a fully equipped, purpose built conference centre for your meeting and training needs. The Airport Shuttle operated by BAA & National Express, Hotel Hoppa H6 runs to & from the hotel and Heathrow Airport terminals 2 & 3 and Hotel Hoppa H56 runs to & from the hotel and Heathrow Airport terminals 4 & 5 every 15 minutes everyday. Adult price is 4.50 per person one way. From Terminal 4, take the Heathrow Express (Free) to T2 & 3 and then take the Airport Shuttle as above. Secondly there is also FREE London Bus' available from just opposite the hotel to take you to terminals. (285,111,105,140) these four bus' will take you to Terminals 2 & 3. The (423) Bus will take you to terminal 5 and the (555 or 556) will take you to Terminal 4 for FREE. You can also get the (285) to Hatton Cross for FREE this is also a London Underground Station. All these FREE bus' also are FREE for coming back from Terminals. Thirdly we have Taxi's on call to take you to all Terminals, 2 & 3 is £10 and 4 & 5 £16 for a standard Taxi. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel Hotel Hayes
Holiday Inn Hayes
Hayes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel Hayes, UK - Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing