We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food but very noisy!!”
Review of Karahi Express

Karahi Express
Ranked #26 of 104 Restaurants in Hayes
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty food but very noisy!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Popped into this place for a bite to eat with some friends on Diwali eve so the place was very busy and very noisy! The food was excellent though and was cooked fresh, it took a while to get the food but it was busy so can't complain, but to be honest it was worth the wait! Portions were good sized and the food was very flavoursome. What we didn't finish they packed away for us to take home with us! I had the chicken biryani which was very nice, a little dry as was not served with a veg curry but tasty nonetheless. They have a very limited supply of alcoholic beverages, but I saw later on that some people had bought their own drinks into the restaurant! Note to self for future reference! All in all a nice meal and reasonably priced, however was difficult to try and hold a conversation and it was really loud, I don't know if it's like that normally or it may have been because of the Diwali festivities. Would definitely give it another go though on another occasion to give it the benefit of the doubt! Will update the next time I visit re the noise levels!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fran_ad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“our work mates party”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We can here with our company work mates 7 of us. Please note you have to make a booking only on fri/sat/sundays. Like we did, it can get very busy. Also you can bring in your own beer only. Go to the off licence next door cost you around 1.50 a can. On there menu is 3.50. We only just sat down not even 5 mins the man came asking for our orders we told him give us some time. He then can said I recommend this (dont be fool by this he will pick the expensive things on the menu few times he did this to us.) We told this is what we want. The food is good nice we had seekh kabab's for starters it was very nice came with cooked onions. I had lamb biriyani. To end we had coffee and gulab jamun hot and stweet. I wish the staff could simile a bit and look happy. We give tip the man could have said thank you he diidnt.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajesh4cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“yummy food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

nice size portions. Pani puri is ok, the water isnt the best, so stick to Ritas on broadway for those!

Butter chicken and the keema is lovely. Naan are nice size but slightly too thin for my liking. Milkshakes are nice but too small.

Overall, service is decent, food is nice and it is local to us so we go quite regularly

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KullyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value Punjabi food”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Having visited this particular branch many times now it has been a family favourite.
The food variety is very good but quality has lowered in standards in the past few years.
A lot of the food tastes and looks the same (not to forget the oil floating in the dishes).

Basic things such as dishes and cutlery could be cleaner and better presented to customers.
The waiters working there could also be more attentive and smile to customers!

General environment of the restaurant is very buzzing and loud great for a big party!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UkJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The food here is pretty good and reasonably priced also. The staff could possibly be a bit friendlier but apart from that a great place to eat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtkinsKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karahi Express also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
 
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to Karahi Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing