We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Spacious hallway
Wood burning stove
Open plan kitchen/dining room
Living room
Living room
Welcome basket with local produce
Welcome basket
Bedroom with super king size zip link beds
Bathroom with shower over bath
Ensuite bedroom
Ensuite bedroom
Bedroom and ensuite bathroom
En suite bathroom
Complimentary luxury temple spa products
View of garden/parking area from secure garden
Water feature
Lovely dog friendly outdoor space with secure garden
Why not have afternoon tea on the patio?
Water feature
Secure storage for bikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bishop Auckland, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dawn B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was absolutely perfect so clean and comfortable. A great location and in a lovely spot. There was everything you could possibly need in the cottage and more. Ang the owner had thought of everything. We had a really enjoyable week and would thoroughly recommend Bracken Hill Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a lovely review and to hear that you enjoyed your time at Bracken Hill Farm Cottage. It was great to meet you and we hope you are able to return in the future. Thanks again Ang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly accommodation”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very quiet location close to some lovely walks. Extensive information available in the cottage with a very friendly, helpful owner. The most dog friendly cottage we have stayed at. Extremely clean, well maintained cottage with an enclosed garden. We will most certainly visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and its facilities and look forward to seeing you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maureenw3...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were welcomed by the owner Ang. She showed us round her beautiful recently renovated cattle barn. What a fantastic job they made of it! An absolutely stunning transformation - beautifully decorated to a really high standard. It had everything that we needed - a proper home from home. Not only was there a welcome pack for us - milk, cheese, butter, bread, eggs, biscuits, tea, coffee and a bottle of bubbly - but also some locally hand made treats for our dog - a really lovely touch.
The cottage is ideally situated for walking and there are many attractions easily accessible by car. We visited Beamish museum (a definite must for insight into days gone by) and also did part of the North coastal path walk at Seaham (the marina development is well worth a visit). The Durham dales are only about half an hour away and make for great walks.
Overall this was one of the loveliest cottages that we have stayed at, and is highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Wow!! what an amazing review. Thank you sooooo much. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything the area and cottage had to offer. Co Durham is an amazing place and well worth a visit. I do hope you are able to stay with us in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It really is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenposs
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic, well equipped cottage in a tranquil location. The cottage was immaculate on our arrival, and we were greeted by Ang the owner who is extremely pleasant and accommodating
Lovely walks from the doorstep, but within easy reach of local attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, it really is appreciated. It was lovely to meet you all and hope you are able to visit us again. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage and the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It really is much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoJarman
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended beautiful cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A friendly welcome on arrival was the start of our stay in a beautiful cottage where all the home comforts we could have wanted had been thoughtfully provided. Our two dogs loved the homemade treats and were made to feel as welcome as we were. The cottage was very dog friendly, with a fully enclosed garden. The excellent local information guides provided meant we were never at a loss for things to do. The local Hamsterley Forest was a particular favourite of ours. Despite being in the middle of.the countryside a large retail park at Bishop Auckland is a only short drive away drive away, where supermarkets, clothes shops and many more can be found.

We will be returning to Bracken Hill Farm Cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review it really is appreciated. It was lovely to meet you all and I'm pleased the dogs enjoyed the treats. Look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrowjon...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury pet friiendly cottage in County Durham”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous cottage near Durham. Great location for days out through the North East. Very high spec cottage, very warm and welcoming. We will be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it really is appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing