We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Staff are lovey with real northern hospitality. The food is typical pub grub but certainly don't walk away feeling hungry, room was basic but a good night sleep was had. It smelt of paint but they did make you aware that the rooms were being redecorated.. Would stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    118
    45
    10
    18
See reviews for
91
151
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was a three day visit to Bishop Auckland staying in the Park Head Hotel for the three nights. It is a family run hotel and all the staff were very efficient and very welcoming. The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean and comfortable and all had tea and coffee making facilities. We had breakfast and an evening meal each day, all served very efficiently and all meals were excellent bearing in mind on the Saturday they catered for a wedding party but this did not effect us in any way. There is a very nice children's play area and plenty of seating in the garden. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit the Beamish Museum and surrounding areas. When we left for home some of the staff waved us off, a very nice gesture I thought. A very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard position is considered to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I would just like to say thank you to the staff at the Park Head. We used their largest room for a meeting a couple of weeks ago and the service was first class. I could comment on a range of things, such as the quality of the food, price etc. but in all honesty as anyone else who holds meetings will know, the key thing is you just want everything to be hassle free and that's what the team at the hotel provided. Nothing was too much trouble. A great value venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just spent a 3-night week-end @ Park Head with Newmarket Travel. All the staff were pleasant, chatty and helpful. A special mention for proprietor Simon and chef Gareth. The accommodation, hospitality and food were all good. It was also nice to see the younger staff enjoying their work and knowing how to socialise and be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmertwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely meal at this Hotel after a long journey. The staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome especially Georgia who couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely call here again if we are in the area and look forward to meeting Georgia again. Thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for family wedding..rooms basic but clean..food was excellent at the wedding and the breakfasts are good..staff were great and had a brill time..good for children as play area and animals in the grounds..great location..but did struggle to get mobile signal on networks and wifi..not just myself but others as well..but overall would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just had my third stay in four years at the Park Head. Always good quality food, nice friendly staff and, clean tidy rooms, the mobile phone signal is usually ok but weak, but in room 13 it was zero, and the WiFi though free and accessible throughout, is sporadic last year I was in 15 near the main building and it was ok in 13 I could log on but had no Internet access. To be fair the staff were great and offered to move me but once I'm in a room I hate messing around. Even for the area the B&B price was very good. Even better if you don't book direct with the hotel???

Room Tip: If you want decent WiFi and mobile phone access you need to be near reception. If not they are all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing