We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, clean hotel and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting family, the staff were so friendly and nothing was any trouble. Rooms were comfy and spotless and breakfast was good. If you are looking for a modern hotel this is not the place for you but if you want a friendly, clean, well run establishment with good food and excellent value for money I would not hesitate in recommending the Park Head. The staff really are the stars of the show!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 447 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went on Mother's Day - suddenly the usual £7.95 Sunday lunch is now £11. Didn't get anything extra - so not sure why they need to hike up the price other than to make a quick buck from everyone. Well done to the management - A great way to reward your regular customers!!!. Food was great as always. Place could do with a good makeover, especially the carpets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilltopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We hosted our daughters christening reception here in November 2012, what a fabulous afternoon we had. Claire went above and beyond to make sure we all had a lovely time. We all had sunday lunch which was beautiful and I would recommend the Gammon! They also decorated the room with all of my special things that I had bought for the day, nothing was to much trouble. The staff were all very helpful. We had 100 guests join us and they all had a truly wonderful day.

A big thank you to everyone at the Park Head for making our daughters day so special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1982LauraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Haven't stayed here just been for Sunday dinner. Massive portions but cost is £9. More meat than on your local horse. Will go back although restaurant outdated and bar not particularly comfy to eat in. SK10.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Superkev10SAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just been to book our wedding and could not be happier with the reception from the hotel management, they showed us everywhere we needed to see and nothing was a bother to them. Claire gave us lots of ideas that wasn't on our agenda so that was good. Going for Sunday lunch will let you know how it was.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank any543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends, arrived late and were made very welcome from the start. Had a few drinks in the bar and a carvery which was very nice and filling. The rooms are very clean with crisp white towels and tea/coffee. Breakfast was plentifull all served by smiling pleasant staff, what more could you want.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraintLlE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed over for one night whilst attending a function, however, we were so impressed that we have already decided to return for a longer stay.

Our booking was handled by Mel who was a pleasure to deal with. We stayed in Room 23 which was very spacious (even though it had a kingsize and a single bed, so could sleep 3) spotlessly clean and had connecting doors to the room next door which would be a great advantage for a larger group. We were welcomed on arrival, by a very helpful young man and check in was quick and efficient.

After check in, we 'checked out' the bar and were pleased to find a welcome from the lovely Michelle. All the staff were great but she deserves a special mention as she really made us feel valued. The traditional decor and menu that set out mouths watering was impressive, but we were saving ourselves for the evening, and so glad we did!

We are not normally biggest fans of Carvery, but this was superb! Tasty, plentiful and starters and desserts were served by the very helpful and friendly waiting staff ( The lovely Michelle again was present).

The entertainment (Mark Allen) and disco were fun and a good time was had by all.

After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed a beautifully cooked breakfast, generous portions and pleasant service.

Look forward to next visit

Room Tip: All the Courtyard rooms looked lovely and ground floor rooms pet friendly, ideal if you travel with...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinquantNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
801 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing