We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Point Hotel Restaurant

North Point Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unpleasant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited for a meal tonight and would never go back. Restaurant and staff pleasant enough but food was poor. Starters were edible, enough said. Onion soup was like onion gravy with a cheese toastie on top. After my first two options were unavailable I ended up with a chicken Kiev which was burnt and tasteless, but the worst part was my husbands fillet steak. It smelled and tasted odd. A big meat eater even he couldn't eat it. The staff were very apologetic and didn't charge us for it but certainly didn't dare risk a dessert. They couldn't explain what was wrong with it which was worrying. It appears on review that all of the positive reviews are about Sunday lunch, I certainly wouldn't advise an evening meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank tt123Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have just had a wonderful meal at North Point. There were 9 of us. Meals were excellent, staff were brilliant. All 9 meals well presented and piping hot. Have been before and will definitely
go back. Money well spent. Thank you North Point

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable Sunday lunch would return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Well worth a retur visit although we like to try different ones each Sunday very tasty plenty for the four of us even given a gravy boat without having to ask!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willis9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolsingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I visited the North Point for a works Christmas Meal and can honestly say I wasn't disappointed, we had a 3 course meal and coffee all for £15.00 per person the food was fantastic and the service even better!!!
Keep up the good work guys :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndylou1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Generous Portions - Honest, Genuine and Non Pretentious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

WONDERFUL - GREAT - BRILLIANT.

The restaurant is very popular for their Sunday lunches as they are WONDERFUL.

If you are after good, fresh and honest food with generous portions then this is the place for you. Lots of locally sourced meat and fish. Vegetarians and vegans in this part of the country are uncommon but they will provide you will something yummy.

Great desserts - if you have the room.

There was something for everyone in the family of all ages. Everyone was happy and stuffed afterwards. As the awkward vegetarian in the party, I was certainly satisfied with my meal.

If you fancy foie gras on a bed of cardamom-infused rice with snobby waiters, tiny portions and high prices then this isn't the place for you. Instead you will encounter normal, friendly and helpful staff with wonderful food and brilliant value. One word of advice - just make sure you haven't had a big breakfast!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fizzi201186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Point Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Bishop Auckland, County Durham
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
 
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 

Been to North Point Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing