We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

An Excellent hotel for stopping over for 1 night on a recent journey to Scotland.Clean,tidy hotel and friendly staff.Pub next door was a little dissapointing as we had to wait 50mins for what is only basic food(pie,lasagne,chile-con-carnie).Overall would certainly recommend the hotel as we got it for £29 but reluctantly would only consider the pub again as it would save us having to drive somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaveupcamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    106
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
145
107
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Room comfortable, staff friendly and welcoming, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

great place to stay, very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. we where doing a quick stop offer to pic up a pup in Durham and picked the Premier Inn because of the reviews on trip advisor we weren't disappointing .. the bed was very comfy and the bar next door did a great steak and chips the best I've had in a long time cooked just perfect mouths watering just thinking about it :) and breakfast was just as good great choice on the menu.. shame we couldn't stay longer. we'll be booking this Premier Inn again it's a lovely part of the country,
Thanks for a lovely stay Teresa and John (co down)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittytatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed one night, hotel was clean and bed was comfortable

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was greeted by a friendly and helpful desk clerk for my four-day stay. The service was excellent, the room comfortable, and the restaurant convenient, though there isn't any place else nearby to eat. I walked from the rail station, which was a little challenging. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasadena1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Handy and not badly priced. Room was clean and tidy. Only complaints are:-
1. Only two coffees and milks on complimentaty tray and these were not refilled for second day.
2. Bins were not emptied.
3. The shower dispenser in the bathroom was empty
4. There were burn marks in the carpet
5. Some of the bulbs in the lights had not been replaced

The breakfast had gone downhill a bit since last time I stayed in a Premier Inn and the evening meal was rather plastic, ie frozen food.

But if you just want to somewhere to lie your head and not planning on using the holiday than more than a base it is adequate.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and you might get an offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison322002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Used for the first time and found it an extremely friendly, very clean and well managed hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoast57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
10.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Address: West Auckland Road, Bishop Auckland DL14 9TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set yourself up nicely for a relaxing trip with a stopover at the Premier Inn Hotel Bishop Auckland. Just off the A1 in an historic market town, you'll be close to Durham and Darlington and all the surrounding attractions. Discover the area's amazing past at Raby Castle and Gardens, Shildon National Railway Museum and Beamish. Explore Durham's stunning world heritage sites. Or put in some putting time at Bishop Auckland Golf Club. Then take the weight off with our spacious rooms, Brewers Fayre restaurant and big, comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. From the South: Leave A1 at J58, bear left onto the A68 Corbridge/Bishop Auckland. At 1st roundabout take the 2nd exit (A6072) signed Shildon. Continue on the A6702 over 4 roundabouts, following signs to Shildon/Bishop Auckland. Hotel is approximately 1 mile on the left. Next to the Tindale Crossing Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing