We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Fabulous

We visited The Newton Acliffe exhibition of Norman Cornish. We highly recommend a visit. Both... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
margaretdonnell146
,
Protaras, Cyprus
Amazing - Have to Visit!

A very detailed gallery were we learnt loads, and the staff were great too. There was a great... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
theTravelAardvark
,
Darlington, United Kingdom
Read all 98 reviews
  
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
85
11
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
85
11
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews auckland tower miners gala well worth a visit market place trip down memory lane their lives pitmen painters family life fantastic paintings short film visiting bishop on display local history next year member of staff cornish coal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent art gallery dedicated to painting about and or by miners. Evocative and strangely moving. Well laid out lots of information well worth a visit. We caught the Norman Cornish exhibition and it was excellent.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank cderii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Coming from Australia it is a reminder of the past and the hard work back in the day's of Mining.
Make sure you watch the short film before you look at the exhibition it gives you a better feel what the coal miners went through.
Set over two floors I really enjoyed my time and even talking to the wonderful volunteers who are happy to share their experiences of that time

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DarrenS344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We bought tickets to all three attractions for our group of four. After visiting the viewing tower (impressive) and a small painting exhibition (some Gainsborough's) in the Bishop”s Palace, we headed back to the town centre to see the Mining Art Gallery. The staff we had met so far had been exceptionally friendly and helpful.
As we went to enter the Mining Gallery at 3:32 an unsmiling man said to my wife “we are closed”. She was a little taken aback by his gruff manner. I said “He is joking” thinking he was simply being playful but he insisted we couldn’t go in. My wife asked if, since we had bought tickets, could we return tomorrow? To which he said bluntly “No”. My wife said that no one had mentioned the early closing time when we bought our tickets just after lunch.
A young woman behind the gentleman then said “Let them in” so he reluctantly let us pass when I said we would be quick. We spent 5 minutes walking around the pictures on the ground floor. After we left at 3.40 we noticed a sign by the door saying “last entry 3.30”...

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 36doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

Part of the developing complex linked to the Auckland Project went knowing that it has a rotating exhibition of local artists including Norman Cornish. Though familiar and appreciate Cornish was expecting the others to be naive but was stunned by the quality.

The gallery covers two floors and is split between themed and artist focused. The common link is mining though not all on show focus on mining directly. There a range of styles and approaches form Victorian realist (none presenting a sentimental view) to abstract and neo-realist. Some are amusing, some challenging all are worth studying. There are ones that focus on wider life - a delightful Cornish of boys playing to the more challenging (Entombed).

Moving and an important contribution

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

We wished to visit the Norman Cornish exhibition advertised as open every day in the booklet ----- re the artist ---- currently available around Co. Durham
It's not. Its closed Monday and Tuesday. Very disappointed and a wasted journey.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Brenda010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAPCommunications, Public Relations Manager at Mining Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Dear Brenda,

Please accept our apologies for your wasted journey, we’re sorry you were unable to visit the gallery as planned. The Mining Art Gallery opening hours changed on 1 June 2019, the gallery is now open Wednesday to Sunday, 10am to 4pm. While all our leaflets have been reprinted with the correct information, unfortunately the Norman Cornish exhibition brochure was printed earlier in the year before the change took place, and as it was printed by the Norman Cornish Centenary Exhibitions Team, we were unable to change the information listed there.

We do hope that this will not stop you from visiting the gallery in future and would be happy to discuss this issue further with you. You can contact us on 01388 743 797 or email bookings@aucklandproject.org.

Kind regards,
Communications Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews