We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Plum Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River views Open countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
River views
Open countryside
Cottage private car parking area.
We are dog friendly
Friendly neighbor.
River view
Lounge wood burning stove with a warm welcome.
Well equiped kitchen
Dining area
Entrance hall
Ground floor spa shower.
Ground floor wc and wash hand basin.
Lounge
Time to relax
Relax
Main bedroom with super king size bed.
Main bedroom
Twin bed configuration if preferred.
Breakfast in bed is always a good start to any holiday.
En-suite shower room
Front view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bishop Auckland, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beth W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous! ”
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Absolutely incredible stay! Everything you could need. The perfect place to go for a relaxing get away. Thank you bev!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2018
Thank you so much Beth , you were great guests . Thank you so much for taking such good care of my cottage and it goes without saying I'd love to welcome you all back again anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keneth12
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“10th wedding anniversary break”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I took my wife here for our 10th wedding anniversary . Beautiful cottage with everything you need the place was spotless well furnished without feeling too cluttered and in very good condition . Needless to say we were very happy and comfortable a perfect stay for a very special occasion Bev you deserve your 5 star rating we hope to visit again in the future many thanks Richard & Tracey

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizzoRule...
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful well equipped cottage in lovely surroundings. Cosy lounge, modern kitchen, large very comfortable bed in bedroom with en suite shower. There was also a fantastic ultra modern shower downstairs. Lots of nice neat touches everywhere. Bev the owner was lovely, very helpful and informative. The area is lovely with walks by the river and countryside. I only wish I had stayed longer! Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita W
Keighley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to rest and rejuvenate”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing week in a beautiful cottage. It is located in a small village and the cottage is right at the side of the river which only helps to the calm atmosphere that continues into the cottage itself. Cottage is beautiful and has everything you could want, also extremely high standards of cleanliness throughout. We were given a warm welcome by Bev on arrival and she was at hand if anything was required during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Immaculate quiet & restful cottage”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I second all the positive reviews of this great little place by the side of the river. Nothing negative to say about it. M&S and shops are a few miles away, so perhaps arrive well stocked up. We used this place as a base to explore Durham, Northumberland and Newcastle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin M
1 review
“mr”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

buitifull cottage immaculate thanks very much very warm and friendly welcome could of stayed Will be going back 5**************AAAAA exelent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K9
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“4 night break”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second visit to Plum Tree and this time the weather was really against us , but once again stepping into this lovely cottage is such a joy. So clean so inviting all needs catered for a feeling of peace and love . Hubby managed to catch a Sea Trout despite the torrential rain , and I caught up with my neglected reading . Our german shepherd was again in his element free to roam the fenced in grounds and chilling at our feet after a days outing . If you want peace and tranquility, as well as plenty of walking and sightseeing this is definetely the place to be . I could live here all year round and do feel a pang when we have to leave . Thanks again Bev for a fab stay in your out of this world cottage .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing