We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Plum Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River views Open countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
River views
Open countryside
Cottage private car parking area.
We are dog friendly
Friendly neighbor.
River view
Lounge wood burning stove with a warm welcome.
Well equiped kitchen
Dining area
Entrance hall
Ground floor spa shower.
Ground floor wc and wash hand basin.
Lounge
Time to relax
Relax
Main bedroom with super king size bed.
Main bedroom
Twin bed configuration if preferred.
Breakfast in bed is always a good start to any holiday.
En-suite shower room
Front view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bishop Auckland, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc S
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just stayed here as a last minute break away and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We didn't book until later on in the day and Bev was very accommodating in allowing us to check in later at 8:30pm. Outstanding accommodation in a beautiful setting, so peaceful and relaxing. The cottage has all you'd need from utensils to washing liquid and the little touches are lovely. Can't wait to come back already. 1st class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Many thanks Marc , it was a real pleasure to meet you both and know your stay was everything you wanted it to be . Thank you for taking such good care of the cottage and leaving it so spic and span, I really appreciate it. Please know you are welcome at Plumtree anytime.
Best wishes
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahgray...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Retreat”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Gorgeous cottage, fantastic setting. This is the most wonderful little getaway near the lovely village of Witton Le Wear. Plum Tree has first class furnishings with it's own parking and is so welcoming, We can't wait to return. Thanks to Bev for all her help too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you Sarah , it was really great to meet you both and particularly great to know you had such an enjoyable time . You are both very welcome at Plumtree anytime and hopefully I'll get to meet your lovely dog next visit.
Very best wishes,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickiwd
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here at the end of November & had a wonderful time. It was only for 2 night's unfortunately but would definitely love to return. The decor, location & all the small touches were faultless. The clear frosty nights to look enjoy the stars were an added bonus. The cottage is so tranquil but close enough to anything you could possibly need. Our 2 little dogs loved it too
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2016
Thank you so much and it was really great to meet you both. It makes me very happy to know you enjoyed your stay so much and even happier to know you would like to return , you will be welcome at Plumtree anytime . Best wishes Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahu123...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

what a wonderful cottage, it has everything you could imagine and more, the decor is beautiful and the scenery is idyllic. we were welcomed by a very friendly hostess. myself and my partner will definitely be returning this was the perfect get away for our anniversary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Hi Sarah ,thank you so much for your kind words and for being such lovely guests, so it goes without saying I would be delighted to welcome you back anytime . Best wishes , Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Out of this World”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Outstanding location, cottage of extremely high standard with every need catered for. We were greeted by Bev who we warmed to immediately as she exuded warmth and hospitality. The tranquility of the surroundings , gentle sound of the river and the general ambience of this fantastic home from home fulfilled our every expectations. Our german shepherd was in his element and was left treats and spare towels if required , such thoughtfullness . River fishing is second to none , steps down to your favourite spot, and of course so many places to visit within striking distance , Northumberland,Cumbria, Yorkshire and Scotland .There are plenty of eateries to choose from, and cannot wait to book a summer trip so we can barbecue the partners catch .We enjoyed each and every day spent here but least of all disliked having to leave . Will most certainly return again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and more
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Jeff and Jackie . Thank you so much for your amazing comments . I can't tell you how important it is to me to know your stay at Plumtree was everything you wanted it to be . As for my warmth , it would be impossible to be anything else with such a lovely couple , you were a pleasure to host and a priveledge to get to know . Can't wait for your return visit next year .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richy2635
1 review
“A perfect break”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

In a word .... perfect.
The wife and i have just had an amazing midweek break. The weather wasn't at it's best but the cottage kept us warm and cosy with the log burner roaring into the wee hours. Bev and her husband have done an amazing job in creating a wonderful little place for all to enjoy. We will definitely be booking again for a longer stay.
Thank you.

Rich and Shona

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Hi Rich and Shona . It was so lovely to meet you and to know you had such a relaxing time at Plumtree . Thank you both for the great care you took of my cottage and for leaving it so spic and span , I really appreciate it . I'm delighted to hear you're considering a return visit and it goes without saying that I'd be very happy to catch up with you both and welcome you back . Thanks again , Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine R
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We will return.”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Situated just 500 yards on the outskirts of Witton le Wear, this lovely barn conversion is an ideal site for exploring the local area, standing in its own ground on the bank of the River Wear. The cottage is of very high standard and well equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Under floor heating and a log burner is available for a cosy time when the weather is colder. The bedroom is spacious with on suite bathroom and the most comfortable bed you could ever wish to sleep in. For the salmon and sea trout fishermen, the cottage has fishing rites for around 50mts of the river just a few steps down the bank. The area is ideal for walkers with plenty of footpaths across farm and moorland. Bishops Aukland is just 20 minutes away by car for your shopping needs. We had a most enjoyable stay at Plum Tree Cottage, both Bev and Mark, the owners, were most welcoming and friendly, making our stay most memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing