We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Dinner at he Talbot”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Annual Dinner at he Talbot”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our drama group held there Annual Dinner at the Talbot on the 4th July. Gilbert is an excellent host who remembered me from nearly 12 years ago when we held my daughter's wedding reception at thr hotel. 20 of us enjoyed an excellent three course meal, served piping hot on hot plates. Some of our party booked in for the night and said the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast had been plentiful. Gilbert pays the same attention to a small group or a large functionand goes out of his way to make sure everyone's needs are met. It is obvious that he and his family just love their work.

Room Tip: Did not stay the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waspy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    44
    8
    5
    12
See reviews for
57
73
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very welcoming hotel. The owner, Gilbert, and his family and staff are second to none in the hospitality they show to all guests. My room was excellent in cleanliness and very comfortable. As I require a gluton free diet this was coped with without making me feel odd or a nuisance. I would definitely recommend the Talbot to friends and family.

Room Tip: Twin rooms have en suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have just come home from another stay in this hotel, and it is just so good I am writing again. It is welcoming , Gilbert remembered me from my previous visit and he is such a good host you immediately feel at home, and secure. It is clean and comfortable rooms. The food was excellent , served really hot on hot plates , makes such difference . Next time I have reason to be it that area I will not hesitate to stay there. Ideal for a holiday , walking distance of centre of town and waterfront. We certainly had value for money. Joyce

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOYCE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had the pleasure of being at a brilliant jazz weekend on May 2nd - 5th, at the Talbot Hotel, when the Temperance Seven were the star turn. They are still excellent musicians and true entertainers in their own right.
We also visited again for another fantastic jazz weekend on the 6th - 9th June.We had a great time with some superb jazz which culminated with the Bateman Brothers Band doing a Louis Armstrong tribute on the Sunday night, featuring Enricco Thomasso, Thomas 'Spats' Langham and Maggie Reeday. What a fantastic evening it was. Once again we must express our thanks to Gilbert, Julie, and their wonderfully attentive, efficient and friendly staff. We are looking forward to being with them again in September when the next jazz weekend is on. Thank you all once again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just attended another amazing Jazz weekend at the Talbot.

Great value, with meals and some top Jazz bands included in the package. Particularly enjoyed the Sunday night with the Temperance 7, (although there were 8 in the band, 1 extra free).

Quite a lot of refurbishments going on I note, hope this not interfere with the next weekender for which we already booked as these events are seemingly sold out these days.

A devil on my shoulder tells that I should keep these weekends quiet, I might not get in soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavetheRave529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Went with a large group of adults with learning disabilities, third annual trip back to the Talbot Hotel. The owner, Gilbert really couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. The hospitality shown from Gilbert and all his staff was extremely attentive and for such a specialist group with different needs than the average customer really made our weekend. Couldn't recommend the hotel enough. We'll be back again next year. Many thanks Pete

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great Weekend stay at the Talbot with 3 excellent Jazz evenings, Mart Roger's Manchester Jazz, Jive Aces with the wonderful Ray Owen as the Warm-up Spot, then Spats Langham and Keith Nichols What more could you want Warm welcome on arrival, pleasant helpful staff. Good food.

Our first visit, we will return.

M & J

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southport
#5 Family Hotel in Southport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing