We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Talbot hotel for the 5th time and we could not praise the hotel enough. The owner and his staff are helpful and friendly the rooms are kept clean and tidy and are comfortable. The food is excellent with a chose of menu.We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickandSue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 275 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I knocked on the door of the Talbot hotel after a long night. I was originally booked to stay at pontins Southport but as the accommodation there was so dire I evenutally found this hotel after searching 8 other hotels .

Please can I say that the owner was absolutely wonderful and made sure that my family were taken care of. He was a wonderful man who went the extra mile and made sure that our experience was excellent.

I cannot describe what a god send this place was totally charming And wonderful. Please visit this hotel it's truly lovely and the owner is great and made us feel so welcome xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asianbabe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

excellent hotel with excellent service and a great breakfast we arrived in southport for the bank holiday decided to stay over and luckily got the talbot hotel last minute great welcome couldnt be friendlier or more helpful lovely rooms spotless comfortable and quiet and they allowed us to leave our bags there even after checking out until after tea when we got the train would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoejakezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place and the owner gilly couldn't do enough for us as we'll as the room being clean and tidy very comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. The location is spot on right in the heart of southport so all the pubs clubs fairgrounds etc where close by

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike841980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my fiancée stayed there for 1 night the owner was very polite and shown us around the hotel, the rooms where very well presented and very clean. We also had breakfast that was very nice as well thanks for a great time at your hotel x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2geva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from our second stay at The Talbot, everything was just as before, a warm and friendly welcome with our host not ony recognising us but remembering our name. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the food excellent and well presented. Our hosts Gilbert, Julie and staff were very friendly and helpful, in our case Gilbert made a special effort on our behalf, thank you Gilbert. The jazz was first class with headline acts including Acker Bilk and his Paramount Jazz Band, it was so good we are there again in three weeks!
If you like your jazz and want a relaxing break at a comfortable hotel where you feel like one of the family try the Talbot you won`t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenblacow148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Talbot Hotel for a Jazz weekend from the 6th - 9th June. The hotel was very pleasant and comfortable and was very clean. The owners Julie and Gilbert could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. From the moment we arrived until the morning we left everything was perfect. The food was exceptional and plentyful and was cooked from fresh everyday and just melted in your mouth. If special dietary requirements were needed they were accommodated if informed before hand. All the staff were courteous, efficient and friendly. The Jazz every night was absolutely fantastic and culminated on the Saturday night with the one and only Mr. Acker Bilk and the Paramount Jazz Band. This certainly was an evening to remember and a weekend never to forget.
Julie and Gilbert worked non stop to make it a fantastic occasion. We highly recommend staying at the Talbot Hotel and are definately going back again for some more great hospitality and Jazz.
Thank you once again Julie and Gilbert and we are looking forward to being with you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 22 in Southport
754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 22 in Southport
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#2 of 22 in Southport
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range: $67 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing