We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing host and hotel fantastic”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place and the owner gilly couldn't do enough for us as we'll as the room being clean and tidy very comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. The location is spot on right in the heart of southport so all the pubs clubs fairgrounds etc where close by

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike841980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my fiancée stayed there for 1 night the owner was very polite and shown us around the hotel, the rooms where very well presented and very clean. We also had breakfast that was very nice as well thanks for a great time at your hotel x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2geva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from our second stay at The Talbot, everything was just as before, a warm and friendly welcome with our host not ony recognising us but remembering our name. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the food excellent and well presented. Our hosts Gilbert, Julie and staff were very friendly and helpful, in our case Gilbert made a special effort on our behalf, thank you Gilbert. The jazz was first class with headline acts including Acker Bilk and his Paramount Jazz Band, it was so good we are there again in three weeks!
If you like your jazz and want a relaxing break at a comfortable hotel where you feel like one of the family try the Talbot you won`t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenblacow148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Talbot Hotel for a Jazz weekend from the 6th - 9th June. The hotel was very pleasant and comfortable and was very clean. The owners Julie and Gilbert could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. From the moment we arrived until the morning we left everything was perfect. The food was exceptional and plentyful and was cooked from fresh everyday and just melted in your mouth. If special dietary requirements were needed they were accommodated if informed before hand. All the staff were courteous, efficient and friendly. The Jazz every night was absolutely fantastic and culminated on the Saturday night with the one and only Mr. Acker Bilk and the Paramount Jazz Band. This certainly was an evening to remember and a weekend never to forget.
Julie and Gilbert worked non stop to make it a fantastic occasion. We highly recommend staying at the Talbot Hotel and are definately going back again for some more great hospitality and Jazz.
Thank you once again Julie and Gilbert and we are looking forward to being with you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just back from the Talbot hotel. Our room was the worst I have ever stayed in we should have complained, it was in the attic and was a family room with bunk beds a double and a single bed. There were 3 hangers each in the cupboard and it was quite grubby in there. The low ceiling beams were a nightmare both of us hit our heads, there are no signs to warn you and because they were painted white you forget about them. The decor was dated, the beds were very comfortable and the food was ok, yes the veg was frozen but it was alright. Staff were pleasant. This hotel could do with a makeover.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a lower floor as there are no lifts, not for anyone with walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Super jazz weekend with a first rate programme of bands. Good food and tables well set out in the function room. Reasonable priced drinks. Excellent welcoming and enthusiastic staff who worked hard to make the weekebd a success. We have booked to go again for another jazz break

Room Tip: The family room is at top of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0nce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

When i reviewed this hotel last year. I said "it was the hotel i couldn't wait to go back to." Several visits later i still feel the same. I have just returned from another excellent week, my first of 2013. The comment "they can't do enough for you" was heard many times during the week, this to me says it all. An added bonus is the best indoor market in southport just 3 min walk from the hotel, it offers a unique shopping experience with friendly traders providing top quality goods. From fresh local produce,gifts,crafts,leather goods,clothing and accessories to name but a few, all at amazing prices. They are regular cooking demos by guest chefs, using fresh ingredients from the market. Last but not least, the Mustard coffee house who offers breakfast and lunch specials, perfect coffee, cake and pancake deals. Roll on my next visit in March.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range: $72 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing