We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

When our coach arrived at the hotel we were met by by Gilbert, the owner, he welcomed us. Our room was clean and tidy. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The food was all very good and served well. Well worth the money, will definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    42
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
49
65
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The best hospitality and friendly service here. Any special dietary requirements just ask. Owners and staff all pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. Hotel is situated in a quiet, central area not too far from train station.Room was clean and comfortable, Please remember that this is a good old Victorian building with no lift, and bedrooms are upstairs,so if you want cosy, friendly, come here. If you want impersonal and modern then maybe Southport is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzgirl-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I checked out yesterday from this lovely hotel. I have roomed all over the world with my job and I've never been shown the hospitality that was afforded me here. Nothing was too much trouble, room was spotless food was fantastic and entertainment to boot. If ever I come back to Southport forget your boutique hotels I will be coming back to the Talbot Hotel. Thank you and your lovely family and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldlyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Agree with the previous review could not have put it better myself.
The food was very basic and vegetables served up in your plate wither you liked that particular vegetable or not no serving dish for vegetables was provided so you can make a chose. Also the soup on the Wednesday was the soup from the Tuesday and as this is powder soup the hotel uses not suitable for serving next day it was supposed to be Mushroom soup never found a mushroom yet. Towels in room was never changed nor room hoovered the whole of my 4 day stay. Never return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I do not understand how any one could say this was a good hotel. On entering, the Reception area was very small but below what I would call Welcoming. The staircase was very steep and difficult to climb as that is what you have to do, if you are disabled and have difficulty walking this is not for you, all Rooms are upstairs. The staircase had never seen a Hoover or cleaner for a long time, all landing's were the same all the way up. On entering the Bedroom it looked ok at first, but it does not take long to see the dirt around the edges of the room and the furniture, which was still the same when we left. The bedroom furniture was a collection of Pieces of furniture screwed together, The beds were clean as was the Toilet, and shower were all Tiled to a good standard, the shower was just a pipe with a furl sticking out of the wall and I had to stand on my tip toes to adjust it I'm 5'10'' The general standard of the bed room was poor and compact, my garden shed is bigger than this bedroom. The dining room was quite nice but looking under tables that were not in use they had not been Hoovered for some time, there was a spoon on the floor under a table on the Monday I arrived and was still there on the Friday Morning at Breakfast. The meals are adequate, but if there is more than 30 seconds of inactivity around your plate it will be whipped away, the staff are super fast at clearing tables, they probably can;t get out fast enough. I was on a Monday to Friday coach trip there were 38 other people on the trip and the general feeling of this hotel was well below what other travelers had experienced. I have tried to be fair with this report, the good points the staff are helpful,that's about it. On Monday at dinner Gilbert who is the owner addressed every one and pointed out if any one had complaints bring them directly to him, well Gilbert if You take of your very dark glasses and have a serious look at the standard of your Hotel you should not have to ask people to point these faults out to you. the general Standard of this hotel is exceptionally Poor, It's a run down Relic of the Past. I am writing this as a true reflection of my visit From Monday 3rd September to Friday the 7th September 2012. Think Twice Before Booking this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weehaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

have just spent four days at this Hotel and we were not happy with the meals as they were very poor and the staff were not helpful as for one example my Wife asked for a glass of water which never came.The hotel was clean and our bedroom was nice other than the television which set on top of the wardrobe which made it very uncomfortable to watch,needless to say we will never go back to there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Cannot praise Gilbert and his family highly enough!! My parents visited the hotel in Spring 2012 and had a lovely holiday at the hotel. Unfortunately on the second last night, my dad took ill and had to be admitted to hospital. Gilbert and his family went out of their way to help both my parents. Gilbert took my mum to visit my dad in hospital and his wife and daughter arranged return travel for them when my dad was able to travel back home. Exceptionally nice, helpful people running a lovely hotel.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southport
#5 Family Hotel in Southport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing